In Waves

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    Hi Guys, my First Review..little nervous don't no what to right well i am a fan of trivium i do have some of there songs in my library..well for this album u should check out the songs called
    In waves
    Built To Fall these are my favorites ones..here u can by the album from amazon
    http://www.amazon.com/Waves-Trivium/dp/B0055EDCGU/
    give it a try..thx...
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    PurplePlains obviously like bands like Cold Play and Yellow Card and has not a damn clue what he is talking about!! In Waves is a great album, a must buy with 18 solid tracks. HamWallet I couldn't have said it better myself. Im tired of clowns like Purple getting on here leaving crappy reviews on good talented bands. Purple you suck go home tonight and watch Daniel The Wizard your favoritePurplePlains obviously like bands like Cold Play and Yellow Card and has not a damn clue what he is talking about!! In Waves is a great album, a must buy with 18 solid tracks. HamWallet I couldn't have said it better myself. Im tired of clowns like Purple getting on here leaving crappy reviews on good talented bands. Purple you suck go home tonight and watch Daniel The Wizard your favorite movie right? Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2011
    8
    Evolving and changing their core sound has always been natural for Trivium, with every new record we've been given a new experience, whether bad or good. Thankfully In Waves is a step forward for the band, the songs do not posses the shredding guitar work of previous records but the songs themselves are crafted with such care that the their quality really shines through. Just listen toEvolving and changing their core sound has always been natural for Trivium, with every new record we've been given a new experience, whether bad or good. Thankfully In Waves is a step forward for the band, the songs do not posses the shredding guitar work of previous records but the songs themselves are crafted with such care that the their quality really shines through. Just listen to songs such as "watch the world burn" or "Inception of the end" using YouTube and it becomes apparent. Overall a strong effort which will satisfy most fans of Trivium but will also alienate some as the new sound continues to push Trivium further and further away from their roots, which for some, will be a big disappointment. A good record that deserves to be added to your collection. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    PurplePlain is a complete retard and has no idea what music is. This album is bringing the Ascendency style back, which is what they've desperately needed to do. Shogun was by far the worst album because Matt Heafy turned into a James Hetfield wannabee and the band sounded exactly like Metallica who of which are one of Trivium's main influences. PurplePlain, you can shove your opinion up your ass!
  5. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    It's Trivium. And as a fan of their music since Ember To Inferno, I think it's a decent album. They haven't been able to top themselves at all though, and it's probably their worst album yet, but I still like it, at least a little.
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Trivium are out to set the world ablaze with their fourth offering, In Waves. In my opinion, Trivium have crafted their heaviest collection to date without sacrificing quality or accessibility. The heavy debt to prog-metal on Shogun is less prevalent this time around, making this feel more like a true metal album instead of a melting pot of genres. Not to say that's a good or bad thing,Trivium are out to set the world ablaze with their fourth offering, In Waves. In my opinion, Trivium have crafted their heaviest collection to date without sacrificing quality or accessibility. The heavy debt to prog-metal on Shogun is less prevalent this time around, making this feel more like a true metal album instead of a melting pot of genres. Not to say that's a good or bad thing, but it makes In Waves feel more unique and fresh. Some of the start-stop and punch delivered in several tracks create an intensity almost unparalleled by previous work (see "In Waves", "Watch The World Burn", "Black", "A Grey So Dark"). Altogether, you're listening to a well crafted album by a very talented group of musicians that seem to do themselves a solid by keeping to how Trivium does things and not so much of what others would have them do. Kudos to the group for keeping their identity intact through the years. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2015
    9
    Trivium moves away from the thrash metal sound of "The Crusade" and "Shogun" in favor of an album that hearkens back to their Ascendancy days. As a result more unclean vocals and deep screams can be found. The lyrical game has stepped into territory that expresses themes like inner turmoil and emotional distress. The album has a more personal feel because of that.

    Plenty of nice twists
    Trivium moves away from the thrash metal sound of "The Crusade" and "Shogun" in favor of an album that hearkens back to their Ascendancy days. As a result more unclean vocals and deep screams can be found. The lyrical game has stepped into territory that expresses themes like inner turmoil and emotional distress. The album has a more personal feel because of that.

    Plenty of nice twists add some variety to the overall album. Different spikes in the types of energy each track offers is noticeable. For instance "Watch The World Burn" is more likely to get you pumped and excited, while the title track "In Waves" feels more aggressive. The track "Of All These Yesterdays" carries a more solemn tone due to the slower use of clean vocals and instrumentals. It's easily the most emotional song on the album.

    I have to give special praise to Trivium's always excellent instrumental game. They excellently amplify whatever tone or emotional response Trivium wants you to get from each song. They also aren't afraid to shake it up in some unexpected ways. The opening to "Forsake Not the Dream" sounds like straight out of a rock song before opening up into the metal sound we expect from the band. It's as always impressive work.

    Trivium gives us a blast from the past with this album. However it's not just more Ascendancy. This is a further improvement and expansion on the sound from that album. Not all fans will appreciate the deviation away from the trash metal of their previous two albums, but those of us who wanted more songs like the ones on Ascendancy can rejoice. Even those not totally backing this return to form shouldn't have too much of a problem enjoying metal this well polished.

