In The Zone

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 492

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Disgusting!! Crude awful and gross. Britney and One More, were flirty and fun, this is just dead and off-putting
    Not even any really nice melodies. Like some idiots playing with a computer program with a bunch cheap effects.
    The best song is hold it against me, were a fine chorus barely survives an onslaught of special effects.
    Dead, gross, dumb.
  2. lizb
    Jan 20, 2004
    2
    This cd falls flat in my opinion. There are some good beats, "breathe on me" and "toxic" but the vocals are incredibly weak and processed. The moaning and "sexy talking" is so overdone in this album its ridiculous. This is supposed to be a "grown up" album, but instead it sounds more like the work of a rebellious teen. "Hey look at me I wrote a song about masterbation" Is that supposed to This cd falls flat in my opinion. There are some good beats, "breathe on me" and "toxic" but the vocals are incredibly weak and processed. The moaning and "sexy talking" is so overdone in this album its ridiculous. This is supposed to be a "grown up" album, but instead it sounds more like the work of a rebellious teen. "Hey look at me I wrote a song about masterbation" Is that supposed to be cutting edge? There is no substance or heart to this album. Even the attempt at the ballad is weak. When will aritists understand that the sluttier they become, the less and less intriguing they are. Sex sells but in this case, its definately not selling her new album. Expand
  3. annp
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    It sucks just like the rest of her cds
  4. PaulaS
    Nov 20, 2003
    3
    Britney Spears is a Wanna-Be-Madonna-and we all know there is only one Madonna. She couldn't sell the album on her own-so that's why she had Madonna on it. She can't even explain her songs to the public-like on Diane Sawyer-touch of my hand-give me a break. She doesn't really have a good voice either.
  5. moejoe
    Jan 30, 2004
    3
    The ballads are horrible. Best song, by far, is Toxic--cool arangement, and her breathy singing actually complements the song. Otherwise, there are some weak attempts to snag some of Madonna's 'Erotica' and 'Ray of Light' mojo. She sounds unconvincing, through and through. But, you can dance to it....
  6. rosalieg
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    how is that slut gonna say anything about christina when she's such a big fat slut that nobody likes .Christina is just being herself not some wanna be madona bitch crack whore
  7. Razzyou'llneverknow
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    You suck britney!!!!! Arggghhh kill the bitch!
  8. richardk
    Feb 25, 2004
    0
    u suk britney! dont buy this cd. ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. shes such a bad singer
  9. vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    2
    There are 2 good songs on this album and they are Toxic and Everytime. The rest are tired after one listen.
  10. opeth(wreath)
    Jan 26, 2005
    0
    Its stupid why would you even listen to an arist that doesnt write her own songs, you must be retarded to like this.
  11. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    She Sucks so badly and with such commetment that I give her -10. What the hell she thinks???? She is selling music or trying to get people notice that she is a girl too by exhibiting her body!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. OCuculiza
    Mar 13, 2004
    3
    If You like Hilary Duff, then this is the album you have to buy, because it was made by her teacher. Britney takes the teen pop too far to get her albums even worse than Duff´s. "Toxic" makes the album worth a little more, but that´s it.
  13. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    she 's A rip-off aritst
  14. JohnnyB
    Nov 17, 2003
    0
    Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's filthy rich, take some vocal lessons or learn to play an instrument. Please do something cause this same shit is getting old.
  15. KenC
    Nov 18, 2003
    0
    Pure ass.
  16. EthanH
    Nov 19, 2003
    0
    I loved her three previous albums, but this is one of the worst cd's I have ever heard. This album doesn't even deserve a zero rating, more like a -2.
  17. SarahT
    Nov 25, 2003
    0
    she ruins songs with her stupid childish voice and all that moaning. she needs to get over that and grow up.
