In Utero [20th Anniversary Edition]

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2013
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 137
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, the Nirvana's best album
    bizarre, its rawest production as well as her first album
    I bought the deluxe edition, wonderful stuff
    no words
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    In Utero is Nirvana's best album (better than Nevermind), one of the best albums of the 90's and also one of my favourites albums of all time. A great alternative rock record, with songs such as "Dumb", "Rape Me", "Pennyroyal Tea" and fan's favourite "Heart-Shaped Box" and "All Apologies" that have become alternative rock classics.
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    What can one say about In Utero. It is arguably better than Nevermind, spreading light on Nirvana's gritty, grungy, and violent sound rather than Nevermind. I'm going to stop comparing it to Nevermind and just say that I have listened to it all the way through and it is an undisputed masterpiece at heart. But I must point out, this album isn't for everyone. If you've heard most of theWhat can one say about In Utero. It is arguably better than Nevermind, spreading light on Nirvana's gritty, grungy, and violent sound rather than Nevermind. I'm going to stop comparing it to Nevermind and just say that I have listened to it all the way through and it is an undisputed masterpiece at heart. But I must point out, this album isn't for everyone. If you've heard most of the songs off of this album (other than Heart-shaped box and All apologies) you'll know that there are a lot of questionable songs on here. They will grow on you but this is definitely a genre defining album. It is perfectly imperfect because of how dirty it sounds. Kurt, Krist and Dave literally did one takes on the first couple of songs and it stuck. It was great to hear that since it is what should be showcased by the band. Amazing album. Great band. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2017
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time for me. It's dark, it's angry, it's loud and raw but it's got so much power behind it's unbelievable. Like a crude nuclear bomb. I'm a big fan of Nevermind, I think it's as close to perfect as you'll get for a rock record but "In Utero" is like a record from a completely different band. Following up a mainstream rock phenomenon like Nevermind withOne of the greatest albums of all time for me. It's dark, it's angry, it's loud and raw but it's got so much power behind it's unbelievable. Like a crude nuclear bomb. I'm a big fan of Nevermind, I think it's as close to perfect as you'll get for a rock record but "In Utero" is like a record from a completely different band. Following up a mainstream rock phenomenon like Nevermind with this album is one of the ballsiest moves in rock history and even with hindsight, I still don't think Nirvana get the credit they deserve for doing it. You can feel Cobains emotion throughout the record and Albini's production absolutely makes this - the sound he captured from the drums and the bass are incredible. There are 2 tracks that push the listener a bit uncomfortably close to the edge - Scentless Apprentice and Tourettes - both great tracks but on the heavy side. The rest of the album is surprisingly catchy underneath the abrasive exterior and deliver a shivers down the spine effect. People go on about Kurt Cobain and whether is death at 27 is what essentially gives him his rock legend status and whether he had the musical chops for an enduring career. This album cemented his legendary status for me regardless of what happened in his life after. Turn your stereo up full and listen to "Milk It" to see what I mean. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    This re-release is some of teh best releases this year maybe a sign of how bad music has become or how fantastic this guys were. In Utero doesnt have the commercial appeal of Nevermind and thats a good thing. The album feels fresh and original even today.
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Not many grunge artists can claim there is beauty in their music, but Nirvana doesn't settle for being a dynamic, powerful, and fluent rock group. The songs are much more raw from a production standpoint, they don't sound as polished as they did in Nevermind. In Utero doesn't sound restricted, it sounds like a Nirvana that does whatever the f*ck it wants, but somehow sounds pretty.[9.1] Not many grunge artists can claim there is beauty in their music, but Nirvana doesn't settle for being a dynamic, powerful, and fluent rock group. The songs are much more raw from a production standpoint, they don't sound as polished as they did in Nevermind. In Utero doesn't sound restricted, it sounds like a Nirvana that does whatever the f*ck it wants, but somehow sounds pretty. This is the true Nirvana, the Nirvana that could have been for another twenty years. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    In Utero has always been my favorite Nirvana album. The main album is great, so I'm not even going to talk about that. What I am going to mention are the remixes and the additional content. The remixes themselves aren't bad. I would never listen to them over the original recordings, but they don't destroy the tracks. The Live and Loud DVD, if you bought it, is great, definitely one ofIn Utero has always been my favorite Nirvana album. The main album is great, so I'm not even going to talk about that. What I am going to mention are the remixes and the additional content. The remixes themselves aren't bad. I would never listen to them over the original recordings, but they don't destroy the tracks. The Live and Loud DVD, if you bought it, is great, definitely one of their best performances. Meanwhile, the bonus tracks are pretty good overall, especially the instrumental "Forgotten Tune" and early demos of song's like "Scentless Apprentice". Of course, if you don't like Nirvana, or didn't like In Utero, this won't change your mind. But if you love it like me, this reissue is definitely worth it. Expand
  8. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    En definitiva el mejor album de la banda, letras maduros y una partida definitiva y al tiempo experimental de los viejos ritmos de la banda y un sonido natural, lleno de emociones marcan este album, uno de los mejores del rock de los 90.
  9. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    In Utero is Nirvana's best album, however it never performed as well commercially as Nevermind and I think this kept the album form reaching the recognition it deserved.

