Indicud - Kid Cudi
Indicud Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the producer-rapper features guest appearances from A$AP Rocky, Michael Bolton, Haim, Father John Misty, King Chip, Kendrick Lamar, RZA, and Too Short.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    80
    In comparison to his past two albums, Cudi has grown the furthest from his purest hip-hop roots on Indicud, successfully carving out his own space using fundamental tools of hip-hop. [Jul 2013, p.91]
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    75
    Scott Mescudi may be many things and nothing all at once but he's definitely not the "same lame old same thing."
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    70
    Indicud won't work for everyone, but if you're a Cudi fan, this album finds him sounding better than he has in some time.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    Indicud is an at-times very good album, but it’s certainly no 2001. This isn’t because of a lack of ingenuity or creativity on Cudi’s part, but rather because the decision to act as the project’s sole producer didn’t do him any favors.
  5. The album could do with being at least half of its 70 minutes, to cut out the self-indulgent meandering.
  6. 50
    This record just proves that Kid Cudi has a lot of sorting to do, and continuing down the same old path simply won’t cut it in the long-run.
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    20
    Only Haim's contribution to Red Eye enlivens the tedium. [Aug 2013, p.99]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This album is the perfect blend of his dreamy, spacey, 2009 effort MM:TEOD, and dark, chilling works of MMII: TLOMR, Indicud is an execeptional masterpiece true fusion of alternative, and hip hop, cudi's production skills are also very good. Plus the guests are all very high profile (Wu tang's RZA, A$AP Rocky, Kendrick Lamar). Favorite tracks are Beez ft RZA, Brothers ft. A$AP Rocky, King Chip, Just What I am ft. King Chip, and Solo Dolo pt II ft Kendrick Lamar Collapse
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Great album, good features and solid production from an artist that had never produced a single song on his previous solo albums. Album of the year so far. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    Cudi is back! This amazing blend of production and lyricism is very unique even from Cudi's earlier work. It is an awesome success on so many levels. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    5
    Kid Cudi is still reeling from his attempt at going sober, and he shows it with this mediocre at best release. Smoke a little more indica, Scott, and then show us what you got. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    Scott Mescudi testifies his lacks of skill in singing in all of his albums. By the great production of this album and bad lyrics of this one, you can say that Indicud is a mid-good album. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    3
    Dear god....why must he do all of his own production? I can understand maybe having 3 or 4 tracks that he did by himself and a maybe a few more in collaboration with better producers like Plain Pat and Emile, but ALL OF IT? The man has the beat-making prowess of a moderately talented 16-year-old with Fruity Loops.

    By no means was Cudi ready to handle all of the production on an album of this length, because as a result, the songwriting is mostly bland and at times downright irritating. Cudi is at his best when he collaborates with talented people behind the boards instead of trying to be some poor man's Kanye (with all the ego and half the ability). That goes for his video direction as well. Putting a gold frame around a mediocre video is not going to convince me of Kid Cudi's "art" being anything above average.

    The fact that he asked the top-tier A$AP Rocky to jump on such a clunky percussion-based instrumental is just an insane waste of a feature. I'm sure A$AP was just going along with it since Cudi has some gathered some respect and seniority in the industry over the past half decade.

    Lyric-wise, I have never really cared what the guy was saying as long as he's riding over a solid beat. Everyone knows Cudi is not exactly world-renowned for his lyricism. Since the beats are mainly the lyrics are just turd garnishes.

    I DID like Beez (which is bodied by RZA's potent lyrics and not Cudi's production) Solo Dolo Part II, and Cold-Blooded. Not much else impresses me on this thing. The repetition on the instrumentals is so boring I can't help but skip almost every track. Hopefully the whole "I can do it all" thing that Cudi is currently going for is just a phase and he'll go back to working with Emile soon. We can only hope....
    Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2013
    1
    Note: this is coming from a die hard Cudi fan. This album was a huge disappointment for me. A time I find myself saying "what was he thinking?" And "why?" This album is nearly unlistenable. The song "Girls" is one of the most terrible things I've ever heard. Too Short should be ashamed as well as anyone that consigned this album. "Cold Blooded" was really cheesy, "Afterwords" was 8 mins on the same terrible chorus. Cudi really lacks the passion he brought to his first to albums. A couple things I did like was that Cudi did everything by himself. I liked "Just What I Am" and "Imortal". And I liked that he was bold enough to choose some of the features that he chose. This album was a mess overall. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews