In The Zone

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 539 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 539

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2017
    10
    Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad Calidad
  2. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    If there was a way for me to convey how much I love this album, I would do so. This was a favorite of mine growing up, and it still sounds fresh with each listen. "Toxic" and "Everytime" are so haunting and wonderful and lovely and perfect; I can't say much else.
  3. Feb 9, 2017
    10
    Os instrumentais de 'In The Zone' são ótimos. Muitas canções do álbum são aclamadas por outras estrelas pop, e marcaram a vida de muitas pessoas, como Toxic, o maior hit do álbum. In The Zone marca uma nova etapa na vida de Britney
  4. Jan 28, 2017
    10
    Um dos melhores albuns de todos os tempos, meu segundo preferido da britney só perde pro circus, como nao amar um album que tem "Toxic" "Shodow" e a lindissima "Everytime"
  5. Dec 7, 2016
    7
    It's sexy and seductive, with a few upbeat numbers thrown in for good measure. Far more timeless than you might expect. If she released it now (2016) it would be lauded by critics. The production is strong, her vocals are mature and the song writing is fun yet sensible. A very, very good album indeed.
  6. Nov 21, 2016
    7
    Ok first off, let's get this one straight: This is NOT the pop bible. I'ts a fairly consistent and interesting record though. Toxic is excellent. Very good:Breathe on me, Touch of My Hand. Good: Showdown, Early Mornin', Outrageous.
  7. Nov 3, 2016
    10
    One of my favorite albums out there.It shows how Britney matured and wrote songs which reflect to her life at that moment.A major game changer in the pop music.
  8. Sep 11, 2016
    8
    that album is really amazing and strong, shows to us a new britney spears, more sexy and powerful than ever,this show really good and amazing songs like toxic,breath on me, i got that and others that make this a great album one of the best of 2004(if not the best)
  9. Sep 10, 2016
    10
    Sexy, personal, smooth and original. This is a truly masterpiece, including her most successful track to date "Toxic", her most famous duo "Me Against The Music" with Madonna. Plus, tracks that shows a complete different Britney, a girl that has find what she is and is not afraid to show it to the world.
  10. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    One of the worst albums of the year thus far. It shows absolutely no artistic growth, the lyrics are elementary, and the vocals are non-existent. All in all, a terrible album. Collapse
  11. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    Spears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't getSpears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't get no) Satisfaction is a word-for-word cover of the original Rolling Stones song, and it just comes off as awful personally. Also, the last track on the album, Dear Diary, is very, very stupid, in my opinion. Buy it to relive some nostalgia, but be aware this is the early 2000's, and bubblegum pop is just as cheesy as you thought it was. Collapse Expand
  12. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    In The Zone was her most underrated album so far, during 2003 after the infamous kiss with Madonna at the VMA's, Britney released her first masterpiece, a combined dance-pop, hip-hop and melodic ballads, In the album, Spears includes two of her most iconic songs in her entire career, Toxic and Everytime (she write it and composed it), but also fan favorites like Breathe On Me and Touch OfIn The Zone was her most underrated album so far, during 2003 after the infamous kiss with Madonna at the VMA's, Britney released her first masterpiece, a combined dance-pop, hip-hop and melodic ballads, In the album, Spears includes two of her most iconic songs in her entire career, Toxic and Everytime (she write it and composed it), but also fan favorites like Breathe On Me and Touch Of My Hand, she recorded and released a song with the Queen of Pop (Me Against the Music, the first single) and the rest of the album (maybe except for the bonus remix of Me Against the Music) was perfection from beginning to the end. Expand
  13. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    Um album bem diverisficado e sensual, a Britney deu o melhor de sí e fez uma biblia do pop onde cada versículo exala um cheiro que vai do bom ao maravilhoso! Um dos melhores albuns de 2004 até 2007
  14. Jul 15, 2016
    8
    1. "Me Against the Music": A tongue-twisting, catchy dance track.
    2. "(I Got That) Boom Boom": An upbeat, fun track, its sound the closest to her previous releases.
    3. "Showdown": Strange, yet still dance-able. 4. "Breathe On Me": A sexy, sultry bed anthem. 5. "Early Mornin'": A catchy, slinky, R&B-infused song, bound to get stuck in your head. 6. "Toxic": A sexy track, its beats
    1. "Me Against the Music": A tongue-twisting, catchy dance track.
    2. "(I Got That) Boom Boom": An upbeat, fun track, its sound the closest to her previous releases.
    3. "Showdown": Strange, yet still dance-able.
    4. "Breathe On Me": A sexy, sultry bed anthem.
    5. "Early Mornin'": A catchy, slinky, R&B-infused song, bound to get stuck in your head.
    6. "Toxic": A sexy track, its beats infectious.
    7. "Outrageous": An R&B track, which doesn't come close to being a favourite, but still fun.
    8. "Touch of My Hand": A daring, sexy track, one of my favourites.
    9. "The Hook Up": Not so fussed on this song.
    10. "Shadow": An emotional, tear-jerker power ballad, which is, like "Touch of My Hand," a favourite; definitely underrated.
    11. "Brave New Girl": A fun, electronic track, with a well-developed production.
    12. "Everytime": A soft, beautiful ballad, with sweet vocals and stripped-down production compared to the rest of the album.
    13. "Me Against the Music (Rishi Rich's Desi Kulcha Remix)": (Refer to 1. "Me Against the Music")
    14. "The Answer": A breathy, sultry track, definitely needs more attention.
    15. "Don't Hang Up": Another lovely song with Britney showcasing her falsetto ability.

    My Highlights: "Touch of My Hand," "Shadow," "Breathe On Me," "Everytime," "The Answer," and "Don't Hang Up."
    Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg fffffffffffffffffffffffffff
  16. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    On this record, Britney employs her powerful songwriting and melodic skills to create her most inspired sound yet. She showcases various world sounds from the Middle Eastern strings on the flawless Touch of my Hand to the Bollywood beat of her smash hit, Toxic and this album has truly left its mark in Britney's career as a withdrawal from others' creative control.
  17. Jan 30, 2016
    10
    Excellent album. Chaque titre est une pépite. Britney nous transporte dans une atmosphère sensuelle et sexuelle comme su le faire Madonna en son temps.

    Coup de cœur: Tout l'album.
  18. Nov 5, 2015
    8
    Different, clever and innovative. And not every day that a pop star releases an album with oriental influences , this album ... speechless. what makes an artist to release an album with that influences highlighted ? The OMG sound, the beats, production, voice! yes the voice !. The best of it and we can really listen to this album with production also of R Kelly , the city planning andDifferent, clever and innovative. And not every day that a pop star releases an album with oriental influences , this album ... speechless. what makes an artist to release an album with that influences highlighted ? The OMG sound, the beats, production, voice! yes the voice !. The best of it and we can really listen to this album with production also of R Kelly , the city planning and detail in this wonderful album . Apação and In The Zone are the best albums of Britney today. Expand
  19. Oct 13, 2015
    9
    In The Zone-9
    Me Against The Music (7/10)
    (I Got That) Boom Boom (5/10) Showdown (10/10) Breathe On Me (9/10) Early Mornin (7/10) Toxic (9/10) Outrageous (9/10) Touch Of My Hand (10/10) The Hook Up (8/10) Shadow (10/10) Brave New Girl (8/10) Everytime (10/10) É um album maravilhoso, possuí uma variedade de sons maravilhosos e letras como Everytime que são dignas de estarem
    In The Zone-9
    Me Against The Music (7/10)
    (I Got That) Boom Boom (5/10)
    Showdown (10/10)
    Breathe On Me (9/10)
    Early Mornin (7/10)
    Toxic (9/10)
    Outrageous (9/10)
    Touch Of My Hand (10/10)
    The Hook Up (8/10)
    Shadow (10/10)
    Brave New Girl (8/10)
    Everytime (10/10)
    É um album maravilhoso, possuí uma variedade de sons maravilhosos e letras como Everytime que são dignas de estarem presentes nesse álbum fantástico.