    I give "In Waves" a near-perfect score of 9.9/10.
    Expand
  8. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    Dusk Dismantleddd!!!!
    If you're a diehard Trivium fan you'll just consider this another essential album in their impressive collection. Its no better or worse than anything they've released previously, but nether the less has some glorious moments: crunching guitars, impressive drumwork, beautiful vocals and delicious melodies. A couple of forgettable songs e.g A grey so Dark and possibly
    Dusk Dismantleddd!!!!
    If you're a diehard Trivium fan you'll just consider this another essential album in their impressive collection. Its no better or worse than anything they've released previously, but nether the less has some glorious moments: crunching guitars, impressive drumwork, beautiful vocals and delicious melodies. A couple of forgettable songs e.g A grey so Dark and possibly Black, but still a great new chapter in the Trivium story. The best tracks for me are undoubtedly Dusk Dismanlted and Caustic are the Ties that Bind. One can only hope that next time they can filter out the more mediocre aspects and occasional corny lyrics and have make every single song memorable; touch up on lyrics here and there and maybe chill with making it sound so produced. Excited to hear what they'll come up with next,; it looks like a bright future for Trivium. Buy it!!!
    Expand
  9. NKM
    Aug 16, 2011
    9
    Once again, Trivium recorded a brilliant album. Matt's vocals have improved compared to previous releases. Guitar work is great as always. But still, they can't top Ascendancy which will, as it seems, always be their best work. Top tracks: Caustic Are The Ties That Bind and Forsake Not The Dream but others are almost good as these two. All in all, fans should be pleased. Well done, Trivium.
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    Great, great album once again from Trivium. The number of good metal bands is withering, however, Trivium is carrying the torch high and continuing to lead the pack with another awesome album. After "Shogun", Trivium needed to make an album that was easier for non-musician fans to understand. "In Waves" did just that. This is truly a great band with a great passion for good music. TriviumGreat, great album once again from Trivium. The number of good metal bands is withering, however, Trivium is carrying the torch high and continuing to lead the pack with another awesome album. After "Shogun", Trivium needed to make an album that was easier for non-musician fans to understand. "In Waves" did just that. This is truly a great band with a great passion for good music. Trivium have yet to disappoint me and I don't see them doing it anytime soon. Kudos on another excellent album. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    While this is my favorite Trivium album by far, it doesn't pack the punch of previous albums production-wise. The guitars sound almost too distorted and the bass isn't as prevalent this time around, but nevertheless the songs do NOT fail to deliver. My new favorite Trivium song entitled Foresake Not The Dream is an instant classic. Others include Watch The World Burn, Caustic Are TheWhile this is my favorite Trivium album by far, it doesn't pack the punch of previous albums production-wise. The guitars sound almost too distorted and the bass isn't as prevalent this time around, but nevertheless the songs do NOT fail to deliver. My new favorite Trivium song entitled Foresake Not The Dream is an instant classic. Others include Watch The World Burn, Caustic Are The Ties That Bind, Inception Of The End, and Of All These Yesterdays. This album is a must own for Trivium fans and I highly recommend it for all others wishing for another heavy metal record to add to their collection! Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    Expected a lot of this album, come to think that exceed their previous epic Shogun work, sadly it was not, but fortunately we were not disappointed.
    It has a powerful sound as Shogun and that put me off a bit, because I love that album, but it can be said that 'In Waves' is almost a continuation of 'Ascendancy', or the logical evolution would have had this at the time. Musically have
    Expected a lot of this album, come to think that exceed their previous epic Shogun work, sadly it was not, but fortunately we were not disappointed.
    It has a powerful sound as Shogun and that put me off a bit, because I love that album, but it can be said that 'In Waves' is almost a continuation of 'Ascendancy', or the logical evolution would have had this at the time. Musically have always been at a fairly high level despite his youth and here we have shown again, but with the passage of time can understand better the changes that have taken. At least I see it in a simple way: Heafy has learned to sing. After 'Ascendancy' the group began to vary their songs live, focusing them towards melodic land; Corey Beaulieu was responsible for some parts guttural, but not sounded the same themes. And all it shows to hear 'In Waves'.
    This paper returns to a step TRIVIUM quite high in the current metal scene. To deny it would be absurd, and have plenty of time to prove their quality, either as is the case study, as in his concerts, we hope to pass on my land before too long.
    Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2016
    8
    A very solid and respectable album that you should listen to I quite like the songs In Waves, Watch the World Burn, Black, Built to Fall and Of All These Yesterdays. I would recommend listening to these five songs and then choose whether to listen to the whole album or not but if you do you won't be disappointed.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Kerrang!
    Aug 24, 2011
    80
    In Waves draws from the band's entire repertoire and shapes what it finds into a defining and definitive set. [6 Aug 2011, p.50]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 22, 2011
    80
    Blunt, focused and inventive, it's as near to classic metal as Trivium have been. [Sep 2011, p.110]
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    40
    As intense and heavy as they try to be on each song, the heaviness loses its effect when every song prior to it wielded it just the same.