In The Absence Of Truth Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This fourth LP for the metal band follow's 2004's acclaimed 'Panopticon' as well as an opening slot on Tool's latest tour.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. In the Absence of Truth is as solidly explosive and as adventuresome as Panopticon, but their elemental control over the music is greater, therefore creating a more even production.
  2. It's certainly a leap further into the ethereal weirdness that defined 2004's shoegaze- and electronics-inspired Panopticon. [Nov 2006, p.192]
  3. They’ve pushed themselves on this album, striving to achieve something honestly different to what was released before it. Occasionally they’ve fallen short of perfection, but for the most part this album is a certifiable success.
  4. Theirs is music brimming over with passion first explored, then exploded.
  5. 50
    Truth subverts metal's natural will to power with dreamy, ambient passages that are never as sublime as the band clearly thinks they are. [Dec 2006, p.98]
  6. Alas, it feels like In the Absence of Truth finds the band both spinning its wheels and running out of ideas.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. JimW
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Awesome. These guys are making some unbelievable music. While I rate Panopticon highly, this is the album I was looking for after Oceanic. Awesome. These guys are making some unbelievable music. While I rate Panopticon highly, this is the album I was looking for after Oceanic. I'm already looking forward to what they do next! Expand
  2. VinceH
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Brilliant music. The 2 most common criticisms I've read of this album is that "Isis is doing the same thing over and over" or the album Brilliant music. The 2 most common criticisms I've read of this album is that "Isis is doing the same thing over and over" or the album is "boring". These couldn't be further from the truth. Granted, it takes a certain kind of listener to get into Isis (not to be a dick, but come on...instrumental music requires different ears than a 3 minute pop song). The melodies are better (something Isis has been getting better at with each release) than ever, the production is great (not too shiny and sparkly, but not crappy like their first stuff either). In this genre of music (in which there are lots of talented bands), Isis consistently is the best and this album proves no different. If you like this, I also recommend Jesu if you haven't heard of them. They are opening for Isis on their upcoming tour and will be huge soon. Expand
  3. Adam
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    astonishing from start to finish my favorite band since radiohead and sigur ros words do no justice with this release my best album of 2006 astonishing from start to finish my favorite band since radiohead and sigur ros words do no justice with this release my best album of 2006 and maybe since 2004s panopticon. Expand
  4. E.Gomez
    Dec 7, 2006
    9
    Mood altering ambient prog-metal. Isis is godlike intrepid sublime.
  5. John
    Mar 30, 2007
    8
    I actually prefer this over "oceanic". "in the absence of truth" is more atmospheric; the soundscapes are deeper and darker and the songs I actually prefer this over "oceanic". "in the absence of truth" is more atmospheric; the soundscapes are deeper and darker and the songs seem to shift at appropriate timings instead of repeating the same things over and over again like their earlier stuff (not that they don't still, but less so). i found "panopticon" to be rather boring by the end. with this go i feel energetic all the way through. i could easily listen from start to finish, and it feels alot more ambient if you're more into the post-rock aspect of isis than their status as a metal outfit like i am. Expand
  6. EricC
    Aug 25, 2008
    7
    The album advances and reveals itself at a slower-than-sludge pace, making it one of those rare metal albums that seeks to reward patience. The album advances and reveals itself at a slower-than-sludge pace, making it one of those rare metal albums that seeks to reward patience. It has it's share of satisfying moments, but rarely ventures in to breath-taking territory. It's an impressive album, but it could have been more. Expand
  7. ChampiodiPi
    Jul 14, 2009
    1
    Formulaic, tired, trite, boring, soulless, stargazing pretentious tommyrot. Unnecessary, redundant. Isis flog a dead horse which committed Formulaic, tired, trite, boring, soulless, stargazing pretentious tommyrot. Unnecessary, redundant. Isis flog a dead horse which committed suicide after their only slightly less awful début Oceanic and this is BEFORE their God awful vocalist is brought to trial. Collapse

See all 14 User Reviews