Indicud

Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On
  1. The album could do with being at least half of its 70 minutes, to cut out the self-indulgent meandering.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    60
    The best rhymes come courtesy of Kendrick Lamar on Solo Dolo, Pt. II, and the worst are from Too Short on the album’s weakest link, Girls.
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    At it’s best, Indicud delivers catchy, meaningful tunes with a cinematic quality in the way that the’’re delivered. However, the album isn’t able to consistently hold this level of gratification over its entire course.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    Indicud is an at-times very good album, but it’s certainly no 2001. This isn’t because of a lack of ingenuity or creativity on Cudi’s part, but rather because the decision to act as the project’s sole producer didn’t do him any favors.
  5. 50
    This record just proves that Kid Cudi has a lot of sorting to do, and continuing down the same old path simply won’t cut it in the long-run.
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    Cudi’s pitchy-dawg voice remains his own worst enemy.
  7. May 9, 2013
    40
    Indicud has the sheen of a cinematic blockbuster.... Unfortunately, it also has no substance.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. May 5, 2013
    3
    Dear god....why must he do all of his own production? I can understand maybe having 3 or 4 tracks that he did by himself and a maybe a fewDear god....why must he do all of his own production? I can understand maybe having 3 or 4 tracks that he did by himself and a maybe a few more in collaboration with better producers like Plain Pat and Emile, but ALL OF IT? The man has the beat-making prowess of a moderately talented 16-year-old with Fruity Loops.

    By no means was Cudi ready to handle all of the production on an album of this length, because as a result, the songwriting is mostly bland and at times downright irritating. Cudi is at his best when he collaborates with talented people behind the boards instead of trying to be some poor man's Kanye (with all the ego and half the ability). That goes for his video direction as well. Putting a gold frame around a mediocre video is not going to convince me of Kid Cudi's "art" being anything above average.

    The fact that he asked the top-tier A$AP Rocky to jump on such a clunky percussion-based instrumental is just an insane waste of a feature. I'm sure A$AP was just going along with it since Cudi has some gathered some respect and seniority in the industry over the past half decade.

    Lyric-wise, I have never really cared what the guy was saying as long as he's riding over a solid beat. Everyone knows Cudi is not exactly world-renowned for his lyricism. Since the beats are mainly the lyrics are just turd garnishes.

    I DID like Beez (which is bodied by RZA's potent lyrics and not Cudi's production) Solo Dolo Part II, and Cold-Blooded. Not much else impresses me on this thing. The repetition on the instrumentals is so boring I can't help but skip almost every track. Hopefully the whole "I can do it all" thing that Cudi is currently going for is just a phase and he'll go back to working with Emile soon. We can only hope....
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This album is the perfect blend of his dreamy, spacey, 2009 effort MM:TEOD, and dark, chilling works of MMII: TLOMR, Indicud is anThis album is the perfect blend of his dreamy, spacey, 2009 effort MM:TEOD, and dark, chilling works of MMII: TLOMR, Indicud is an execeptional masterpiece true fusion of alternative, and hip hop, cudi's production skills are also very good. Plus the guests are all very high profile (Wu tang's RZA, A$AP Rocky, Kendrick Lamar). Favorite tracks are Beez ft RZA, Brothers ft. A$AP Rocky, King Chip, Just What I am ft. King Chip, and Solo Dolo pt II ft Kendrick Lamar Full Review »
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    5
    I love Cudi as an artist, but I just wasn't feeling this album as much as I wanted to. I tried listening to it a couple more times to see ifI love Cudi as an artist, but I just wasn't feeling this album as much as I wanted to. I tried listening to it a couple more times to see if it would get better, but it only got worse. Production isn't handled that well, and lots of the melodies are drowned in obnoxious synths. Overall, the only appealing songs on this album are the singles he released. Full Review »