In Rolling Waves

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Sep 17, 2013
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    This record is less fussy but retains the winning combination of sleek synth waves with aggressive guitar riffs. It doesn't branch out much, but where it does go is positive. There is no filler here. With this album The Naked & Famous leave other contemporary wunderkind bands like Sleigh Bells and School Of Seven Bells in the dust. 'In Rolling Waves' is a near perfect combination of catchyThis record is less fussy but retains the winning combination of sleek synth waves with aggressive guitar riffs. It doesn't branch out much, but where it does go is positive. There is no filler here. With this album The Naked & Famous leave other contemporary wunderkind bands like Sleigh Bells and School Of Seven Bells in the dust. 'In Rolling Waves' is a near perfect combination of catchy pop hooks, dark electro soundscapes and guitar riffs that feel genuine. A great sophomore effort. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    A touch more glossy than the debut, but the buildups are worth it and the trance layers mixed with guitar sound fresh. The song structure is too similiar though anc needs a few slower changups.
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    It's a good album. It channels more of the kind of sound from Punching In a Dream, which in my opinion, is one of their weaker songs from Passive Me, Aggressive You, but definitely one of their more popular. This album lacks the intensity and aggressiveness present on their EP's and some of Passive Me, Aggressive You. So while it's good, it's not as good as I wanted it to be.
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    The Naked and Famous' highly anticipated new album, In Rolling Waves, is spectacularly produced and is a beautiful sonic experience (like there previous album). This albums highlights include "Hearts Like Ours", "The Mess", "Golden Girl" and "I Kill Giants". Unfortunately, this album isn't as enjoyable as their previous outing, Passive Me, Aggressive You and some songs are a little boring.The Naked and Famous' highly anticipated new album, In Rolling Waves, is spectacularly produced and is a beautiful sonic experience (like there previous album). This albums highlights include "Hearts Like Ours", "The Mess", "Golden Girl" and "I Kill Giants". Unfortunately, this album isn't as enjoyable as their previous outing, Passive Me, Aggressive You and some songs are a little boring. But overall, In Rolling Waves is a fantastic album that could have brilliant if it weren't for some errors. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    After a stunning, diverse debut: 'Passive Me, Aggressive You', The Naked and Famous had a tough task ahead of them in creating an equally impressive sophomore album. And whilst expectations were high, the quintet do not at all disappoint in their very welcome return. From the very first listen, it became immediately apparent that 'In Rolling Waves' only further exploits each member's manyAfter a stunning, diverse debut: 'Passive Me, Aggressive You', The Naked and Famous had a tough task ahead of them in creating an equally impressive sophomore album. And whilst expectations were high, the quintet do not at all disappoint in their very welcome return. From the very first listen, it became immediately apparent that 'In Rolling Waves' only further exploits each member's many talents and their enormous potential as a whole, with thoughtfully arranged compositions so epic and organic in their sound you cannot help but be transfixed.

    1. A Stillness - 10/10 - A stunning opener, which reaches an ecstatic climax that takes the band into an entirely new direction. One of the many highlights of the album which immediately enthrals.
    2. Hearts Like Ours - 9.5/10 - The most successful and widely recognised of the three singles from 'In Rolling Waves', the track's catchy hooks and superb vocals are more reminiscent of the more upbeat tracks from 'Passive Me, Aggressive You'.
    3. Waltz - 10/10 - An understated, atmospheric piece which contradicts the album's two opening tracks. 'Waltz' builds upon the minimalist approach of bands such as 'The XX' to remarkable effect.
    4. Rolling Waves - 10/10 - The title itself truly reflects the crashing nature of this epic centrepiece. An impeccable arrangement of sugary vocals and soaring guitars, 'Rolling Waves' has a stratospheric effect on the listener.
    5 . The Mess - 9.5/10 - With poignant lyrics detailing the breaking-down of a relationship, the track's subdued opening builds to a deeply affecting climax.
    6. Grow Old - 9/10 - The longest track on the album, clocking in at almost seven minutes, 'Grow Old' never fails to engage the listener in its gradual build towards another explosive, powerful close.
    7. Golden Girl - 9/10 - A moment of respite from the crashing intensity of the previous tracks, the mellow 'Golden Girl' 's sweet simplicity is a necessary moment of calm between two of the album's most powerful tracks.
    8. I Kill Giants - 9/10 - Arguably some of the finest lyrical work found on the entirety of the album, this glorious moment of pop perfection radiates raw, honest emotion through the dynamic arrangement of cruising guitars and impeccable harmonies.
    9. What We Want - 8/10 - For me, the weakest track on 'In Rolling Waves' due to its mildness in contrast to some of the more immediately effective tracks, but nevertheless successful in its organic acoustic arrangements and alternations between vocalists, and a very catchy chorus.
    10. We Are Leaving - 10/10 - Whilst 'What We Want' may have marked a very slight dip in quality, all is forgotten when this mesmerising masterpiece takes hold of you in an instant. Here, Xayalith and Powers showcase a whole new side to their talents. 'We Are Leaving' possesses a rare dramatic beauty of such scope you cannot help but marvel at where they will go next.
    11. To Move With Purpose - 9.5/10 - Another slow-building track with soaring echoes and progressive percussion, which retools 80s-style synths and brings them to a bursting crescendo. A perfect choice for a penultimate track, preparing us for the album's beautiful closing number.
    12. A Small Reunion - 10/10 - A sublime closer for a remarkable return from The Naked and Famous, which stands apart from the remainder of the tracks with its welcome addition of strings, and some glorious harmonies which sound sharper and more packed with emotion than ever before. With its sudden cut to nothing more than an echo, it leaves you breathless, and desperate to listen again.

    One of the finest new bands of the past decade have truly pulled away from the pack on their sophomore effort. For me, an album I will cherish for a long time, and one I would recommend to anybody.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    In Rolling Waves' most successful songs benefit from restraint. [Nov 2013, p.112]
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    50
    Stripped of much of the effervescent raw power that made their d├ębut so infectiously enjoyable, In Rolling Waves ultimately makes for a disappointing and frustrating experience.
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    70
    A welcome return.