    Expand
  20. Oct 11, 2015
    10
    Toxic. Everytime. That's really all that needs to be said. Britney's 4th album contains two of the Pop World's Biggest Hits. And Toxic earned Britney a Grammy Award for Best Dance Recording. It is a timeless song, and one that absolutely everybody knows. Even now in 2015, 12 years after it was released, the song sounds completely fresh. Oh and that music video... damn! Now THAT! is theToxic. Everytime. That's really all that needs to be said. Britney's 4th album contains two of the Pop World's Biggest Hits. And Toxic earned Britney a Grammy Award for Best Dance Recording. It is a timeless song, and one that absolutely everybody knows. Even now in 2015, 12 years after it was released, the song sounds completely fresh. Oh and that music video... damn! Now THAT! is the best music video of all time! Then there's Everytime. The big song Britney wrote. And my personal favourite Britney song. So beautifully sung and written. On this record Britney made some big changes musically and they paid off. Songs about sex especially, were a theme (Breathe On Me, Touch Of My Hand). She teamed up with Madonna in the amazing Me Against The Music, and she brought it with the Ying Yang Twins in (I Got That) Boom Boom). Favourite songs: Everytime, Toxic, Shadow, Breathe On Me and Me Against The Music. Way to go Britney! Expand
  21. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    The singles from that album was perfect, shows a more adult and decided Britney . The tour of In The Zone (The Onyx Hotel ) ... Toxic is the best song and best video
  22. Jun 15, 2015
    1
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento mere
  23. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  24. Apr 24, 2015
    7
    In my opinion, this is Britney's first good album. Most of the songs don't hold up very well on their own, but it works really well as an album. In The Zone is musically diverse, but it also has a nice flow to it for the most part, and it's actually pretty upbeat and fun to listen to. There are only a few not-so-good songs in here, which is certainly a step up from her last three stinkers.
  25. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    In The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que fogeIn The Zone é o álbum mais ousado de Britney. Considerado o melhor álbum de Britney para muitos fãs, só perde para o Blackout. In The Zone é um álbum muito interessante, com muitos instrumentos que eram usados na Idade Média. As letras são muito ousadas e sexuais, menos nas faixas "Brave New Girl" a faixa mais dispensável do álbum, e "Everytime" uma balada muito bonita, mas que foge totalmente do conceito do álbum. É um ótimo álbum, e nenhuma música é chata, todas tem seu brilho. Expand
  26. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Channeling Madonna's Erotica, In The Zone is sexy, sleek, and unapologetic. Its sound is a complete departure from 2001's Britney. Although to some it might come across as an overly sexualized attempt to shred her girl next door image, the album is actually her most personal to date, with almost every song being written or co-written by the pop princess herself. Its ground breakingChanneling Madonna's Erotica, In The Zone is sexy, sleek, and unapologetic. Its sound is a complete departure from 2001's Britney. Although to some it might come across as an overly sexualized attempt to shred her girl next door image, the album is actually her most personal to date, with almost every song being written or co-written by the pop princess herself. Its ground breaking production help differentiate it from that of other albums of the time. In conclusion In The Zone is the perfect pop album. Expand
  27. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Uma palavra para definir esse álbum> samba, Britney misturou vários estilos: Pop, Urban, Dance e muitos outros fazendo com que ele seja um dos melhores de sua carreira. Todas as músicas tem potencial para single, e o que dizer de Toxic? Música perfeita um grande sucesso realmente, todos os singles que o álbum teve foram ótimos. Todas as músicas são, impossível não gostar.
  28. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    her best album so far, this is an amazing pop album with elements of Hip Hop and R&B. toxic is definitely the song of the decade, 'me against the music' with MADONNA is such a great song and everytime is one of the most beautiful ballads i've ever heard. 'the hook up' makes u wanna dance like never before, it's magical!!!
  29. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    Disgusting!! Crude awful and gross. Britney and One More, were flirty and fun, this is just dead and off-putting
    Not even any really nice melodies. Like some idiots playing with a computer program with a bunch cheap effects.
    The best song is hold it against me, were a fine chorus barely survives an onslaught of special effects.
    Dead, gross, dumb.
  30. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Easily one of Britney Spears' best albums. (JK It is her best!) With the taste of your lips I'm on a ride, you're toxic I'm slippin' under...THE LEGENDARY MISS BRITNEY SPEARS
  31. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A Major Comeback From Britney! Another Amazing Album! Toxic, Shadow, And Everytime Are Timeless!
  32. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    One of Britney's most amazing albums. the tracks are amazing with great vocals, beats, and lyrics. standouts include Me Against The Music, I Got That (Boom Boom), Breathe On Me, Toxic,and Outrageous. There could have been at least another ballad.... but hey? It's mostly dance so it's all good!
  33. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I love this album and the fact that Britney actually put some effort into it. In the Zone is, in my opinion, her magnum opus, although most people prefer Blackout over it. My favourite tracks are Toxic and Touch of My Hand!
  34. Jul 14, 2012
    7
    Strong and forceful personality, dance music, music with personality, good compositions, one of the best in Britney. Highlight for "Toxic," "Everytime," "Brave New Girl" and "Outrageous".
