In Rainbows - Radiohead
In Rainbows Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1484 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Radiohead releases their latest with a pay-what-you-want price.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Once again, Radiohead have proven themselves priceless. [Dec 2007, p.107]
  2. Excluding the established Radiohead franchise from consideration of In Rainbows, it is still one of the most compelling recent releases, and should be considered for 2007's Album of the Year in any context.
  3. It’s as brazen, bold and brilliant as anything it’s done thus far. It is, as Thom Yorke claimed, very minimal. Yet, the album never sounds half-finished, but instead focused and refined. It’s as vital as anything the band has done.
  4. Overall, the material feels more human, more honest, more assured.
  5. Happily, In Rainbows is pretty, pretty good.
  6. 80
    The album succeeds because all that cold, clinical lab work hasn't eliminated the warmth from their music. [Dec 2007, p.111]
  7. I can sense that there's something pretty great going on and even briefly catch glimpses of it. But as an experience, it's a little bit maddening, and eventually I'll want to throw away the glasses and pick up a book.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 723
  1. Sam
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Beautiful.
  2. VinnyP
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This album is stunning and achingly beautiful. There is absolutely no filler here, and the band sounds the most genuine that they've sounded in years. I keep changing my mind on what the best songs are, because they really are all that good. Listening to In Rainbows takes you ona journey that is a bit of a rollercoaster, a bit of sonic orgasm, all with an undercurrent infused with a dark sense of love. I know I'm talking crazy here but the music has just captivated me that much. By the time the journey ends with "Videotape," you'll want to revisit it right away. As a fan I not only love the album but am happy for the band, for them to continue to reach new levels and to continue to put out music that matters. Hands down the best album of the year so far, possibly my favorite of the decade. Expand
  3. RoyalJ
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    All hail to the kings! One of their best recordings which puts a lot of the disposable emo/garage band rock to shame. Their albums have a shelf life that is incredible. Ths album is yet another layered, honest, crafty construction that further reinforces that thought. If you don't feel any thing after listening to "All I Need" or "Nude" than try to open up to more sounds & styles. Expand
  4. renen.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    first, RJM, shut up! second, this is by far their most confident piece of work since ok computer. a truly truly nice surpise.
  5. RigobertoG.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Best cd of the year. thom york's beautiful voice and greenwood's brilliant guitar skills amount to a perfect serenade.
  6. AndrewW
    Oct 22, 2007
    9
    I like this record- an improvement on the last 2. It might even be better than kidA after a few more listens. What I can't agree with are those reviewers saying this album isn't another "electronic" album. After my first few listens, this is more of an "electronic album" than hail to the thief was. Plenty of beeps and drum machines here. I do like it though. Good effort. Expand
  7. TimmyT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    Radiohead is, to put it simply, way past their time. Stop making music for God's sake. Your done.

See all 723 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.