In The Zone

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 441 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 441

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2003
    4
    Disappointing. Tends to the atonal, when she should be sticking to her hook-heavy hits.
  2. hollys
    Nov 22, 2003
    5
    It was a dissapointment; however I do like Toxic.
  3. IdratherN
    Nov 22, 2003
    4
    I've never been a huge BRITNEY FAN FREAK, and I never buy an artists album JUST BECAUSE they're the biggest selling, or most popular. I have been one to hear a spears song and put it on repeat because it's a decent catchy listen. Then a month passes, and it's deserved old news. I will admit that this CD does have a few tracks that are bearable. However, over all, this I've never been a huge BRITNEY FAN FREAK, and I never buy an artists album JUST BECAUSE they're the biggest selling, or most popular. I have been one to hear a spears song and put it on repeat because it's a decent catchy listen. Then a month passes, and it's deserved old news. I will admit that this CD does have a few tracks that are bearable. However, over all, this latest release from the POP QUEEN is quite disapointing---however VERY predictable. I wasn't expecting a powerful, deep, respectable album from this GIRL who is obviously trying too hard...to prove what?...I don't know. I would be disapointed if someone like Christina Aguilera managed to produce something like this album. That's because SHE HAS TALENT, and I have EXPECTATIONS because of her vocal ability, and heart that she's known to put in her songs. But for the less gifted Miss Spears, I just download to see what her GIMIC and IMAGE and MARKETING TEAM has thrown together this time. And I see that they're trying to direct her path in this overly sexual musical pop scene so that she comes in first place in the race for "I'm a big girl now" between the 'blonde princess' that is still occuring to this day. When it comes to the actual content of the album, it's as meaningless and artifical as Britney herself. The talk of "shopping sprees", "passed out AGAIN", "getting a little messy", "can't be like that anymore", "shaking my ass" , "hooking up at the hotel", seems to be clearing up all the rumors very well. Letting everyone know that it's TRUE britney is just an immature wanna be grown up who ENJOYS and ENDULGES in the fast, messy, sexually paced life of a "star". I've heard statements that people from her home town, in Kentwood Louisiana are quite ashamed with britney's latest behavious, especially her former pastor. And it is shown that they very well should be. The entire SONG itself "Early Mornin'" let's us all know what a loose human being she is...but the jamacian rap in the end shows that she's let go of her southern roots and decided to do things that "you don't wanna know" with whom every she wants. And the kiss with Madonna alone (not to mention her disgusting girl on girl acts while showcasing her new album live) once again enforces the fact that she's let go of her faith and wholesome upbringing in the south. But hey, that's the kind of stuff the media just EATS UP...so of course, these nauseating duties will be done by brit with PLEASURE I'm sure. Lastly, I'll speak specifically on the technical side of the album. Aside from the press, the rumors, the IMAGE, and everything else that surrounds the promotion of this latest release...it still remains a fact that Britney has LIMITED vocal ability, and got a lucky break with her pretty face and high energy to please. Truth is, she can't sing. She can moan, she can giggle, she can breath heavily, she can talk in a seductive manner, but SINGING inself she sees as not so much a nessesity, but an option for this album. Once again, this is a tool to promote her "sex drive" and hide the fact that she got singed in the first place for marketing and money making purposes rather than a strong voice. Songs like "Touch of my Hand", "Early Mornin'", "Showdown", "Toxic", and "Breath on Me" are MUSICALLY well done, but with Britney's weak and thin vocals, the songs just become annoying. I'm SURE that this album will sell millions, and fans will scream at the top of their lung with praise for this Girl. But in the end when we all look back at this FIGURE, this PRODUCT, this THING we all call "Britney Spears", it will all boil down to fluff. Nothing honest, nothing mature, no depth, no reason, no soul. Just something we will scratch our heads at and think , "where is this world headed when a girl like britney is what every young female wants to emulate?" Expand
  4. idontnousodontfreakonme
    Jan 15, 2004
    5
    eh, ive had better
  5. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    Much like Britneys other records this one definalty offers something more than boring, it offers good music that shouldn't be taken to seriously. After you've played the album you do feel somewhat let down, not because it's bad but because out the full track listing you want just a few more tracks that may surprise and delight you, but unfortunatly after the almost flawless tracks are overMuch like Britneys other records this one definalty offers something more than boring, it offers good music that shouldn't be taken to seriously. After you've played the album you do feel somewhat let down, not because it's bad but because out the full track listing you want just a few more tracks that may surprise and delight you, but unfortunatly after the almost flawless tracks are over your left with the pinnacles of filler tracks, they may not be bad filler tracks, but they are what they are. Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    Her debute album was better.
  7. BitBurn
    Nov 24, 2003
    6
    Hell, when is she going to pose for Playboy or Penthouse?! I mean, the music is right up there! Sooo liberated and sexual!! This record is so sensual, so bubbly, homogenized. I really dig "breathe on me". Good disco vibe. And "early morning" is great. However, artisticlly, she's gotta stop pretending being Madonna!
  8. whit
    Jan 4, 2004
    4
    meh id say its average. surprisingly most of the songs have a good beat but the vocals are really weak and the lyrics... haha umm yea. but i will say its fun to dance to!
  9. RandyB
    Jun 15, 2005
    6
    When they started out, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera waged a war over who possessed the better voice. Now that that war is over, one can now (supposedly) judge Britney on her own. 'In The Zone' is meant to be a sexual stampede, a declaration of her full-fledged independence from her former princess image. The disc features an entourage of guests, most notably Madonna on When they started out, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera waged a war over who possessed the better voice. Now that that war is over, one can now (supposedly) judge Britney on her own. 'In The Zone' is meant to be a sexual stampede, a declaration of her full-fledged independence from her former princess image. The disc features an entourage of guests, most notably Madonna on 'Me Against the Music' and the Ying-Yang Twins on '(I've got that) Boom Boom', but like most guest appearances, they bring a little to the party, but not enough to make a difference. The most impressive thing here is the production, which undeniably saves the disc from a grim future. Britney's voice is the same as it ever was, nasly and suggestive, and her songwriting (she writes lyrics of her own?) on the beatuiful (yes, beautiful) track 'Everytime' is surprising. On most of the rest of the disc though, the lyrics are nothing special, come-ons and moaning. While Spears has definitely improved on the filler crap factor, she can't escape her old nemesis' shadow. Agilera's 'Stripped' of the year before may not feature production as hip-bouncingly good as 'Zone', but when Aguilera pens her own lyrics they are intelligent and fierce enough to be noticed; Britney's are....well, not. And did I mention that Aguilera won the war of the pipes by a landslide? It's enjoyable, but far from great. Expand
  10. Jun 22, 2011
    6
    POSITIVE - A very well produced album for the most part, this album offers mature yet young sounds throughout. I feel this album certainly wasn't a let down for fans, it is a nice, happy yet sexy album that doesn't get boring, but doesn't try to hard either.
    NEGATIVE - Toxic, Me Against The Music (Feat Madonna), Everytime and Outrageous by far the standout tracks, hence they were all
    POSITIVE - A very well produced album for the most part, this album offers mature yet young sounds throughout. I feel this album certainly wasn't a let down for fans, it is a nice, happy yet sexy album that doesn't get boring, but doesn't try to hard either.
    NEGATIVE - Toxic, Me Against The Music (Feat Madonna), Everytime and Outrageous by far the standout tracks, hence they were all released as singles, but these four singles really are the only tracks that could have been released. Althought the remaining tracks are good they are certainly not "Chart Material", non of them stand out a great deal, and those tracks that do stand out (Brave New Girl, Breathe on me and Showdown) didn't really fit in with the other singles that had been released, although good, i think they may have confused fans. It's quite difficult to explain, but listen to 'Toxic', then 'Brave New Girl' and i think you will see my point. Basically at times this album does lack, can sound a little dull maybe, dare i say, filler tracks are there. OVERALL - A good album, worth more than one listen, catchy, memorable, although not exactly Britney's best.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. Spin
    67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.