In The Zone

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
In The Zone Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 539 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Pepsi spokesperson's fourth LP includes guest vocals from Madonna (on lead single "Me Against The Music") and production work from Moby, R. Kelly, the Matrix, and Guy Sigsworth (but no Max Martin).

Top Track

Toxic
Baby, can't you see I'm calling A guy like you should wear a warning It's dangerous I'm falling There's no escape I can't wait I need a hit Baby,... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. She finally delivers an album that's more fun than filler.
  2. Unlike previous Britney albums, In the Zone has no filler and no shoddy cover versions, just 57 varieties of blue-chip hit-factory pop.
  3. Vibe
    70
    A supremely confident dance record that also illustrates Spears's development as a songwriter. [Jan 2004, p.126]
  4. Despite inventive touches like zigzagging strings and humping-android hooks, too many tracks... are little more than wobbly, rhythm-based contraptions intended to advance Spears' sex-princess-on-the-loose image.
  5. Spin
    67
    A hectic sonic pileup. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  6. The harder Spears tries to be Madonna or Janet Jackson, the less convincing she is.
  7. Quite the most lifeless and unloved record to be released by an artist of Spears' global stature.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 176
  1. MikeC
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    Sweet album. Britney is the queen of pop.
  2. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    Uma palavra para definir esse álbum> samba, Britney misturou vários estilos: Pop, Urban, Dance e muitos outros fazendo com que ele seja um dosUma palavra para definir esse álbum> samba, Britney misturou vários estilos: Pop, Urban, Dance e muitos outros fazendo com que ele seja um dos melhores de sua carreira. Todas as músicas tem potencial para single, e o que dizer de Toxic? Música perfeita um grande sucesso realmente, todos os singles que o álbum teve foram ótimos. Todas as músicas são, impossível não gostar. Expand
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8Sexy, soothing and inspired. The first album Britney delivered that was a great pop album. It sounded current and modern.. It still does - 8 years later. Expand
  4. anniee
    Nov 18, 2003
    9
    This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's This is the album that 'Britney" should have been. This is a leap for Britney, and it's a leap in the right direction. It's hard to label this album as one particular type of music, but it's impulsiveness is sure to lease an enormaous fan base. Some of the more techno beats you've been hearing about belong to Breathe on Me and Touch of My hand. Showdown is by far one of the best songs Britney could possibly have mastered, mixing her usual sulty-whispering voice, with an incredible hook and melody, not to mention the power in her vocals. Which leads me to mention the catchiest track, Toxic. For ONCE, Britney takes a powerful stance on er position as the force behind the album. I hear she won't release it as a single, which is the wrong choice. It's a powerful song. Te less intresting songs, I'm sorry to say, are the ballads, Everytime and Shadow. While Everytime is linked to that ex of hers, most of us would like to move past that, and the song isn't all that intresting, though a bit haunting, which is something new. Shadow has a certain Kelly Clarkson feel, which isn't usual Britney either. Brave New Girl is very New-Pop with a nice rythem. Two more let downs are Outrageous and The hook Up. They're just, well, boring. Expand
  5. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    after sheds the "good girl" image she releases her best work to date no longer afraid to talk about her sexaulity she slams out some of the after sheds the "good girl" image she releases her best work to date no longer afraid to talk about her sexaulity she slams out some of the best power pop, and dance records since madonna she shows her in song writting growth with her growth as a woman a smash pop sensation that only britney can bring! Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2012
    4
    Her debute album was better.
  7. JohnnyB
    Nov 17, 2003
    0
    Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's Oh my goodness, this album is pure crap. It's as if Ms. Spears keeps getting worse and worse. She needs to step it up I mean she's filthy rich, take some vocal lessons or learn to play an instrument. Please do something cause this same shit is getting old. Expand

See all 176 User Reviews