  35. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    A great effort by Britney. As a huge fan of hers it was great to see how involved she was with the making of this cd. Standout tracks are: Toxic, Early Morning, Everytime and Breathe on Me.
  36. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    In contention for Britney's worst album, thisi album contains nothing even remotely memorable; between the incredibly weak choruses and bland vocals of "Me Against the Music" and "Toxic" to the incredibly unnecessary and obnoxious guest vocals of the Ying Yang Twins on "Breathe On Me" and "I Got that (Boom Boom), only one song emerges even remotely victorious: the Britney co-penned ballad,In contention for Britney's worst album, thisi album contains nothing even remotely memorable; between the incredibly weak choruses and bland vocals of "Me Against the Music" and "Toxic" to the incredibly unnecessary and obnoxious guest vocals of the Ying Yang Twins on "Breathe On Me" and "I Got that (Boom Boom), only one song emerges even remotely victorious: the Britney co-penned ballad, "Everytime". Aside from that, this album is an utter waste and is rivaled only by Britney's previous, self-titled effort in terms of sheer terribility. Expand
  37. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  38. May 29, 2012
    7
    A Pretty Good Album!
    Only About 6 Songs Stick Out But That's Fine!
    The Whole Album Is Very Pop.... Madonna Was Not Needed To Make A Good Song...
  39. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is her best album, Breathe On Me is the best song in her career. Expand
  40. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    Her debute album was better.
  41. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    This Is Such A Massive Step From Her Last Album Britney! The Best Songs Are: Me Against the Music (Even Though I Hate Madonna!) (I Got That) Boom Boom Toxic And Outrageous! The Other Songs Are Fine, Just Not As Good As Those Tracks!
  42. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    It's not Britney's most innovative album, however, what makes In the Zone an appreciated effort is Britney's contribution ("Everytime" is a heartfelt ballad that flatters Britney's fragile and soft, but soothing vocals) and the album's solid production.
  43. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    She turned sexy for this. In a good way. She wrote 8 of the 12 standard edition tracks, like "Brave New Girl" - in my opinion the best track on it. The only bad thing about "In the Zone" is the vocals that sometimes get lazy, like in "Breathe on Me" and "Early Mornin'". Should've been more powerful IMHO.
  44. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    Much like Britneys other records this one definalty offers something more than boring, it offers good music that shouldn't be taken to seriously. After you've played the album you do feel somewhat let down, not because it's bad but because out the full track listing you want just a few more tracks that may surprise and delight you, but unfortunatly after the almost flawless tracks are overMuch like Britneys other records this one definalty offers something more than boring, it offers good music that shouldn't be taken to seriously. After you've played the album you do feel somewhat let down, not because it's bad but because out the full track listing you want just a few more tracks that may surprise and delight you, but unfortunatly after the almost flawless tracks are over your left with the pinnacles of filler tracks, they may not be bad filler tracks, but they are what they are. Expand
  45. Jun 22, 2011
    6
    POSITIVE - A very well produced album for the most part, this album offers mature yet young sounds throughout. I feel this album certainly wasn't a let down for fans, it is a nice, happy yet sexy album that doesn't get boring, but doesn't try to hard either.
    NEGATIVE - Toxic, Me Against The Music (Feat Madonna), Everytime and Outrageous by far the standout tracks, hence they were all
    POSITIVE - A very well produced album for the most part, this album offers mature yet young sounds throughout. I feel this album certainly wasn't a let down for fans, it is a nice, happy yet sexy album that doesn't get boring, but doesn't try to hard either.
    NEGATIVE - Toxic, Me Against The Music (Feat Madonna), Everytime and Outrageous by far the standout tracks, hence they were all released as singles, but these four singles really are the only tracks that could have been released. Althought the remaining tracks are good they are certainly not "Chart Material", non of them stand out a great deal, and those tracks that do stand out (Brave New Girl, Breathe on me and Showdown) didn't really fit in with the other singles that had been released, although good, i think they may have confused fans. It's quite difficult to explain, but listen to 'Toxic', then 'Brave New Girl' and i think you will see my point. Basically at times this album does lack, can sound a little dull maybe, dare i say, filler tracks are there. OVERALL - A good album, worth more than one listen, catchy, memorable, although not exactly Britney's best.
    Expand
  46. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later.
  47. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    In the Zone is Britney's sexual, exploring, and hypnotic album. It really pushed sexual image into another level. There is only one track that did not fit on the concept, its the Madonna-inspired Brave New Girl. This time, Spears sounds more natural, effortless and sexual without forcing herself. The success relies on her and the producers.
