User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 78
  2. Negative: 7 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, the Nirvana's best album
    bizarre, its rawest production as well as her first album
    I bought the deluxe edition, wonderful stuff
    no words
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    In Utero is Nirvana's best album (better than Nevermind), one of the best albums of the 90's and also one of my favourites albums of all time. A great alternative rock record, with songs such as "Dumb", "Rape Me", "Pennyroyal Tea" and fan's favourite "Heart-Shaped Box" and "All Apologies" that have become alternative rock classics.
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    What can one say about In Utero. It is arguably better than Nevermind, spreading light on Nirvana's gritty, grungy, and violent sound rather than Nevermind. I'm going to stop comparing it to Nevermind and just say that I have listened to it all the way through and it is an undisputed masterpiece at heart. But I must point out, this album isn't for everyone. If you've heard most of the songs off of this album (other than Heart-shaped box and All apologies) you'll know that there are a lot of questionable songs on here. They will grow on you but this is definitely a genre defining album. It is perfectly imperfect because of how dirty it sounds. Kurt, Krist and Dave literally did one takes on the first couple of songs and it stuck. It was great to hear that since it is what should be showcased by the band. Amazing album. Great band. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time for me. Man is it dark, angry, loud and raw but it's got so much power behind it's unbelievable. I'm a big fan of Nevermind but this is like a record from a completely different band. Following up a mainstream rock phenomenon like Nevermind with this is one of the ballsiest moves in rock history. You can feel Cobain's emotion throughout the record and Albini's production absolutely makes this. There are 2 tracks that I don't absolutely love every time I hear them- Scentless Apprentice and Tourettes, and I still love these tracks depending on which mood I'm in. Every other track never fails to send shivers down my spine. People go on about Kurt Cobain and would he be such a legend in rock if he was still around today. This album cemented his legendary status for me regardless of what happened in his life after. Turn your stereo up full and listen to "Milk It" to see what I mean. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    This re-release is some of teh best releases this year maybe a sign of how bad music has become or how fantastic this guys were. In Utero doesnt have the commercial appeal of Nevermind and thats a good thing. The album feels fresh and original even today.
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Not many grunge artists can claim there is beauty in their music, but Nirvana doesn't settle for being a dynamic, powerful, and fluent rock group. The songs are much more raw from a production standpoint, they don't sound as polished as they did in Nevermind. In Utero doesn't sound restricted, it sounds like a Nirvana that does whatever the f*ck it wants, but somehow sounds pretty. This is the true Nirvana, the Nirvana that could have been for another twenty years. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    In Utero has always been my favorite Nirvana album. The main album is great, so I'm not even going to talk about that. What I am going to mention are the remixes and the additional content. The remixes themselves aren't bad. I would never listen to them over the original recordings, but they don't destroy the tracks. The Live and Loud DVD, if you bought it, is great, definitely one of their best performances. Meanwhile, the bonus tracks are pretty good overall, especially the instrumental "Forgotten Tune" and early demos of song's like "Scentless Apprentice". Of course, if you don't like Nirvana, or didn't like In Utero, this won't change your mind. But if you love it like me, this reissue is definitely worth it. Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    In Utero is Nirvana's best album, however it never performed as well commercially as Nevermind and I think this kept the album form reaching the recognition it deserved.

    You only need to listen to masterpieces like "Heart Shaped Box" "Ape" and "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle" to understand why this Album is a thing of beauty.

    9/10
  9. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    'In Utero' is a more difficult album than 'Nevermind', but it's just as essential. It's sound and songwriting style is a homage to the great underground bands of the 80's that the members of Nirvana loved so much, and it undoubtedly served to introduce mainstream Nirvana fans to all those bands. Very few bands can create an album that balances accessibility with an artistic vision and sense of purpose this well. 'In Utero' was the album that cemented Nirvana's reputation as one of the best rock bands of all time. Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    is the second best nirvana album later of Bleach, the debut album, is great i don't want to say more of this album just have to enjoy of this album is all you need
  11. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    In Utero is a very haunting record even 20 years after it's original release. Kurt Cobain continues to show us on this album that he truly was a gifted songwriter.
  12. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    After Nirvanas second studio album nevermind, the pressure was on them to release as album just as great as it. what i love about nirvana is they don't care what people think, with there originality they where able to put together a classic!. In utero is a gritty grunge album and is very different from nevermind. the production is gritty and is a stand out, the lyrics are structured well with dark and flow well together with kurt screaming his head off able to unleash his inner rage against humanity and personal demands, each track on this album has a personality to it, grunge and as beautiful as it comes... Expand
  13. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    It managed to be a departure from Nirvana previous album. And it also managed to be even better. Every song here it's a pleasure to listen, thanks to the production and Kurt Cobain's songwriting skills.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    100
    The sound more fully formed than ever. [Oct 2013, p.114]
  2. 80
    The highlight is a live DVD, Live And Loud.... When we get down to the demos--which are largely free of vocals--the sound of a barrel being scraped starts to overpower the music. [Nov 2013, p.101]
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    100
    The album proper already excellently spoke for itself 20 years ago. [No. 103, p.51]