In Utero [20th Anniversary Edition]

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
In Utero [20th Anniversary Edition] Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Steve Albini-remastered release of Nirvana's 1993 release includes discs of b-sides, remixes, demos, rare tracks and a DVD of live and music videos.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Q Magazine
    Feb 4, 2014
    100
    The sound more fully formed than ever. [Oct 2013, p.114]
  2. 100
    Part of what made Nirvana’s final studio album so monumental was everything that made Nevermind a classic--an abrasive retooling of the pop songwriting handbook.
  3. Magnet
    Oct 22, 2013
    100
    The album proper already excellently spoke for itself 20 years ago. [No. 103, p.51]
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    It’s not as shiny as ‘Nevermind’, nor as raucous as ‘Bleach’; it’s not as sensibly realised as it would have been has DGC had entirely their own way, but nor does it completely kick against Cobain and company’s prior achievements.
  5. 90
    There really is a veritable deluge of ephemera attached to the deluxe editions of this release, so there is certainly plenty for fans and collectors to hunker down over. Be warned though, there is plenty of dross to wade through until you’re able to reveal anything of true value.
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    The LP remains corrosively beautiful.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    40
    A 2013 mix of the LP, reportedly overseen by Albini and surviving group members Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic, and Pat Smear, and boasting an alternate guitar solo on "Serve the Servants" and a different cello overdub on "Dumb," but otherwise it's indistinct. The bonus material gets worse: ubiquitous B-sides ("I Hate Myself and Want to Die"), boring instrumental demos, and a "Forgotten Tune" that simply sucks.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time for me. Man is it dark, angry, loud and raw but it's got so much power behind it's unbelievable. I'm aOne of the greatest albums of all time for me. Man is it dark, angry, loud and raw but it's got so much power behind it's unbelievable. I'm a big fan of Nevermind but this is like a record from a completely different band. Following up a mainstream rock phenomenon like Nevermind with this is one of the ballsiest moves in rock history. You can feel Cobain's emotion throughout the record and Albini's production absolutely makes this. There are 2 tracks that I don't absolutely love every time I hear them- Scentless Apprentice and Tourettes, and I still love these tracks depending on which mood I'm in. Every other track never fails to send shivers down my spine. People go on about Kurt Cobain and would he be such a legend in rock if he was still around today. This album cemented his legendary status for me regardless of what happened in his life after. Turn your stereo up full and listen to "Milk It" to see what I mean. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    What can one say about In Utero. It is arguably better than Nevermind, spreading light on Nirvana's gritty, grungy, and violent sound ratherWhat can one say about In Utero. It is arguably better than Nevermind, spreading light on Nirvana's gritty, grungy, and violent sound rather than Nevermind. I'm going to stop comparing it to Nevermind and just say that I have listened to it all the way through and it is an undisputed masterpiece at heart. But I must point out, this album isn't for everyone. If you've heard most of the songs off of this album (other than Heart-shaped box and All apologies) you'll know that there are a lot of questionable songs on here. They will grow on you but this is definitely a genre defining album. It is perfectly imperfect because of how dirty it sounds. Kurt, Krist and Dave literally did one takes on the first couple of songs and it stuck. It was great to hear that since it is what should be showcased by the band. Amazing album. Great band. Collapse
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    It managed to be a departure from Nirvana previous album. And it also managed to be even better. Every song here it's a pleasure to listen,It managed to be a departure from Nirvana previous album. And it also managed to be even better. Every song here it's a pleasure to listen, thanks to the production and Kurt Cobain's songwriting skills. Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    This album is amazing. It is the way it was initially intended to sound. Raw, intense, redefinition of what in nirvana was meant to be. A loudThis album is amazing. It is the way it was initially intended to sound. Raw, intense, redefinition of what in nirvana was meant to be. A loud , abrasive look into the mind of an misanthropic native of America, who was let down by his parents and the ideals leave it beaver lost long ago. Listening to this album is similar to the feeling of the innocence we lose as an aimless child straying into a dismal adulthood. Steve Albini couldn't have done a better job. Perfectly chaotic, fully realized in utero in bloom. Kurt would be proud. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2017
    10
    More Raw than Nevermind, this album is just amazing. I love the feedback, the amazing solo's, the intensity of this album. Nothing can be saidMore Raw than Nevermind, this album is just amazing. I love the feedback, the amazing solo's, the intensity of this album. Nothing can be said about Nirvana that hasn't already been said.

    Favorite Tracks: All of them
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    'In Utero' is a more difficult album than 'Nevermind', but it's just as essential. It's sound and songwriting style is a homage to the great'In Utero' is a more difficult album than 'Nevermind', but it's just as essential. It's sound and songwriting style is a homage to the great underground bands of the 80's that the members of Nirvana loved so much, and it undoubtedly served to introduce mainstream Nirvana fans to all those bands. Very few bands can create an album that balances accessibility with an artistic vision and sense of purpose this well. 'In Utero' was the album that cemented Nirvana's reputation as one of the best rock bands of all time. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2016
    7
    In Utero é um bom álbum, que marcou a "queda" do Kurt e está recheado de músicas boas. Junto com as músicas ótimas, estão contidas músicasIn Utero é um bom álbum, que marcou a "queda" do Kurt e está recheado de músicas boas. Junto com as músicas ótimas, estão contidas músicas ruins no material. Não é o melhor álbum do Nirvana, mas é bom da sua forma.

    Pontos Altos: All Apologies, Heart Shaped Box, Rape Me
    Pontos Baixos: Tourette's, Milk It, Scentless Apprentice
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews