• Record Label: DFA
  • Release Date: Sep 5, 2011
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    80
    In the Grace of Your Love is the band's most powerful and vital album thus far.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    30
    In the Grace of Your Love is lethargic and shapeless. [Oct 2011, p.109]
  3. Aug 31, 2011
    40
    It comprises 11 tracks that sound like intros in search of songs. It is bland of lyric and tinny of sound. The rhythms plod alarmingly.
  4. The Rapture show that they are as worthy of pupils as they have been for the last decade as teachers. But, unfortunately, they still have a lot to learn.
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    70
    With its meat-and-potatoes disco-punk beat and rousing keys, it feels like it's reaching beyond the known universe of the typical club scene.
  6. Aug 29, 2011
    70
    It's not a difficult or aloof album, but there is a cool precision that feels different to the choppy punkiness of old.
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    There's a lot of heaviness swimming around this album, and though some songs, like "In The Grace Of Your Love" and "Miss You," play it lower and slower than your average dance jam, this is still a lively record.
  8. Sep 1, 2011
    60
    Some of the songs like 'Miss You' and 'In The Grace of Your Love' have genuinely good moments and are enjoyable whilst they last. However, it's hard to escape the feeling that this is a band struggling to define themselves in a musical context that no longer needs them.
  9. Sep 1, 2011
    40
    One of the risks of having faith is becoming deaf to plain truths. The truth in this case is that most of In the Grace of Your Love is lousy.
  10. 75
    The Rapture still do brainy, stuttering dance rock better than your average electro fetishists. [Sep 2011, p.137]
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    76
    With In the Grace of Your Love, The Rapture show the newbies how it's done.
  12. 75
    This album might actually be a devotional record of sorts--to downtown New York's musical DNA, and to the idea that dancefloor hedonism can be its own kind of grace.
  13. Sep 8, 2011
    60
    Nearly a decade later, their new album attempts to recapture the moment of dancefloor serendipity and only occasionally do they succeed. [Oct 2011, p.99]
  14. Aug 29, 2011
    80
    The collection of 11 tracks are both majestic and effortless--qualities that give the album a feeling of natural progression, perhaps bettering what's gone before.
  15. The lyrics, too, reek of a lack of inspiration.
  16. Sep 1, 2011
    60
    Not every song succeeds, and the best moments tend to be the danciest.
  17. Sep 6, 2011
    84
    I will say In The Grace of Your Love makes the last five years without The Rapture seem a lot more empty, sometimes you don't know what you're missing until it returns.
  18. Sep 6, 2011
    72
    The band's personal choices--to abandon rock iconography for smaller, more fulfilling family units--will be Grace's fate as well: a record without broader narratives, meant for those who grew up with the Rapture, or want to.
  19. Sep 6, 2011
    30
    Next to his material, In the Grace of Your Love sounds as forgettable as the dozens of nameless bands who came in Echoes's wake. The Rapture could still regroup on their next record, but it's difficult to see where they'd go from here.
  20. Sep 6, 2011
    50
    The flashes of the old Rapture are far too few, but when they're there, In The Grace of Your Love proves that the Rapture have lived long enough to outrun their hype.
  21. Aug 19, 2011
    80
    It looks like The Rapture--now a trio following the departure of bassist Matt Safer--have regained their despite to flaunt their slightly awkward moves. [Sep 2011, p.102]
  22. Sep 8, 2011
    70
    The result, for its few flaws and its exhilarations, at the very least, sounds fantastic, production-wise; Grace finds the band melding tooth-ground guitar assaults; '80s throwback candy pop; fluttery house templates; dusty, almost Stax-worthy soul getaways and sample-laced electro throbs into an album willing to sacrifice sonic exactitude for a mélange of sounds, tempos and genre exercises that still feels very much of a singular-albeit kaleidoscopic-piece.
  23. Sep 6, 2011
    70
    It won't get you shaking your ass, but swaying eyes closed on Sunday morning has its appeals too.
  24. Aug 31, 2011
    80
    If there's a major difference here, it's that the Rapture has never sounded so confident in what they're doing.
  25. Aug 19, 2011
    80
    The handclap stomp of "Miss You" explodes at just the right moment, while the house-music piano of "How Deep Is Your Love?" proves the boys' club credentials remain intact.
  26. Sep 6, 2011
    75
    The band starts with a sometimes-tiny foundational idea, and then builds up and up, just to see how high it can go.
  27. Sep 12, 2011
    80
    It may not be the Rapture many were expecting this year, but this triumphant return to form is pretty glorious nonetheless.
  28. Oct 7, 2011
    40
    A flimsy and disposable album.
  29. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    The Rapture have picked themselves up with a third album packed with ragged romps every bit as joyous as "house Of Jealous Lovers," their 2002 breakthrough. [Oct 2011, p.95]
  30. Aug 19, 2011
    60
    Put this cake back in the oven; it doesn't need more icing, but it could use more substance. [Jul 2011, p.82]
  31. Sep 7, 2011
    75
    The Rapture's latest is both a welcome and necessary addition to its relatively small discography, a record the band should be both proud of and content to leave as the final chapter of its existence. At least until they come back again.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    It's a fairly solid album - but is a minor disappointment when compared to Echoes and Pieces of People We Love, which were both seminalIt's a fairly solid album - but is a minor disappointment when compared to Echoes and Pieces of People We Love, which were both seminal released in the indie dance funk genre.

    That's not to say that this is a bad album, though. It has some really great tracks such as Miss You, Rollercoaster, Blue Bird, and How Deep Is Your Love?, yet seems to be filled with rather weak tracks that feel flatter than we are used to with the Rapture. Ultimately, it is worth your time, but it hasn't kept my interest for longer than a week and hasn't stayed with me as Echoes and parts of Pieces have.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    Five years and a lot of drama have passed since the last record, "Pieces of the People We Love". First Luke quit, then Luke came back with newFive years and a lot of drama have passed since the last record, "Pieces of the People We Love". First Luke quit, then Luke came back with new sense of purpose. Then Matt quit. Anyone hoping for another "Echoes" or "Pieces" might be disappointed at first. As "Pieces" only held hints of "Echoes", "In The Grace..." has reminders of the past, but really takes Luke Jenner's Rapture somewhere new. This record is definitely a grower. The first time I heard it, there were a few stand-outs but i was disappointed. after a couple more listens i would get almost every song, at different moments, stuck in my head. I couldn't wait to get home to listen to it. It's a bit harder to review this record as no song is the same as the last. Every song sounds like it could be on a different album. There are very thoughtful lyrics and there are some incredible rhythms hidden here. Tracks like "Miss You" and "Come Back To Me" will remind you of a more "Pieces of the People We Love" Rapture. "Children" will make you think of early MGMT, and lead single, "How Deep Is Your Love?" will keep you coming back. There's a little bit of filler ("Roller Coaster") but all in all, this record will grow on you and stay in rotation for some time to come. Hopefully not another five years. Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    6
    That spark that they once had is kinda of gone for me, I mean it's hardly dance rock to me right just kind of a indie rock with some danceThat spark that they once had is kinda of gone for me, I mean it's hardly dance rock to me right just kind of a indie rock with some dance undertones, which isn't the problem. Some of the songs sound ambitious and seem like they're building up to something great, but they never do. It's not a horrible album, just not the album I was expecting. Full Review »