    You only need to listen to masterpieces like "Heart Shaped Box" "Ape" and "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle" to understand why this Album is a thing of beauty.

    9/10
  10. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    'In Utero' is a more difficult album than 'Nevermind', but it's just as essential. It's sound and songwriting style is a homage to the great underground bands of the 80's that the members of Nirvana loved so much, and it undoubtedly served to introduce mainstream Nirvana fans to all those bands. Very few bands can create an album that balances accessibility with an artistic vision and'In Utero' is a more difficult album than 'Nevermind', but it's just as essential. It's sound and songwriting style is a homage to the great underground bands of the 80's that the members of Nirvana loved so much, and it undoubtedly served to introduce mainstream Nirvana fans to all those bands. Very few bands can create an album that balances accessibility with an artistic vision and sense of purpose this well. 'In Utero' was the album that cemented Nirvana's reputation as one of the best rock bands of all time. Expand
  11. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    is the second best nirvana album later of Bleach, the debut album, is great i don't want to say more of this album just have to enjoy of this album is all you need
  12. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    In Utero is a very haunting record even 20 years after it's original release. Kurt Cobain continues to show us on this album that he truly was a gifted songwriter.
  13. Apr 18, 2014
    8
    From "Serve the Servants" to "Endless, Nameless (Live)" this album has classic written all over it. The book has high quality pictures, the poster looks great and it even comes with a fridge magnet, and you don't see that in many albums. I like all the tacks in the original album and most of the b-sides in the first disc. The second disc with the 2013 mixes is probably my least favouriteFrom "Serve the Servants" to "Endless, Nameless (Live)" this album has classic written all over it. The book has high quality pictures, the poster looks great and it even comes with a fridge magnet, and you don't see that in many albums. I like all the tacks in the original album and most of the b-sides in the first disc. The second disc with the 2013 mixes is probably my least favourite disc but it's still good, I just can't tell between the 2013 mixes and the original album. Live and Loud is a great show, good set and good quality (but they missed "Smells Like Teen Spirit"). Expand
  14. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    After Nirvanas second studio album nevermind, the pressure was on them to release as album just as great as it. what i love about nirvana is they don't care what people think, with there originality they where able to put together a classic!. In utero is a gritty grunge album and is very different from nevermind. the production is gritty and is a stand out, the lyrics are structured wellAfter Nirvanas second studio album nevermind, the pressure was on them to release as album just as great as it. what i love about nirvana is they don't care what people think, with there originality they where able to put together a classic!. In utero is a gritty grunge album and is very different from nevermind. the production is gritty and is a stand out, the lyrics are structured well with dark and flow well together with kurt screaming his head off able to unleash his inner rage against humanity and personal demands, each track on this album has a personality to it, grunge and as beautiful as it comes... Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    It managed to be a departure from Nirvana previous album. And it also managed to be even better. Every song here it's a pleasure to listen, thanks to the production and Kurt Cobain's songwriting skills.
  16. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    This is the best nirvana album, it really captures the essence of the band.
    not only my favourite nirvana album but also one of the best ones that I've ever listened to
  17. Oct 29, 2015
    10
    Nirvana is one of those bands that, even if they tried, they simply can not make a bad song. "All Apologies", "Heart Shaped Box" and "Dumb" are the highlights of this album, with "All Apologies" being my personal favorite Nirvana song.
  18. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    This album is amazing. It is the way it was initially intended to sound. Raw, intense, redefinition of what in nirvana was meant to be. A loud , abrasive look into the mind of an misanthropic native of America, who was let down by his parents and the ideals leave it beaver lost long ago. Listening to this album is similar to the feeling of the innocence we lose as an aimless child strayingThis album is amazing. It is the way it was initially intended to sound. Raw, intense, redefinition of what in nirvana was meant to be. A loud , abrasive look into the mind of an misanthropic native of America, who was let down by his parents and the ideals leave it beaver lost long ago. Listening to this album is similar to the feeling of the innocence we lose as an aimless child straying into a dismal adulthood. Steve Albini couldn't have done a better job. Perfectly chaotic, fully realized in utero in bloom. Kurt would be proud. Expand
  19. Jan 10, 2016
    7
    In Utero é um bom álbum, que marcou a "queda" do Kurt e está recheado de músicas boas. Junto com as músicas ótimas, estão contidas músicas ruins no material. Não é o melhor álbum do Nirvana, mas é bom da sua forma.

