In The Zone

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 470 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 470

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  2. foofurrbean
    Jan 6, 2004
    8
    Totally not a Britney fan but received CD as a pink elephant gift at a Christmas party. Listened to it and was suprised. While she is not endowed with the voice of some of her peers, she managed to put out an album that is fun and different. If someone else's name was on the album I probably would have bought it myself. True, it's not great art but who cares? If I wanted great Totally not a Britney fan but received CD as a pink elephant gift at a Christmas party. Listened to it and was suprised. While she is not endowed with the voice of some of her peers, she managed to put out an album that is fun and different. If someone else's name was on the album I probably would have bought it myself. True, it's not great art but who cares? If I wanted great art I'd listen to Beethoven but if I want to actually enjoy myself I may just listen to this CD, Collapse
  3. MikeH
    Jun 18, 2005
    7
    The last official track of this album, 'Everytime' with it's music box melody and Spears' whispy delivery has to be one of the most beautiful ballads ever composed, which was surprisingly mostly written by Britney herself. This is (at least to my knowledge) a big first step for Britney, as she's been mocked for being anything but an actual artist by other The last official track of this album, 'Everytime' with it's music box melody and Spears' whispy delivery has to be one of the most beautiful ballads ever composed, which was surprisingly mostly written by Britney herself. This is (at least to my knowledge) a big first step for Britney, as she's been mocked for being anything but an actual artist by other musicians in the industry. 'In the Zone' is a declaration; she completely sheds her bubblegum pop image and sings of random sexual encounters, late night clubbing, and masturbation. Standouts on this album are the sexy 'Breathe On Me', 'Toxic', and the Madonna duet 'Me Against the Music'. This coming from someone who thought they would never consider having a Britney Spears album in their collection, it says something about the disc. Half the addiction is the amazing production work. Without it, 'In the Zone' would probably fail to impress half as much, as the lyrics are not inventive or thought provoking enough to merit a seond look. But whatever it's flaws, 'In The Zone' is really very good, and though she's not even close to being Bjork or Garbage (Think 'beautifulgarbage' here), Britney's closer to being considered an actual artist. Expand
  4. anniee
    Nov 18, 2003
    9
    This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's hard to label this album as one particular type of music, but it's impulsiveness is sure to lease an enormaous fan base. Some of the more techno beats you've been hearing about belong to Breathe on Me and Touch of My hand. Showdown is by far This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's hard to label this album as one particular type of music, but it's impulsiveness is sure to lease an enormaous fan base. Some of the more techno beats you've been hearing about belong to Breathe on Me and Touch of My hand. Showdown is by far one of the best songs Britney could possibly have mastered, mixing her usual sulty-whispering voice, with an incredible hook and melody, not to mention the power in her vocals. Which leads me to mention the catchiest track, Toxic. For ONCE, Britney takes a powerful stance on er position as the force behind the album. I hear she won't release it as a single, which is the wrong choice. It's a powerful song. Te less intresting songs, I'm sorry to say, are the ballads, Everytime and Shadow. While Everytime is linked to that ex of hers, most of us would like to move past that, and the song isn't all that intresting, though a bit haunting, which is something new. Shadow has a certain Kelly Clarkson feel, which isn't usual Britney either. Brave New Girl is very New-Pop with a nice rythem. Two more let downs are Outrageous and The hook Up. They're just, well, boring. Expand
  5. Jake
    Nov 23, 2003
    9
    With overtreated misogynistic pap by such overrated "bands" as Wilco, Flaming Lips, and Radiohead, it's nice to see a poweful, prominent woman figure put out wonderfully convoluted yet catchy tunes! Go Britney!
  6. angelrc
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    wow amazing
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I love this album and the fact that Britney actually put some effort into it. In the Zone is, in my opinion, her magnum opus, although most people prefer Blackout over it. My favourite tracks are Toxic and Touch of My Hand!
  8. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    One of Britney's most amazing albums. the tracks are amazing with great vocals, beats, and lyrics. standouts include Me Against The Music, I Got That (Boom Boom), Breathe On Me, Toxic,and Outrageous. There could have been at least another ballad.... but hey? It's mostly dance so it's all good!
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A Major Comeback From Britney! Another Amazing Album! Toxic, Shadow, And Everytime Are Timeless!
  10. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Easily one of Britney Spears' best albums. (JK It is her best!) With the taste of your lips I'm on a ride, you're toxic I'm slippin' under...THE LEGENDARY MISS BRITNEY SPEARS
  11. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    In The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que fogeIn The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que foge totalmente do conceito do álbum. É um ótimo álbum, e nenhuma música é chata, todas tem seu brilho. Expand
  12. marial
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  13. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Disgusting!! Crude awful and gross. Britney and One More, were flirty and fun, this is just dead and off-putting
    Not even any really nice melodies. Like some idiots playing with a computer program with a bunch cheap effects.
    The best song is hold it against me, were a fine chorus barely survives an onslaught of special effects.
    Dead, gross, dumb.
  14. lizb
    Jan 20, 2004
    2
    This cd falls flat in my opinion. There are some good beats, "breathe on me" and "toxic" but the vocals are incredibly weak and processed. The moaning and "sexy talking" is so overdone in this album its ridiculous. This is supposed to be a "grown up" album, but instead it sounds more like the work of a rebellious teen. "Hey look at me I wrote a song about masterbation" Is that supposed to This cd falls flat in my opinion. There are some good beats, "breathe on me" and "toxic" but the vocals are incredibly weak and processed. The moaning and "sexy talking" is so overdone in this album its ridiculous. This is supposed to be a "grown up" album, but instead it sounds more like the work of a rebellious teen. "Hey look at me I wrote a song about masterbation" Is that supposed to be cutting edge? There is no substance or heart to this album. Even the attempt at the ballad is weak. When will aritists understand that the sluttier they become, the less and less intriguing they are. Sex sells but in this case, its definately not selling her new album. Expand
  15. annp
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    It sucks just like the rest of her cds
  16. PaulaS
    Nov 20, 2003
    3
    Britney Spears is a Wanna-Be-Madonna-and we all know there is only one Madonna. She couldn't sell the album on her own-so that's why she had Madonna on it. She can't even explain her songs to the public-like on Diane Sawyer-touch of my hand-give me a break. She doesn't really have a good voice either.
  17. moejoe
    Jan 30, 2004
    3
    The ballads are horrible. Best song, by far, is Toxic--cool arangement, and her breathy singing actually complements the song. Otherwise, there are some weak attempts to snag some of Madonna's 'Erotica' and 'Ray of Light' mojo. She sounds unconvincing, through and through. But, you can dance to it....
  18. rosalieg
    Jan 8, 2004
    0
    how is that slut gonna say anything about christina when she's such a big fat slut that nobody likes .Christina is just being herself not some wanna be madona bitch crack whore
  19. Razzyou'llneverknow
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    You suck britney!!!!! Arggghhh kill the bitch!
  20. richardk
    Feb 25, 2004
    0
    u suk britney! dont buy this cd. ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. shes such a bad singer
  21. vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    2
    There are 2 good songs on this album and they are Toxic and Everytime. The rest are tired after one listen.
  22. opeth(wreath)
    Jan 26, 2005
    0
    Its stupid why would you even listen to an arist that doesnt write her own songs, you must be retarded to like this.
  23. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    She Sucks so badly and with such commetment that I give her -10. What the hell she thinks???? She is selling music or trying to get people notice that she is a girl too by exhibiting her body!!!!!!!!!!!
  24. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2003
    4
    Disappointing. Tends to the atonal, when she should be sticking to her hook-heavy hits.
  25. OCuculiza
    Mar 13, 2004
    3
    If You like Hilary Duff, then this is the album you have to buy, because it was made by her teacher. Britney takes the teen pop too far to get her albums even worse than Duff´s. "Toxic" makes the album worth a little more, but that´s it.
  26. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    she 's A rip-off aritst
  27. JohnnyB
    Nov 17, 2003
    0
    Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's filthy rich, take some vocal lessons or learn to play an instrument. Please do something cause this same shit is getting old.
  28. KenC
    Nov 18, 2003
    0
    Pure ass.
  29. EthanH
    Nov 19, 2003
    0
    I loved her three previous albums, but this is one of the worst cd's I have ever heard. This album doesn't even deserve a zero rating, more like a -2.
  30. hollys
    Nov 22, 2003
    5
    It was a dissapointment; however I do like Toxic.
