In This Light & On This Evening Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the British rock band was produced by Flood.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. 80
    Guitar band goes synth' isn't going to stop any presses, but this new phase perfectly suits Editors well. [Nov 2009, p. 84]
  2. While Smith & Co. may overuse a keyboard riff or two on In This Light, we shouldn't really let that sully this dark, majestic detour.
  3. While it seems they will probably never equal the majesty of their debut, Editors have dug themselves out of their artistic cul de sac at least long enough to plan their next move.
  4. As an album, it is an imposing structure, a statement to their architectural skill. Beneath their grand design, however, Editors exists in a grey area, mistaking the half-light for night. They're not quite masters of darkness yet. [Nov 2009, p.105]
  5. The highlights are few and far between: Editors may have thought they were progressing by getting synthesized, but it’s ultimately a case of one step forward and two steps back.
  6. In This Light and on This Evening dials it down so far that it doesn’t contain one track that comes close to the power of songs they seemed to toss off so effortlessly before.
  7. Not even superproducer Flood (U2, Depeche Mode) can save the postpunk singer from misery. Or from overacting.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 31, 2011
    9
    In "An End has a start" e soprattutto in "The Back Room" è la chitarra lo strumento più in risalto, mentre in questo album viene relegata in un ruolo marginale, sovrastata da synth danzerecci e/o cupi. Il risultato è un album molto diverso rispetto ai 2 precedenti, in cui il genere dominante è un synth/rock in pieno stile Depeche. Le mie preferite del disco sono "You Don't Know Love" e "Eat Raw Meat = Blood Drool" Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I love this album. The synths add to their dark sound and I think that this is a good balance of guitars and keyboards. The first time I listened this record, I was a bit disappointed, it's completely different from The Back Room and An End Has A Start, but time after time I discovered that this album is really great. Collapse
  3. Sep 27, 2010
    8
    Cambiaron varias cosas, como las guitarras por sintetizadores, Tom Smith siguió cantando con sentimiento y comprobaron que no necesitan ser una copia de Interpol (como muchos los llamaban) para hacer buenas canciones, aunque pueden mejorar aun... Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    Definitely a change in direction for the band on this record and this has to be admired even if it doesn't go all their own way. Overall, it's got good solid tracks on it without too many stand outs. The song writing by the band is very good and the production is done very well. It feels like it was recorded in a factory and reminds me of the Terminator soundtrack in parts. The problem with this record is it's probably turned a lot of people off them and it will remain to be seen if anyone will still be listening when they resurface. Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    6
    This album is the third from rock band Editors, and for me, despite being decent, is my least favourite. "Papillon" is a fantastic and catchy anthem, which is possibly the best song ever produced by this four piece. However, there isn't enough on this album to support it, which is why to me, you would only buy the single as opposed to the album. Overall though, not too shabby. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    4
    While I do admire Editors for experimenting and trying something different, this is probably a too drastic change for my liking. There are a few good songs like "papillon" and "like treasure" but overall the change of directions has not paid dividends. Expand

See all 7 User Reviews