In The Zone

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
In The Zone Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 491 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Pepsi spokesperson's fourth LP includes guest vocals from Madonna (on lead single "Me Against The Music") and production work from Moby, R. Kelly, the Matrix, and Guy Sigsworth (but no Max Martin).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. She finally delivers an album that's more fun than filler.
  2. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.
  3. Vibe
    70
    A supremely confident dance record that also illustrates Spears's development as a songwriter. [Jan 2004, p.126]
  4. Despite inventive touches like zigzagging strings and humping-android hooks, too many tracks... are little more than wobbly, rhythm-based contraptions intended to advance Spears' sex-princess-on-the-loose image.
  5. Spin
    67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  6. The harder Spears tries to be Madonna or Janet Jackson, the less convincing she is.
  7. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 171
  1. mariak
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Britney is the best. Nuff said.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Best album of the decade
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later. Collapse
  4. Oct 13, 2015
    9
    In The Zone-9
    Me Against The Music (7/10)
    (I Got That) Boom Boom (5/10) Showdown (10/10) Breathe On Me (9/10) Early Mornin (7/10) Toxic
    In The Zone-9
    Me Against The Music (7/10)
    (I Got That) Boom Boom (5/10)
    Showdown (10/10)
    Breathe On Me (9/10)
    Early Mornin (7/10)
    Toxic (9/10)
    Outrageous (9/10)
    Touch Of My Hand (10/10)
    The Hook Up (8/10)
    Shadow (10/10)
    Brave New Girl (8/10)
    Everytime (10/10)
    É um album maravilhoso, possuí uma variedade de sons maravilhosos e letras como Everytime que são dignas de estarem presentes nesse álbum fantástico.
    Expand
  5. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    after sheds the "good girl" image she releases her best work to date no longer afraid to talk about her sexaulity she slams out some of the after sheds the "good girl" image she releases her best work to date no longer afraid to talk about her sexaulity she slams out some of the best power pop, and dance records since madonna she shows her in song writting growth with her growth as a woman a smash pop sensation that only britney can bring! Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    Her debute album was better.
  7. JohnnyB
    Nov 17, 2003
    0
    Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's filthy rich, take some vocal lessons or learn to play an instrument. Please do something cause this same shit is getting old. Expand

See all 171 User Reviews