  48. Daved
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    Amazing produced album. It's Spears' best work to date. She definitely took sexy to an whole new level.
  49. J.M
    Mar 24, 2009
    8
    At the time this was her strongest album to date, still it could have done better.
  50. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    8
    Very good album. It proves that even Spears can write good lyrics and sing more serious stuff.
  51. CourtneyC.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    she is a very talented lady people just need to give her a chance!!!
  52. NormanG.
    Oct 26, 2007
    8
    The only passable Britney album... its the only good album she has released and the one that shows herself as who she is and shes not pretending anymore.
  53. RuanH
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    In The Zone is Britney's most musically creative and cosmopolitan album, and also her best - elements of pop, r&b, electronica and soft rock are stylishly blended into one brilliant mainstream record.
  54. SammyM
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Just Wow!
  55. CarryJ
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is probably my favorite album ever.
  56. JustinA
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Great album to come back with. Britney hits such high points all over this album starting with Toxic, Everytime, Shadow, (I Got That) Boom Boom, and Outrageous. Hits all over the place. MATM with Madonna was a nice lead track to get people talking Britney esp after her performance with Madonna and Christina during the VMAs then choosing Toxic to show she's truely back followed by Great album to come back with. Britney hits such high points all over this album starting with Toxic, Everytime, Shadow, (I Got That) Boom Boom, and Outrageous. Hits all over the place. MATM with Madonna was a nice lead track to get people talking Britney esp after her performance with Madonna and Christina during the VMAs then choosing Toxic to show she's truely back followed by Everytime bringing her back to the slow tracks she does so well. Outrageous her 4th single was destined to be her next hit with the possibility of hitting a Top 25 or even Top 10 status failed due to the cancelation of her tour and the video due to an injury keeping her from completing the task. If Britney would have been able to do something different with any of the songs left as a closer it would have been a nice lead out before releasing her Greatest Hits album during the start of the 4th Quarter. In The Zone is basically one of Britney's best albums with promising hopes of continued music experimenting and excellent producers and writings from others and Britney herself. Expand
  57. marial
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  58. ChrisE
    Oct 12, 2006
    7
    Britney Spears is the epitome of pop superstardom, in both the good and the bad senses. Her fourth studio record In the Zone is an eclectic mix of Hip Hop-tinged pop and influential dance tracks, as evident in songs "Showdown" and the Grammy-winning international No. 1 "Toxic" (by far the biggest standout single here). Spears delivers two ballads "Everytime" and "Shadow" that aren't Britney Spears is the epitome of pop superstardom, in both the good and the bad senses. Her fourth studio record In the Zone is an eclectic mix of Hip Hop-tinged pop and influential dance tracks, as evident in songs "Showdown" and the Grammy-winning international No. 1 "Toxic" (by far the biggest standout single here). Spears delivers two ballads "Everytime" and "Shadow" that aren't bad at all, and the latter is by far the better of the two and one of Britney's best performances. Despite the new sound the buxom blonde heads into, she can't escape having some disappointing tracks ("Early Mornin'" being the most horrible song here), so it's definitely not a perfect listen. But it's encouraging to see an overproduced singer tred into new musical territory despite the obvious flaws. Hopefully she'll continue down such a path in the future. Expand
  59. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    after sheds the "good girl" image she releases her best work to date no longer afraid to talk about her sexaulity she slams out some of the best power pop, and dance records since madonna she shows her in song writting growth with her growth as a woman a smash pop sensation that only britney can bring!
  60. eoghanc
    Sep 5, 2006
    8
    this is a gr8 album!! mi fav song 'i ot dat boom boom'!!
  61. martinl
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    definitely britney's best album. it's so electronica, kinda reminescent of madonna's ray of light at some parts. it's ethereal and sexy and with some strong beats
  62. joeaverage
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    great album
  63. DaniloL
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    this album is fantastic ! the best yet.
  64. MelaniT
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney is my homegirl!
  65. FrankM
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney is my favorite female artist. I think that says enough.
  66. Katherinewalt
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Woo hoo awesome. Words cannot describe this amazing album!
  67. jonj
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Amazing! Britney is "Simply Irresistable."
  68. caroll
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    My daughters love Britney. I also came to like her when I heard this album. It's funky, and she has spunk. She is one talented woman.
