In Waves

Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Kerrang!
    Aug 24, 2011
    80
    In Waves draws from the band's entire repertoire and shapes what it finds into a defining and definitive set. [6 Aug 2011, p.50]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 22, 2011
    80
    Blunt, focused and inventive, it's as near to classic metal as Trivium have been. [Sep 2011, p.110]
  3. Aug 8, 2011
    80
    Song after song whips by, wedding equal doses of neo-thrash aggression and accessibility, represented by frontman Matt Heafy's alternating clean and gruff vocals as well as his and fellow guitarist Corey Beaulieu's jagged staccato riffs and tight-knit harmonies.
  4. Aug 8, 2011
    70
    The album's better songs – of which a towering Black and the inventive if not precisely brilliantly titled Capsize the Sea are just two – even hark back to the time when their creators sounded fresh and exciting.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    Hi Guys, my First Review..little nervous don't no what to right well i am a fan of trivium i do have some of there songs in myHi Guys, my First Review..little nervous don't no what to right well i am a fan of trivium i do have some of there songs in my library..well for this album u should check out the songs called
    In waves
    Built To Fall these are my favorites ones..here u can by the album from amazon
    http://www.amazon.com/Waves-Trivium/dp/B0055EDCGU/
    give it a try..thx...
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    8
    Evolving and changing their core sound has always been natural for Trivium, with every new record we've been given a new experience, whetherEvolving and changing their core sound has always been natural for Trivium, with every new record we've been given a new experience, whether bad or good. Thankfully In Waves is a step forward for the band, the songs do not posses the shredding guitar work of previous records but the songs themselves are crafted with such care that the their quality really shines through. Just listen to songs such as "watch the world burn" or "Inception of the end" using YouTube and it becomes apparent. Overall a strong effort which will satisfy most fans of Trivium but will also alienate some as the new sound continues to push Trivium further and further away from their roots, which for some, will be a big disappointment. A good record that deserves to be added to your collection. Full Review »
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    PurplePlains obviously like bands like Cold Play and Yellow Card and has not a damn clue what he is talking about!! In Waves is a great album,PurplePlains obviously like bands like Cold Play and Yellow Card and has not a damn clue what he is talking about!! In Waves is a great album, a must buy with 18 solid tracks. HamWallet I couldn't have said it better myself. Im tired of clowns like Purple getting on here leaving crappy reviews on good talented bands. Purple you suck go home tonight and watch Daniel The Wizard your favorite movie right? Full Review »