  31. IdratherN
    Nov 22, 2003
    4
    I've never been a huge BRITNEY FAN FREAK, and I never buy an artists album JUST BECAUSE they're the biggest selling, or most popular. I have been one to hear a spears song and put it on repeat because it's a decent catchy listen. Then a month passes, and it's deserved old news. I will admit that this CD does have a few tracks that are bearable. However, over all, this I've never been a huge BRITNEY FAN FREAK, and I never buy an artists album JUST BECAUSE they're the biggest selling, or most popular. I have been one to hear a spears song and put it on repeat because it's a decent catchy listen. Then a month passes, and it's deserved old news. I will admit that this CD does have a few tracks that are bearable. However, over all, this latest release from the POP QUEEN is quite disapointing---however VERY predictable. I wasn't expecting a powerful, deep, respectable album from this GIRL who is obviously trying too hard...to prove what?...I don't know. I would be disapointed if someone like Christina Aguilera managed to produce something like this album. That's because SHE HAS TALENT, and I have EXPECTATIONS because of her vocal ability, and heart that she's known to put in her songs. But for the less gifted Miss Spears, I just download to see what her GIMIC and IMAGE and MARKETING TEAM has thrown together this time. And I see that they're trying to direct her path in this overly sexual musical pop scene so that she comes in first place in the race for "I'm a big girl now" between the 'blonde princess' that is still occuring to this day. When it comes to the actual content of the album, it's as meaningless and artifical as Britney herself. The talk of "shopping sprees", "passed out AGAIN", "getting a little messy", "can't be like that anymore", "shaking my ass" , "hooking up at the hotel", seems to be clearing up all the rumors very well. Letting everyone know that it's TRUE britney is just an immature wanna be grown up who ENJOYS and ENDULGES in the fast, messy, sexually paced life of a "star". I've heard statements that people from her home town, in Kentwood Louisiana are quite ashamed with britney's latest behavious, especially her former pastor. And it is shown that they very well should be. The entire SONG itself "Early Mornin'" let's us all know what a loose human being she is...but the jamacian rap in the end shows that she's let go of her southern roots and decided to do things that "you don't wanna know" with whom every she wants. And the kiss with Madonna alone (not to mention her disgusting girl on girl acts while showcasing her new album live) once again enforces the fact that she's let go of her faith and wholesome upbringing in the south. But hey, that's the kind of stuff the media just EATS UP...so of course, these nauseating duties will be done by brit with PLEASURE I'm sure. Lastly, I'll speak specifically on the technical side of the album. Aside from the press, the rumors, the IMAGE, and everything else that surrounds the promotion of this latest release...it still remains a fact that Britney has LIMITED vocal ability, and got a lucky break with her pretty face and high energy to please. Truth is, she can't sing. She can moan, she can giggle, she can breath heavily, she can talk in a seductive manner, but SINGING inself she sees as not so much a nessesity, but an option for this album. Once again, this is a tool to promote her "sex drive" and hide the fact that she got singed in the first place for marketing and money making purposes rather than a strong voice. Songs like "Touch of my Hand", "Early Mornin'", "Showdown", "Toxic", and "Breath on Me" are MUSICALLY well done, but with Britney's weak and thin vocals, the songs just become annoying. I'm SURE that this album will sell millions, and fans will scream at the top of their lung with praise for this Girl. But in the end when we all look back at this FIGURE, this PRODUCT, this THING we all call "Britney Spears", it will all boil down to fluff. Nothing honest, nothing mature, no depth, no reason, no soul. Just something we will scratch our heads at and think , "where is this world headed when a girl like britney is what every young female wants to emulate?" Expand
  32. SarahT
    Nov 25, 2003
    0
    she ruins songs with her stupid childish voice and all that moaning. she needs to get over that and grow up.
  33. BreannaR
    Dec 11, 2003
    0
    Britneys 1st and 2nd cd here huge sucesses because she had very good songs and she was pretty. Then her 3rd cd wasnt as successful and she lost fans because the songs sucked and she turned to a slut and a drug attict (she admitted to doing drugs and sleeping with justin and fred). Now no wonder a whole lot of people are dissing her and this cd now because shes even uglier and the songs Britneys 1st and 2nd cd here huge sucesses because she had very good songs and she was pretty. Then her 3rd cd wasnt as successful and she lost fans because the songs sucked and she turned to a slut and a drug attict (she admitted to doing drugs and sleeping with justin and fred). Now no wonder a whole lot of people are dissing her and this cd now because shes even uglier and the songs are even crappier and this cd wont do half as well as her 3rd. Then she will come out with a 5th cd which will be very unsucessful and she will be even uglier and lose even more fans. Then she will have a 6th cd which will only sell like 10 copies and she will only have like 10 fans and she will be even uglier. Then she will quit her music career because no one likes her anymore and then she will say this "What should I do now? I know! I will do what I wanted to do since my 3rd CD! Become a prostitute and become a drug attict again!" So she will do that again for about another year or two and then after that, you will find her dead behind a strip club after smoking too much crack and drinking too much alcohol. Then 10 years later, you will hear someone say this "WHO THE HELL IS BRITNEY SPEARS?" Expand
  34. idontnousodontfreakonme
    Jan 15, 2004
    5
    eh, ive had better
  35. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    Much like Britneys other records this one definalty offers something more than boring, it offers good music that shouldn't be taken to seriously. After you've played the album you do feel somewhat let down, not because it's bad but because out the full track listing you want just a few more tracks that may surprise and delight you, but unfortunatly after the almost flawless tracks are overMuch like Britneys other records this one definalty offers something more than boring, it offers good music that shouldn't be taken to seriously. After you've played the album you do feel somewhat let down, not because it's bad but because out the full track listing you want just a few more tracks that may surprise and delight you, but unfortunatly after the almost flawless tracks are over your left with the pinnacles of filler tracks, they may not be bad filler tracks, but they are what they are. Expand
  36. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    Her debute album was better.
  37. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is her best album, Breathe On Me is the best song in her career. Expand
  38. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  39. DaniloL
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    this album is fantastic ! the best yet.
  40. JoeJ
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    with a sexually charged album ending with a vulnerable and soft ballad, Everytime, Spears might be more talented and sensible than we thought. This is the first thing to better things for her.
  41. pikatos
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    I shall vote her for ten points as her music is fantabulous and the way she blends her music is worth listening guess what will be her next album that will rock the whole world.
  42. MandyK
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome
  43. JackKife
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Woo hoo Go Britney. She won her first grammy for Toxic. Just shows you that Britney is a true artist and likes to experiment with different sounds.
  44. WaltM
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    This CD is AWESOME and it's best Britney's EVER done. I love every single song and I recomend it to everyone.
  45. angel
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    This album is the best album that she has let out.. she has grown up and it is about time that people see that and leave her alone when she try's to grrow up.. nobody ever complained about Christina Aguilera trying to be ghetto!
  46. Chomin_
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    In the zone is the best Cd of Britney Spears!!!!
  47. twinie
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    every1 says how they hate Britney an ya no if christina bought out this album evry1 would b sayin how it was da best album but cos it's britney som1 has 2 complain!!!! Im nearly 13 and thought i was growing out of her music but this album proved me wrong!!! COM ON PEEPS GO OUT BYE THIS ALBUM U WONT B DISAPPOINTED!!!
  48. RebeccaH
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I have always enjoyed Britney's music, however I didn't become a huge fan until I listen to her last CD (britney). So, after much anticipation for her new ablum I was first in line to purchase In the Zone. As I listened to Britney I was far from dissapointed, each and every song is very unique and entertaining, quite different from her pervious albums. In the Zone proves how far I have always enjoyed Britney's music, however I didn't become a huge fan until I listen to her last CD (britney). So, after much anticipation for her new ablum I was first in line to purchase In the Zone. As I listened to Britney I was far from dissapointed, each and every song is very unique and entertaining, quite different from her pervious albums. In the Zone proves how far Brintey has come and grown in her career and I hope to her much more from her in the future. Expand
  49. felipea
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    I love it! All songs are great, Britney shows she's NOT a girl anymore.
  50. RobertM
    Jul 30, 2004
    9
    Many potential singles, "Breathe On Me", and "Touch of My Hand" are gr8!
  51. adrianod
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    In the year of 2003 Britney returned to the music scene from her wild year of antics with the infamous MTV kiss with Madonna. In November 2003 Britney released her stunning Cd ?In The Zone?. Britney released her best album yet. She transformed herself from a sexy young teenager to a provocative young woman. In the Zone takes listeners though a journey of different styles of music. From In the year of 2003 Britney returned to the music scene from her wild year of antics with the infamous MTV kiss with Madonna. In November 2003 Britney released her stunning Cd ?In The Zone?. Britney released her best album yet. She transformed herself from a sexy young teenager to a provocative young woman. In the Zone takes listeners though a journey of different styles of music. From Hard hitting dance tracks, to dirty ghetto Hip Hop to viby trance tracks to beautiful peaceful ballads. This album shows Britney at her best. This album made critics label her ?The New Madonna?. Me Against The Music ? This is the lead single from the album. It is the infamous duet featuring Madonna. It is a hard hitting club dance track any is very different from what is on the radios these days. The track is just about being in a club and being oblivious to everyone and freestyling. I couldn?t think of a better way for a come back song. Britney could have released a typical R&B track for her return, but she wanted to be unique. She has definetly succeeded. This is my 2nd Favourite track on the album and one of my favourite songs of all time. 10/10 (I Got That) Boom Boom ? This track is an Up-tempo Hip Hop track perfect for the clubs. The track has also has an Indian vibe to it. This track features the Ying Yang Twins, which gives the track a dirty ghetto, feel to it. This song is my 3rd Favourite song on the album, and is one of the best Hip Hop songs I have ever heard. 10/10 Showdown ? The famous UK producers Bloodshy & Avant produced this track. It is a great sexy dance track which features Britney whispering ?I don?t wanna be a tease. Would you undo my zipper please? This track is done very well. Again very unique. 9/10 Breathe On Me ? This song is very club-savvy orientated and is one of the most sensual tracks on the album. The song has a HOT beat and is reminiscent to Kylie?s Can?t Get You Out Of My Head. This track describes the intensity of a relationship so hot that they don?t even need to touch, just breathe. This is my Favourite track on the album and one of my favourite songs of all time. I can automatically see this song go #1 in Europe if it is released. 10/10 Early Mornin ? The second this track commences you will automatically know that it is Moby produced. This track is very sexy and has a trance feel to it. The song is very vibey and is about the next morning after a big night out. 8.5/10 Toxic ? This is the second single from the album which is produced by Bloodshy & Avant. The song is HOT and fits Britney perfectly. The track is a hard hitting dance track which could easily be used as the theme song to Alias or the next bond movie.This is the track responsible for rising her album sales all around the world. Critics are describing it the best song Britney has released since I?m A Slave For You. I love this track so much because of its uniqueness. 10/10 Outrageous ? This is a typical R&B penned track. The second the song commences you will automatically realise it is R Kelly produced. This song is again perfect for the clubs and has an Indian vibe to it. The chorus is very catchy. 10/10 Touch Of My Hard ?This is the most sensual song on the album. This song is a beautiful dance ballad reminiscent to Madonna?s The Power Of Goodbye & Janet?s That?s The Way Love Goes. This song is an ode to masturbation. The song is Britney?s most mature song to date and has a sexy vibe to it. This is definitely a stand out track on the album. 10/10. The Hook-Up ? Redzone, the famous team behind the Britney/Madonna duet, produced this track. This song has an R&B reggae feel to it and is fairly uptempo. This Is what we call a filler track and one of the less memorable on the album. 5/10 Shadow ? This track is a beautiful ballad produced by The Matrix. This is very reminiscent to Avril?s I?m With You. This track shows Britney?s vocals at its best. I personally think this is her best ballad since Don?t Let Me Be The Last To Know. 10/10 Brave New Girl ? This song brings back the days Britney was innocent. In every album she has to bring out the stupidness in her. She has done exactly that in this track. This track is very pop driven and could be used as the theme song to Legally Blonde. I personally think it is The worst song on the album and one of the worst songs I have ever heard. 1/10 The only reason I give it a 1 is because it is Britney. Every Time ? This song is very peaceful and pleasant. It tells the story of heartbreak. The track features a beautiful harmony and goes well with the mood of the sound. She sings in lower key although it fits the song perfectly. Again another brilliant ballad from Britney. 10/10 Me Against The Music (Remix) ? This is remix to the First Single. The song was remixed by Peter Rishi and an Indian vibe has been added to it. The song is still very clubby and is probably one of the best remixes I have ever heard. 10/10 The Answer ? This is the Australian bonus track and is produced by P Diddy. The song has an R&B mid tempo flow to it. I really liked this song, but I was disappointed at the same time. When I heard the idea of Britney & P Diddy working together I was expecting an up tempo R&B track, although it was completely the opposite. 9/10 Don?t Hang Up ? This is another Australian bonus track. The song is mid tempo and again has an R&B pop flow to it.This song is about Phone Sex. This song was produced by the same team behind Brave New Girl. I personally don?t like this song and think she should never work with Brian & Josh again. 3/10. ALL IN ALL I LOVE THIS CD AND I DON?T THINK IT COULD HAVE GOTTEN ANY BETTER. THIS ALBUM IS VERY UNQIUE AND IS BRITNEY?S BEST ALBUM SO FAR. OVERALL I GIVE IT A 10/10 Expand
  52. nicholass
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The Best Album of all time. With every album that she dose it just gets better and better, this album is aimed more at an older generation however it has songs that will make every person on the earth tap their feet to, Toxic britney 6 number one in the uk was by far the best song of 2004 and the video was noumber one in MTV Top 100 videos of 2004, Me Against the Music was britney's The Best Album of all time. With every album that she dose it just gets better and better, this album is aimed more at an older generation however it has songs that will make every person on the earth tap their feet to, Toxic britney 6 number one in the uk was by far the best song of 2004 and the video was noumber one in MTV Top 100 videos of 2004, Me Against the Music was britney's chance to sing along side the worlds other queen of pop Madonna, The song reached noumber 2 the uk single chart, i will just say noy that every song that britney has done since the Album Britney has reached 7 or more in the uk singles chart. Everytime was the most talk about video ever made by an artist this was because of the nature of the video , people saw britney in a bath going under with blood on her hands after a disagement with boyfriend, the song Also reached nomber 1 in the uk chart, So to end This A must have album for any pop dance fan a song for all can be found on this album *******************not enough stars to rate this album. Expand
  53. marial
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  54. decc
    Mar 7, 2006
    8
    Good stuff definetly a step up from the teenage pop and some of the stuff ws even more r&b but this album does not show up the vocal ability we all know she has!!
  55. JasonL
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This is Britney's best album. She is an incredible artist. Britney is a true performer and she doesn't bash other female artists like she's better than them. Britney is talented, real, beautiful, and humble. She is also giving. This album is amazing.
  56. MauriceT
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney really delievered with this fantastic pop/ballads/techno/trance/rnb/reggae album!
  57. MikeC
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Sweet album. Britney is the queen of pop.
  58. justint
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Flawless album. Everytime is a beautiful well sung track and well written by Britney.
  59. CourtneyC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    she is a very talented lady people just need to give her a chance!!!
  60. JeffM
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Each song is amazing. Britney has put together a fierce, dance club party record. Thrown in are her 2 strongest ballads to date. Best Pop Album of the Year!
  61. JillianA
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    Britney deserves some major credit for this album. It is soulful, catchy, sexual, and in my own opinion very very truthful. She continues to take risks and put her self out there. The CD has "something for everybody" if you are into hip-hop check out "Boom Boom", if its sexy and sultry music you like catch "Touch of my Hand" or "Breathe on Me". For the techno rave crowd there is a bit of Britney deserves some major credit for this album. It is soulful, catchy, sexual, and in my own opinion very very truthful. She continues to take risks and put her self out there. The CD has "something for everybody" if you are into hip-hop check out "Boom Boom", if its sexy and sultry music you like catch "Touch of my Hand" or "Breathe on Me". For the techno rave crowd there is a bit of that mixed into everything, and for the tiny bopper pop kiddies there is still a touch of her old style. Be open minded. Don't be too harsh on Brit. Remember she makes music for us, her fans. Everything on this album, I am sure she gave her all to make. Even if you don't like the sound, at least give her some credit for effort and creativity. Expand
  62. NseE
    Nov 23, 2003
    0
    Oops, did I give it a zero? I meant to hit the -1 button. SUCKS!!!
  63. BitBurn
    Nov 24, 2003
    6
    Hell, when is she going to pose for Playboy or Penthouse?! I mean, the music is right up there! Sooo liberated and sexual!! This record is so sensual, so bubbly, homogenized. I really dig "breathe on me". Good disco vibe. And "early morning" is great. However, artisticlly, she's gotta stop pretending being Madonna!
  64. BrittanyJo
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    I thought it was an awesome album. I bought it the first day it came out and i listen to it everyday. I love her music. I like her way better that that slut christina aguilera. Britney Spears is a great artist!
  65. SusanB
    Dec 13, 2003
    2
    This cd was a good attempt for Britney. She's got some good moans, a new masturbation concept, and she even attempts to sing reggae. Even though she'll be able to remove some of the stupidity songs from her "outrageous" songs by posing like a slut and dancing like a stripper, Britney should just take the playboy offer. They say third times a charm, but I guess she wasn't so This cd was a good attempt for Britney. She's got some good moans, a new masturbation concept, and she even attempts to sing reggae. Even though she'll be able to remove some of the stupidity songs from her "outrageous" songs by posing like a slut and dancing like a stripper, Britney should just take the playboy offer. They say third times a charm, but I guess she wasn't so lucky. Her vocals were just real sad... Expand
  66. christopherG
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    everybody who gave this CD a 0 is a jerk. im a 8 year -old kid and I think it's GREAT! I love you Britney!
  67. Evy
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    it's the best Britney album yet
  68. victoriabreenlittrell
    Dec 25, 2003
    0
    horrible cd!!
  69. lulua
    Dec 3, 2003
    0
    you can just tell how desperate brit is for credibility, just by looking at the cover.
  70. To6
    Jan 12, 2004
    2
    yes... it's her best "work" till now... so I'll give it 2....
  71. LilSouthernChickadee
    Jan 18, 2004
    10
    Okay Ya'll, for all those people who dissed on Brittany b/c you think she's a slut, well you are entitled to your own opinion. But! quite frankley, I'm sure half of ya'll never even listened to the CD! I sometimes think Brittany can be a little outrageous with her appearance, but thats why shes doin it in America! Her CD may not have the most "meaningful" lyrics, but Okay Ya'll, for all those people who dissed on Brittany b/c you think she's a slut, well you are entitled to your own opinion. But! quite frankley, I'm sure half of ya'll never even listened to the CD! I sometimes think Brittany can be a little outrageous with her appearance, but thats why shes doin it in America! Her CD may not have the most "meaningful" lyrics, but HELL, it makes me wanna get up off my feet, shake my ass, and dance the night away. I love almost every song on her new album. Toxic is one of my personal favorites (along with half the world)! I think she just took herself to a whole new level with this new CD. I'm definately looking forward to all new things to come from Brittany! Expand
  72. whit
    Jan 4, 2004
    4
    meh id say its average. surprisingly most of the songs have a good beat but the vocals are really weak and the lyrics... haha umm yea. but i will say its fun to dance to!
  73. ChrisK
    Jan 7, 2004
    0
    This CD suck!!! She is nothing but a pure ho. Some of the songs are about his her tuching her self and Moaning while she does it. Thats not music. Anyone can moan and put a beat behind it. She needs to do something with her life.
  74. TomK
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    3 words "Don't buy it"
  75. KellyS
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    She is nothing but a sick slut!!!!
  76. MatG
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    She needs to give it up for all our sakes.
  77. SaerA
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    This album is her best! It's not a 10 its about a 12! Because there has not been a good album that every song is!! Good Work Britney!!
  78. BrittanyM
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    This album rocks I listen to it almost every night.
  79. DanielaZ
    Mar 5, 2004
    9
    Is the best cd she has!!
  80. CharlotteM
    May 12, 2004
    7
    Im a huge fan of the pop princess. So like every other Britney fan, i bought this cd. When i played it, lets just say this has got to be the best album under the snake-wearing pop princess so far! Its really good! a mixture of different music styles.For some R & B, there's "Outrageous", for hip-hop,"Me against the music", for some reggae,"showdown,the hook up," for some slow Im a huge fan of the pop princess. So like every other Britney fan, i bought this cd. When i played it, lets just say this has got to be the best album under the snake-wearing pop princess so far! Its really good! a mixture of different music styles.For some R & B, there's "Outrageous", for hip-hop,"Me against the music", for some reggae,"showdown,the hook up," for some slow jamz"early morning,shadow" for edgy rock techno"toxic,brave new girl" for some sweet ballad "everytime" Go get it..britney fan or not, you'll be a fan in no time Expand
  81. MosesJime
    May 25, 2004
    10
    I like 'In the Zone', It's his Best CD. It has song very good... I love 'Touch of my hand', 'Breathe on Me'... It is very diferent to others Britney's songs
  82. ss
    Jun 1, 2004
    0
    Madonna's better at this.
  83. jAYmELO
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    iT'S AWESOME
  84. IzaG
    Sep 12, 2004
    10
    Great Cd!!!
  85. bryana
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    this is a great cd, even if youre not a britney fan. you cannot deny that its catchy.
  86. brad
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    its probebley THE B-E-S-T pop album of our time
  87. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Almost too good to be true!
  88. RitaK
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Dyanamite! This is Britney's best cd yet, and she doesn't get the credit she deserves. The people who gave the cd a zero either have bad taste, or didn't even give it a chance. The cd is edgy, and makes you wanna hit the dance floor. It's definately one of my top favorite cd's of all time. Your missing out if you don't buy it.
  89. RandyB
    Jun 15, 2005
    6
    When they started out, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera waged a war over who possessed the better voice. Now that that war is over, one can now (supposedly) judge Britney on her own. 'In The Zone' is meant to be a sexual stampede, a declaration of her full-fledged independence from her former princess image. The disc features an entourage of guests, most notably Madonna on When they started out, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera waged a war over who possessed the better voice. Now that that war is over, one can now (supposedly) judge Britney on her own. 'In The Zone' is meant to be a sexual stampede, a declaration of her full-fledged independence from her former princess image. The disc features an entourage of guests, most notably Madonna on 'Me Against the Music' and the Ying-Yang Twins on '(I've got that) Boom Boom', but like most guest appearances, they bring a little to the party, but not enough to make a difference. The most impressive thing here is the production, which undeniably saves the disc from a grim future. Britney's voice is the same as it ever was, nasly and suggestive, and her songwriting (she writes lyrics of her own?) on the beatuiful (yes, beautiful) track 'Everytime' is surprising. On most of the rest of the disc though, the lyrics are nothing special, come-ons and moaning. While Spears has definitely improved on the filler crap factor, she can't escape her old nemesis' shadow. Agilera's 'Stripped' of the year before may not feature production as hip-bouncingly good as 'Zone', but when Aguilera pens her own lyrics they are intelligent and fierce enough to be noticed; Britney's are....well, not. And did I mention that Aguilera won the war of the pipes by a landslide? It's enjoyable, but far from great. Expand
  90. JustinA
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Great album to come back with. Britney hits such high points all over this album starting with Toxic, Everytime, Shadow, (I Got That) Boom Boom, and Outrageous. Hits all over the place. MATM with Madonna was a nice lead track to get people talking Britney esp after her performance with Madonna and Christina during the VMAs then choosing Toxic to show she's truely back followed by Great album to come back with. Britney hits such high points all over this album starting with Toxic, Everytime, Shadow, (I Got That) Boom Boom, and Outrageous. Hits all over the place. MATM with Madonna was a nice lead track to get people talking Britney esp after her performance with Madonna and Christina during the VMAs then choosing Toxic to show she's truely back followed by Everytime bringing her back to the slow tracks she does so well. Outrageous her 4th single was destined to be her next hit with the possibility of hitting a Top 25 or even Top 10 status failed due to the cancelation of her tour and the video due to an injury keeping her from completing the task. If Britney would have been able to do something different with any of the songs left as a closer it would have been a nice lead out before releasing her Greatest Hits album during the start of the 4th Quarter. In The Zone is basically one of Britney's best albums with promising hopes of continued music experimenting and excellent producers and writings from others and Britney herself. Expand
  91. KipJ
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    My favorite album. Until her next one that is. :)
  92. mariak
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney is the best. Nuff said.
  93. caroll
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    My daughters love Britney. I also came to like her when I heard this album. It's funky, and she has spunk. She is one talented woman.
  94. jonj
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Amazing! Britney is "Simply Irresistable."
  95. Katherinewalt
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Woo hoo awesome. Words cannot describe this amazing album!
  96. FrankM
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney is my favorite female artist. I think that says enough.
  97. MelaniT
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney is my homegirl!
  98. martinl
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    definitely britney's best album. it's so electronica, kinda reminescent of madonna's ray of light at some parts. it's ethereal and sexy and with some strong beats
  99. joeaverage
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    great album
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. Spin
    67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.