Incredibad - The Lonely Island
Incredibad Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The people (Akiva Schaffer, Jorma Taccone, and Andy Samberg) behind the "Dick In A Box" song/video on Saturday Night Live releases their debut album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Actual musicians help -- world-beating T-Pain more than world-weary Julian Casablancas. So do other actors.
  2. The lion's share of Incredibad is without a doubt one of the funniest albums, music or otherwise, in years.
  3. It's a hilarious comedy album that's just as hip, inventive, and inappropriate as their digital shorts.
  4. Sometimes the music is played intentionally bad, but for the most part, the music is played straight-up and holds surprisingly well after many listens. [Spring 2009, p.72]
  5. Off-kilter humor is a trademark of Samberg's, though, and while most of the songs here won't have much staying power, they're funny enough right now.
  6. Some punch lines feel left over from the dial-up era (is anyone still "doing the Bartman"?), but 'Like a Boss' is a Dirty South anthem that's absurd enough for Lil Wayne. Meet the new frontier of White and Nerdy.
  7. 40
    American show "Saturday Night Live" has a tradition of creating comedy heroes we don't quite get in the UK. Alongside Adam Sandler and Will Ferrell we can add The Lonely Island--essentially Flight Of The Conchords with more sperm jokes. [May 2009, p.91]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. AtticusD
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    Gosh darn this album id SO damn funny. "Sax Man", "Like A Boss" and "Dreamgirl" are so genius.
  2. JoeSpiffy
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    Good stuff. Goooooood stuff.
  3. JohnS
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    Dumb moments, yes, but nothing that detracts from the absolute hilarity I found in this compact disc from start to finish. Illest fake MCs on Dumb moments, yes, but nothing that detracts from the absolute hilarity I found in this compact disc from start to finish. Illest fake MCs on earth... they've mastered both the ridiculous and dry. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    Definitely one of the funniest albums I have ever listened to. Lonely Island has created an excellent hip-hop parody album. The lyrics areDefinitely one of the funniest albums I have ever listened to. Lonely Island has created an excellent hip-hop parody album. The lyrics are often hilarious and disgusting. The music videos often add to hilarity of it all. There are also several celebrity guests like Natalie Portman or Jack Black who brings their own style of humor the the songs. Portman's song in particular is a laugh riot. There are a few duds on the track like "Dreamgirl" or "Ras Trent," but overall the quality is high. Not only is it good for a laugh, but it actually sounds great too. This is one comedy album that I highly recommend. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    Their best album. **** in my pants, I'm on a boat, Like a boss and Dick in a box are all good songs. However, the others don't stand out. ITheir best album. **** in my pants, I'm on a boat, Like a boss and Dick in a box are all good songs. However, the others don't stand out. I would make an "incrediBAD" joke, but they're not bad, they just aren't as good as the others I listed. Expand
  6. AaronN
    Apr 6, 2009
    8
    These guys are geniuses. "I'm on a Boat" is quite possibly the best comedy song ever written. The other standouts have been around the These guys are geniuses. "I'm on a Boat" is quite possibly the best comedy song ever written. The other standouts have been around the internet a few times, but they are there, and still just as good; unfortunately, the other new material doesn't always hold up as well. Collapse
  7. May 18, 2014
    3
    Albeit one hilarious song in which Natalie Portman describes her obscene bad-assery, Incredibad is... Incredibly bad, focusing on unfunny dickAlbeit one hilarious song in which Natalie Portman describes her obscene bad-assery, Incredibad is... Incredibly bad, focusing on unfunny dick jokes and lewd language that would make your grandmother cry. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews