In Rainbows - Radiohead
In Rainbows Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1508 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Radiohead releases their latest with a pay-what-you-want price.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Once again, Radiohead have proven themselves priceless. [Dec 2007, p.107]
  2. Excluding the established Radiohead franchise from consideration of In Rainbows, it is still one of the most compelling recent releases, and should be considered for 2007's Album of the Year in any context.
  3. It’s as brazen, bold and brilliant as anything it’s done thus far. It is, as Thom Yorke claimed, very minimal. Yet, the album never sounds half-finished, but instead focused and refined. It’s as vital as anything the band has done.
  4. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  5. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.
  6. 80
    The album succeeds because all that cold, clinical lab work hasn't eliminated the warmth from their music. [Dec 2007, p.111]
  7. I can sense that there's something pretty great going on and even briefly catch glimpses of it. But as an experience, it's a little bit maddening, and eventually I'll want to throw away the glasses and pick up a book.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 727
  1. KristiJ
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    I had written Radiohead off... its true. After OK Computers brilliant soundtrack of my summer all those years ago I waited with baited breath I had written Radiohead off... its true. After OK Computers brilliant soundtrack of my summer all those years ago I waited with baited breath for their next release and was so disappointed by Kid A that I quickly moved on and disregarded all other releases until In Rainbows. I was intruiged by their method of release and all the reviews I heard were favorable. I wasn't disappointed. In short THIS is the album that should have followed up OK Computer. Haunting melodies wonderfully explored lyrics and a mood that sits with it from beginning to end. An A+ album! Expand
  2. VinnyP
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This album is stunning and achingly beautiful. There is absolutely no filler here, and the band sounds the most genuine that they've This album is stunning and achingly beautiful. There is absolutely no filler here, and the band sounds the most genuine that they've sounded in years. I keep changing my mind on what the best songs are, because they really are all that good. Listening to In Rainbows takes you ona journey that is a bit of a rollercoaster, a bit of sonic orgasm, all with an undercurrent infused with a dark sense of love. I know I'm talking crazy here but the music has just captivated me that much. By the time the journey ends with "Videotape," you'll want to revisit it right away. As a fan I not only love the album but am happy for the band, for them to continue to reach new levels and to continue to put out music that matters. Hands down the best album of the year so far, possibly my favorite of the decade. Expand
  3. Carlos
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Absolute Class !
  4. DarenW
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    The first listen, it's OK. But after about the 10th listening, I realized this CD is still growing on me. I'm addicted, I have to The first listen, it's OK. But after about the 10th listening, I realized this CD is still growing on me. I'm addicted, I have to now have a daily listen! It's one of Radiohead's best, right now 2nd to OK Computer! Expand
  5. LaneC.
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    I downloaded this album when it was free. Listened to it and couldnt get into it. A month later, i was sorting my mp3's and wondered if I downloaded this album when it was free. Listened to it and couldnt get into it. A month later, i was sorting my mp3's and wondered if i should delete or keep. After listening to it again, i couldn't believe how good it was. Best Radiohead Album ever. Best album with Bon Iver and Lil Carter 3 for the year. Expand
  6. JavierF
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    First This album is Great, the best music album of the year, is not perfect, is no "OK Computer" or "Kid A" but is a lot better than "hail to First This album is Great, the best music album of the year, is not perfect, is no "OK Computer" or "Kid A" but is a lot better than "hail to the Thief", I believe this is not the next step for radiohead but still the best album till now from 2007, this album has a core, a sense... this is not a Pop album if you want pop go and buy a Britney spears album for god's sake!!! and the gentleman that gave radiohead in rainbows a "0" "music is not getting worse is just you.. Expand
  7. TimmyT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Radiohead is, to put it simply, way past their time. Stop making music for God's sake. Your done.

See all 727 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.