    Pontos Altos: All Apologies, Heart Shaped Box, Rape Me
    Pontos Baixos: Tourette's, Milk It, Scentless Apprentice
  20. Mar 13, 2016
    10
    If you see someone wearing a Nirvana shirt, ask them if they have listened to In Utero. The album makes Nevermind seem like child's work in comparison, with genuine, emotional, beautiful and most importantly unforgiving pieces of art the whole way through. Anyone who calls themself an alternative or grunge fan must know this authentic, ballsy album. In Utero is true grunge. No album willIf you see someone wearing a Nirvana shirt, ask them if they have listened to In Utero. The album makes Nevermind seem like child's work in comparison, with genuine, emotional, beautiful and most importantly unforgiving pieces of art the whole way through. Anyone who calls themself an alternative or grunge fan must know this authentic, ballsy album. In Utero is true grunge. No album will ever be as monumental as well as overlooked by pop culture, which makes it that much better. Expand
  21. Aug 25, 2016
    8
    The album has a vibe, something "Nevermind" kind of lacks. A gift to those fans aware of Nirvana's roots but also a reminder of Cobain's potential as a universal songwriter,
  22. Dec 20, 2016
    10
    In Utero goes deep inside your soul and controls your emotions. This album is a masterpiece.
    Nevermind lacked such emotion, and vibe that gets to your soul.
  23. Feb 11, 2017
    10
    More Raw than Nevermind, this album is just amazing. I love the feedback, the amazing solo's, the intensity of this album. Nothing can be said about Nirvana that hasn't already been said.

    Favorite Tracks: All of them
  24. Apr 17, 2017
    10
    Nirvana - In Utero (1993)

    10 / 10

    With wild energy and songwriting from Kurt Cobain, and the overall effort of the band, In Utero is a true masterpiece, amazingly put together.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Q Magazine
    Feb 4, 2014
    100
    The sound more fully formed than ever. [Oct 2013, p.114]
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Oct 25, 2013
    80
    The highlight is a live DVD, Live And Loud.... When we get down to the demos--which are largely free of vocals--the sound of a barrel being scraped starts to overpower the music. [Nov 2013, p.101]
  3. Magnet
    Oct 22, 2013
    100
    The album proper already excellently spoke for itself 20 years ago. [No. 103, p.51]