  69. justint
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Flawless album. Everytime is a beautiful well sung track and well written by Britney.
  70. MauriceT
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney really delievered with this fantastic pop/ballads/techno/trance/rnb/reggae album!
  71. JackKife
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Woo hoo Go Britney. She won her first grammy for Toxic. Just shows you that Britney is a true artist and likes to experiment with different sounds.
  72. MikeC
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Sweet album. Britney is the queen of pop.
  73. MandyK
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome
  74. mariak
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney is the best. Nuff said.
  75. KipJ
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    My favorite album. Until her next one that is. :)
  76. JasonL
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This is Britney's best album. She is an incredible artist. Britney is a true performer and she doesn't bash other female artists like she's better than them. Britney is talented, real, beautiful, and humble. She is also giving. This album is amazing.
  77. marial
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    amazing album
  78. decc
    Mar 7, 2006
    8
    Good stuff definetly a step up from the teenage pop and some of the stuff ws even more r&b but this album does not show up the vocal ability we all know she has!!
  79. JoeJ
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    with a sexually charged album ending with a vulnerable and soft ballad, Everytime, Spears might be more talented and sensible than we thought. This is the first thing to better things for her.
  80. brad
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    its probebley THE B-E-S-T pop album of our time
  81. SairoS
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Almost too good to be true!
  82. DelegateofHell
    Oct 4, 2005
    0
    She Sucks so badly and with such commetment that I give her -10. What the hell she thinks???? She is selling music or trying to get people notice that she is a girl too by exhibiting her body!!!!!!!!!!!
  83. MelissaO
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    she 's A rip-off aritst
  84. nicholass
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The Best Album of all time. With every album that she dose it just gets better and better, this album is aimed more at an older generation however it has songs that will make every person on the earth tap their feet to, Toxic britney 6 number one in the uk was by far the best song of 2004 and the video was noumber one in MTV Top 100 videos of 2004, Me Against the Music was britney's The Best Album of all time. With every album that she dose it just gets better and better, this album is aimed more at an older generation however it has songs that will make every person on the earth tap their feet to, Toxic britney 6 number one in the uk was by far the best song of 2004 and the video was noumber one in MTV Top 100 videos of 2004, Me Against the Music was britney's chance to sing along side the worlds other queen of pop Madonna, The song reached noumber 2 the uk single chart, i will just say noy that every song that britney has done since the Album Britney has reached 7 or more in the uk singles chart. Everytime was the most talk about video ever made by an artist this was because of the nature of the video , people saw britney in a bath going under with blood on her hands after a disagement with boyfriend, the song Also reached nomber 1 in the uk chart, So to end This A must have album for any pop dance fan a song for all can be found on this album *******************not enough stars to rate this album. Expand
  85. johannesburgley
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    i think it's her best album so far. totally different to her first few CD's, it's got Britney experimenting with different sounds, coming up with fab results such as 'touch of my hand' 'early morning' or 'showdown'. and of course there are the less fab tracks ('brave new girl' being an example) that aren't a complete failure, but i think it's her best album so far. totally different to her first few CD's, it's got Britney experimenting with different sounds, coming up with fab results such as 'touch of my hand' 'early morning' or 'showdown'. and of course there are the less fab tracks ('brave new girl' being an example) that aren't a complete failure, but are just not up to scratch with the rest of the album. her melancholy tune 'everytime' succeeds where the track 'shadow' fails, in producing a sad ballad that you actually listen to without yawning, but hey, not all experiments work. Expand
  86. MikeH
    Jun 18, 2005
    7