  18. BreannaR
    Dec 11, 2003
    0
    Britneys 1st and 2nd cd here huge sucesses because she had very good songs and she was pretty. Then her 3rd cd wasnt as successful and she lost fans because the songs sucked and she turned to a slut and a drug attict (she admitted to doing drugs and sleeping with justin and fred). Now no wonder a whole lot of people are dissing her and this cd now because shes even uglier and the songs Britneys 1st and 2nd cd here huge sucesses because she had very good songs and she was pretty. Then her 3rd cd wasnt as successful and she lost fans because the songs sucked and she turned to a slut and a drug attict (she admitted to doing drugs and sleeping with justin and fred). Now no wonder a whole lot of people are dissing her and this cd now because shes even uglier and the songs are even crappier and this cd wont do half as well as her 3rd. Then she will come out with a 5th cd which will be very unsucessful and she will be even uglier and lose even more fans. Then she will have a 6th cd which will only sell like 10 copies and she will only have like 10 fans and she will be even uglier. Then she will quit her music career because no one likes her anymore and then she will say this "What should I do now? I know! I will do what I wanted to do since my 3rd CD! Become a prostitute and become a drug attict again!" So she will do that again for about another year or two and then after that, you will find her dead behind a strip club after smoking too much crack and drinking too much alcohol. Then 10 years later, you will hear someone say this "WHO THE HELL IS BRITNEY SPEARS?" Expand
  19. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  20. NseE
    Nov 23, 2003
    0
    Oops, did I give it a zero? I meant to hit the -1 button. SUCKS!!!
  21. SusanB
    Dec 13, 2003
    2
    This cd was a good attempt for Britney. She's got some good moans, a new masturbation concept, and she even attempts to sing reggae. Even though she'll be able to remove some of the stupidity songs from her "outrageous" songs by posing like a slut and dancing like a stripper, Britney should just take the playboy offer. They say third times a charm, but I guess she wasn't so This cd was a good attempt for Britney. She's got some good moans, a new masturbation concept, and she even attempts to sing reggae. Even though she'll be able to remove some of the stupidity songs from her "outrageous" songs by posing like a slut and dancing like a stripper, Britney should just take the playboy offer. They say third times a charm, but I guess she wasn't so lucky. Her vocals were just real sad... Collapse
  22. victoriabreenlittrell
    Dec 25, 2003
    0
    horrible cd!!
  23. lulua
    Dec 3, 2003
    0
    you can just tell how desperate brit is for credibility, just by looking at the cover.
  24. To6
    Jan 12, 2004
    2
    yes... it's her best "work" till now... so I'll give it 2....
  25. ChrisK
    Jan 7, 2004
    0
    This CD suck!!! She is nothing but a pure ho. Some of the songs are about his her tuching her self and Moaning while she does it. Thats not music. Anyone can moan and put a beat behind it. She needs to do something with her life.
  26. TomK
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    3 words "Don't buy it"
  27. KellyS
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    She is nothing but a sick slut!!!!
  28. MatG
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    She needs to give it up for all our sakes.
  29. ss
    Jun 1, 2004
    0
    Madonna's better at this.
  30. karene
    Nov 18, 2003
    1
    it sucks.
  31. MattD
    Nov 18, 2003
    0
    piece of trash.
  32. PersonP
    Nov 18, 2003
    2
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  33. PersonP
    Nov 18, 2003
    2
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  34. PersonP
    Nov 18, 2003
    2
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  35. PersonP
    Nov 18, 2003
    2
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  36. PersonP
    Nov 18, 2003
    2
    She turned from a Catholic school girl...to a full out sex machine. Cripes.
  37. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    In contention for Britney's worst album, thisi album contains nothing even remotely memorable; between the incredibly weak choruses and bland vocals of "Me Against the Music" and "Toxic" to the incredibly unnecessary and obnoxious guest vocals of the Ying Yang Twins on "Breathe On Me" and "I Got that (Boom Boom), only one song emerges even remotely victorious: the Britney co-penned ballad,In contention for Britney's worst album, thisi album contains nothing even remotely memorable; between the incredibly weak choruses and bland vocals of "Me Against the Music" and "Toxic" to the incredibly unnecessary and obnoxious guest vocals of the Ying Yang Twins on "Breathe On Me" and "I Got that (Boom Boom), only one song emerges even remotely victorious: the Britney co-penned ballad, "Everytime". Aside from that, this album is an utter waste and is rivaled only by Britney's previous, self-titled effort in terms of sheer terribility. Expand
  38. Jun 15, 2015
    1
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento mere
  39. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    Spears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't getSpears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't get no) Satisfaction is a word-for-word cover of the original Rolling Stones song, and it just comes off as awful personally. Also, the last track on the album, Dear Diary, is very, very stupid, in my opinion. Buy it to relive some nostalgia, but be aware this is the early 2000's, and bubblegum pop is just as cheesy as you thought it was. Collapse Expand
  40. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    One of the worst albums of the year thus far. It shows absolutely no artistic growth, the lyrics are elementary, and the vocals are non-existent. All in all, a terrible album. Collapse
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. Spin
    67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.