In Rainbows - Radiohead
In Rainbows Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1497 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Radiohead releases their latest with a pay-what-you-want price.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Once again, Radiohead have proven themselves priceless. [Dec 2007, p.107]
  2. Excluding the established Radiohead franchise from consideration of In Rainbows, it is still one of the most compelling recent releases, and should be considered for 2007's Album of the Year in any context.
  3. It’s as brazen, bold and brilliant as anything it’s done thus far. It is, as Thom Yorke claimed, very minimal. Yet, the album never sounds half-finished, but instead focused and refined. It’s as vital as anything the band has done.
  4. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  5. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.
  6. 80
    The album succeeds because all that cold, clinical lab work hasn't eliminated the warmth from their music. [Dec 2007, p.111]
  7. I can sense that there's something pretty great going on and even briefly catch glimpses of it. But as an experience, it's a little bit maddening, and eventually I'll want to throw away the glasses and pick up a book.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 725
  1. EdwardM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing.
  2. VinnyP
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This album is stunning and achingly beautiful. There is absolutely no filler here, and the band sounds the most genuine that they've sounded in years. I keep changing my mind on what the best songs are, because they really are all that good. Listening to In Rainbows takes you ona journey that is a bit of a rollercoaster, a bit of sonic orgasm, all with an undercurrent infused with a dark sense of love. I know I'm talking crazy here but the music has just captivated me that much. By the time the journey ends with "Videotape," you'll want to revisit it right away. As a fan I not only love the album but am happy for the band, for them to continue to reach new levels and to continue to put out music that matters. Hands down the best album of the year so far, possibly my favorite of the decade. Expand
  3. NW
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Radiohead has learned through their artistic refiners fire that brilliant music can be both innovative and original, while still being accessable. And that's it's okay to write songs to smile to. Expand
  4. Vin
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Beautiful record! Gives me a head rush for the first half then puts me in harmony for the last of it. This record is one of their best to date, worth it to pick it up. If your have been a Radiohead fan you won't be disappointed. Expand
  5. ArmandoO.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Not a doubt....it is an exciting, beautiful and emotional work that surpases all their previous works. An instant classic that will be regarded as the "Dark Side of The Moon" of this decade. They have taken so much distance from the rest of the bands, as their sound has become unique. Can't wait for the next album. Expand
  6. tomj.
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    My favorite since OK Computer. Radiohead has rediscovered what made them great; the ability to translate emotion in perfect melodies.
  7. TimmyT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Radiohead is, to put it simply, way past their time. Stop making music for God's sake. Your done.

See all 725 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.