    The last official track of this album, 'Everytime' with it's music box melody and Spears' whispy delivery has to be one of the most beautiful ballads ever composed, which was surprisingly mostly written by Britney herself. This is (at least to my knowledge) a big first step for Britney, as she's been mocked for being anything but an actual artist by other The last official track of this album, 'Everytime' with it's music box melody and Spears' whispy delivery has to be one of the most beautiful ballads ever composed, which was surprisingly mostly written by Britney herself. This is (at least to my knowledge) a big first step for Britney, as she's been mocked for being anything but an actual artist by other musicians in the industry. 'In the Zone' is a declaration; she completely sheds her bubblegum pop image and sings of random sexual encounters, late night clubbing, and masturbation. Standouts on this album are the sexy 'Breathe On Me', 'Toxic', and the Madonna duet 'Me Against the Music'. This coming from someone who thought they would never consider having a Britney Spears album in their collection, it says something about the disc. Half the addiction is the amazing production work. Without it, 'In the Zone' would probably fail to impress half as much, as the lyrics are not inventive or thought provoking enough to merit a seond look. But whatever it's flaws, 'In The Zone' is really very good, and though she's not even close to being Bjork or Garbage (Think 'beautifulgarbage' here), Britney's closer to being considered an actual artist. Collapse
  87. RandyB
    Jun 15, 2005
    6
    When they started out, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera waged a war over who possessed the better voice. Now that that war is over, one can now (supposedly) judge Britney on her own. 'In The Zone' is meant to be a sexual stampede, a declaration of her full-fledged independence from her former princess image. The disc features an entourage of guests, most notably Madonna on When they started out, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera waged a war over who possessed the better voice. Now that that war is over, one can now (supposedly) judge Britney on her own. 'In The Zone' is meant to be a sexual stampede, a declaration of her full-fledged independence from her former princess image. The disc features an entourage of guests, most notably Madonna on 'Me Against the Music' and the Ying-Yang Twins on '(I've got that) Boom Boom', but like most guest appearances, they bring a little to the party, but not enough to make a difference. The most impressive thing here is the production, which undeniably saves the disc from a grim future. Britney's voice is the same as it ever was, nasly and suggestive, and her songwriting (she writes lyrics of her own?) on the beatuiful (yes, beautiful) track 'Everytime' is surprising. On most of the rest of the disc though, the lyrics are nothing special, come-ons and moaning. While Spears has definitely improved on the filler crap factor, she can't escape her old nemesis' shadow. Agilera's 'Stripped' of the year before may not feature production as hip-bouncingly good as 'Zone', but when Aguilera pens her own lyrics they are intelligent and fierce enough to be noticed; Britney's are....well, not. And did I mention that Aguilera won the war of the pipes by a landslide? It's enjoyable, but far from great. Expand
  88. ThomasM
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    I love this britney, definately britney's best, anyone who doesn't like it, has yet to hear it
  89. pikatos
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    I shall vote her for ten points as her music is fantabulous and the way she blends her music is worth listening guess what will be her next album that will rock the whole world.
  90. JudithC
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    Britney FINALLY delivers a groovy and sexy record that'd fun to listen and to dance on at parties. Excellent!
  91. RitaK
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Dyanamite! This is Britney's best cd yet, and she doesn't get the credit she deserves. The people who gave the cd a zero either have bad taste, or didn't even give it a chance. The cd is edgy, and makes you wanna hit the dance floor. It's definately one of my top favorite cd's of all time. Your missing out if you don't buy it.
  92. opeth(wreath)
    Jan 26, 2005
    0
    Its stupid why would you even listen to an arist that doesnt write her own songs, you must be retarded to like this.
  93. bryana
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    this is a great cd, even if youre not a britney fan. you cannot deny that its catchy.
  94. IzaG
    Sep 12, 2004
    10
    Great Cd!!!
  95. RickR
    Aug 12, 2004
    10
    its like she's in the zone...oops she did it again....another great album. P.S. this album isn't toxic
  96. vixi
    Aug 11, 2004
    2
    There are 2 good songs on this album and they are Toxic and Everytime. The rest are tired after one listen.
  97. adrianod
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    In the year of 2003 Britney returned to the music scene from her wild year of antics with the infamous MTV kiss with Madonna. In November 2003 Britney released her stunning Cd ?In The Zone?. Britney released her best album yet. She transformed herself from a sexy young teenager to a provocative young woman. In the Zone takes listeners though a journey of different styles of music. From In the year of 2003 Britney returned to the music scene from her wild year of antics with the infamous MTV kiss with Madonna. In November 2003 Britney released her stunning Cd ?In The Zone?. Britney released her best album yet. She transformed herself from a sexy young teenager to a provocative young woman. In the Zone takes listeners though a journey of different styles of music. From Hard hitting dance tracks, to dirty ghetto Hip Hop to viby trance tracks to beautiful peaceful ballads. This album shows Britney at her best. This album made critics label her ?The New Madonna?. Me Against The Music ? This is the lead single from the album. It is the infamous duet featuring Madonna. It is a hard hitting club dance track any is very different from what is on the radios these days. The track is just about being in a club and being oblivious to everyone and freestyling. I couldn?t think of a better way for a come back song. Britney could have released a typical R&B track for her return, but she wanted to be unique. She has definetly succeeded. This is my 2nd Favourite track on the album and one of my favourite songs of all time. 10/10 (I Got That) Boom Boom ? This track is an Up-tempo Hip Hop track perfect for the clubs. The track has also has an Indian vibe to it. This track features the Ying Yang Twins, which gives the track a dirty ghetto, feel to it. This song is my 3rd Favourite song on the album, and is one of the best Hip Hop songs I have ever heard. 10/10 Showdown ? The famous UK producers Bloodshy & Avant produced this track. It is a great sexy dance track which features Britney whispering ?I don?t wanna be a tease. Would you undo my zipper please? This track is done very well. Again very unique. 9/10 Breathe On Me ? This song is very club-savvy orientated and is one of the most sensual tracks on the album. The song has a HOT beat and is reminiscent to Kylie?s Can?t Get You Out Of My Head. This track describes the intensity of a relationship so hot that they don?t even need to touch, just breathe. This is my Favourite track on the album and one of my favourite songs of all time. I can automatically see this song go #1 in Europe if it is released. 10/10 Early Mornin ? The second this track commences you will automatically know that it is Moby produced. This track is very sexy and has a trance feel to it. The song is very vibey and is about the next morning after a big night out. 8.5/10 Toxic ? This is the second single from the album which is produced by Bloodshy & Avant. The song is HOT and fits Britney perfectly. The track is a hard hitting dance track which could easily be used as the theme song to Alias or the next bond movie.This is the track responsible for rising her album sales all around the world. Critics are describing it the best song Britney has released since I?m A Slave For You. I love this track so much because of its uniqueness. 10/10 Outrageous ? This is a typical R&B penned track. The second the song commences you will automatically realise it is R Kelly produced. This song is again perfect for the clubs and has an Indian vibe to it. The chorus is very catchy. 10/10 Touch Of My Hard ?This is the most sensual song on the album. This song is a beautiful dance ballad reminiscent to Madonna?s The Power Of Goodbye & Janet?s That?s The Way Love Goes. This song is an ode to masturbation. The song is Britney?s most mature song to date and has a sexy vibe to it. This is definitely a stand out track on the album. 10/10. The Hook-Up ? Redzone, the famous team behind the Britney/Madonna duet, produced this track. This song has an R&B reggae feel to it and is fairly uptempo. This Is what we call a filler track and one of the less memorable on the album. 5/10 Shadow ? This track is a beautiful ballad produced by The Matrix. This is very reminiscent to Avril?s I?m With You. This track shows Britney?s vocals at its best. I personally think this is her best ballad since Don?t Let Me Be The Last To Know. 10/10 Brave New Girl ? This song brings back the days Britney was innocent. In every album she has to bring out the stupidness in her. She has done exactly that in this track. This track is very pop driven and could be used as the theme song to Legally Blonde. I personally think it is The worst song on the album and one of the worst songs I have ever heard. 1/10 The only reason I give it a 1 is because it is Britney. Every Time ? This song is very peaceful and pleasant. It tells the story of heartbreak. The track features a beautiful harmony and goes well with the mood of the sound. She sings in lower key although it fits the song perfectly. Again another brilliant ballad from Britney. 10/10 Me Against The Music (Remix) ? This is remix to the First Single. The song was remixed by Peter Rishi and an Indian vibe has been added to it. The song is still very clubby and is probably one of the best remixes I have ever heard. 10/10 The Answer ? This is the Australian bonus track and is produced by P Diddy. The song has an R&B mid tempo flow to it. I really liked this song, but I was disappointed at the same time. When I heard the idea of Britney & P Diddy working together I was expecting an up tempo R&B track, although it was completely the opposite. 9/10 Don?t Hang Up ? This is another Australian bonus track. The song is mid tempo and again has an R&B pop flow to it.This song is about Phone Sex. This song was produced by the same team behind Brave New Girl. I personally don?t like this song and think she should never work with Brian & Josh again. 3/10. ALL IN ALL I LOVE THIS CD AND I DON?T THINK IT COULD HAVE GOTTEN ANY BETTER. THIS ALBUM IS VERY UNQIUE AND IS BRITNEY?S BEST ALBUM SO FAR. OVERALL I GIVE IT A 10/10 Expand
  98. RobertM
    Jul 30, 2004
    9
    Many potential singles, "Breathe On Me", and "Touch of My Hand" are gr8!
  99. jAYmELO
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    iT'S AWESOME
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.
  2. Spin
    67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  3. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.