In The Zone - Britney Spears
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 293

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  2. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I love this album and the fact that Britney actually put some effort into it. In the Zone is, in my opinion, her magnum opus, although most people prefer Blackout over it. My favourite tracks are Toxic and Touch of My Hand!
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    One of Britney's most amazing albums. the tracks are amazing with great vocals, beats, and lyrics. standouts include Me Against The Music, I Got That (Boom Boom), Breathe On Me, Toxic,and Outrageous. There could have been at least another ballad.... but hey? It's mostly dance so it's all good!
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A Major Comeback From Britney! Another Amazing Album! Toxic, Shadow, And Everytime Are Timeless!
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Easily one of Britney Spears' best albums. (JK It is her best!) With the taste of your lips I'm on a ride, you're toxic I'm slippin' under...THE LEGENDARY MISS BRITNEY SPEARS
  6. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    In the Zone is Britney's sexual, exploring, and hypnotic album. It really pushed sexual image into another level. There is only one track that did not fit on the concept, its the Madonna-inspired Brave New Girl. This time, Spears sounds more natural, effortless and sexual without forcing herself. The success relies on her and the producers.
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    This Is Such A Massive Step From Her Last Album Britney! The Best Songs Are: Me Against the Music (Even Though I Hate Madonna!) (I Got That) Boom Boom Toxic And Outrageous! The Other Songs Are Fine, Just Not As Good As Those Tracks!
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    6
    POSITIVE - A very well produced album for the most part, this album offers mature yet young sounds throughout. I feel this album certainly wasn't a let down for fans, it is a nice, happy yet sexy album that doesn't get boring, but doesn't try to hard either.
    NEGATIVE - Toxic, Me Against The Music (Feat Madonna), Everytime and Outrageous by far the standout tracks, hence they were all
    released as singles, but these four singles really are the only tracks that could have been released. Althought the remaining tracks are good they are certainly not "Chart Material", non of them stand out a great deal, and those tracks that do stand out (Brave New Girl, Breathe on me and Showdown) didn't really fit in with the other singles that had been released, although good, i think they may have confused fans. It's quite difficult to explain, but listen to 'Toxic', then 'Brave New Girl' and i think you will see my point. Basically at times this album does lack, can sound a little dull maybe, dare i say, filler tracks are there. OVERALL - A good album, worth more than one listen, catchy, memorable, although not exactly Britney's best. Expand
  9. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    In contention for Britney's worst album, thisi album contains nothing even remotely memorable; between the incredibly weak choruses and bland vocals of "Me Against the Music" and "Toxic" to the incredibly unnecessary and obnoxious guest vocals of the Ying Yang Twins on "Breathe On Me" and "I Got that (Boom Boom), only one song emerges even remotely victorious: the Britney co-penned ballad, "Everytime". Aside from that, this album is an utter waste and is rivaled only by Britney's previous, self-titled effort in terms of sheer terribility. Expand
  10. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    It's not Britney's most innovative album, however, what makes In the Zone an appreciated effort is Britney's contribution ("Everytime" is a heartfelt ballad that flatters Britney's fragile and soft, but soothing vocals) and the album's solid production.
  11. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    Much like Britneys other records this one definalty offers something more than boring, it offers good music that shouldn't be taken to seriously. After you've played the album you do feel somewhat let down, not because it's bad but because out the full track listing you want just a few more tracks that may surprise and delight you, but unfortunatly after the almost flawless tracks are over your left with the pinnacles of filler tracks, they may not be bad filler tracks, but they are what they are. Expand
  12. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    She turned sexy for this. In a good way. She wrote 8 of the 12 standard edition tracks, like "Brave New Girl" - in my opinion the best track on it. The only bad thing about "In the Zone" is the vocals that sometimes get lazy, like in "Breathe on Me" and "Early Mornin'". Should've been more powerful IMHO.
  13. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Strong and forceful personality, dance music, music with personality, good compositions, one of the best in Britney. Highlight for "Toxic," "Everytime," "Brave New Girl" and "Outrageous".
  14. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    Her debute album was better.
  15. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  16. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is her best album, Breathe On Me is the best song in her career. Expand
  17. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    A great effort by Britney. As a huge fan of hers it was great to see how involved she was with the making of this cd. Standout tracks are: Toxic, Early Morning, Everytime and Breathe on Me.
  18. May 29, 2012
    7
    A Pretty Good Album!
    Only About 6 Songs Stick Out But That's Fine!
    The Whole Album Is Very Pop.... Madonna Was Not Needed To Make A Good Song...
  19. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Disgusting!! Crude awful and gross. Britney and One More, were flirty and fun, this is just dead and off-putting
    Not even any really nice melodies. Like some idiots playing with a computer program with a bunch cheap effects.
    The best song is hold it against me, were a fine chorus barely survives an onslaught of special effects.
    Dead, gross, dumb.
  20. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    her best album so far, this is an amazing pop album with elements of Hip Hop and R&B. toxic is definitely the song of the decade, 'me against the music' with MADONNA is such a great song and everytime is one of the most beautiful ballads i've ever heard. 'the hook up' makes u wanna dance like never before, it's magical!!!
  21. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Uma palavra para definir esse álbum> samba, Britney misturou vários estilos: Pop, Urban, Dance e muitos outros fazendo com que ele seja um dos melhores de sua carreira. Todas as músicas tem potencial para single, e o que dizer de Toxic? Música perfeita um grande sucesso realmente, todos os singles que o álbum teve foram ótimos. Todas as músicas são, impossível não gostar.
  22. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Channeling Madonna's Erotica, In The Zone is sexy, sleek, and unapologetic. Its sound is a complete departure from 2001's Britney. Although to some it might come across as an overly sexualized attempt to shred her girl next door image, the album is actually her most personal to date, with almost every song being written or co-written by the pop princess herself. Its ground breaking production help differentiate it from that of other albums of the time. In conclusion In The Zone is the perfect pop album. Expand
  23. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    In The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que foge totalmente do conceito do álbum. É um ótimo álbum, e nenhuma música é chata, todas tem seu brilho. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. 67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.