Indicud

Indicud Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release for the producer-rapper features guest appearances from A$AP Rocky, Michael Bolton, Haim, Father John Misty, King Chip, Kendrick Lamar, RZA, and Too Short.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The Source
    Jul 2, 2013
    80
    In comparison to his past two albums, Cudi has grown the furthest from his purest hip-hop roots on Indicud, successfully carving out his own space using fundamental tools of hip-hop. [Jul 2013, p.91]
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    75
    Scott Mescudi may be many things and nothing all at once but he's definitely not the "same lame old same thing."
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    70
    It's an entertaining, vibrant, and artistically filling album, so consider it a "presents" effort and enjoy the show.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    At it’s best, Indicud delivers catchy, meaningful tunes with a cinematic quality in the way that the’’re delivered. However, the album isn’t able to consistently hold this level of gratification over its entire course.
  5. The album could do with being at least half of its 70 minutes, to cut out the self-indulgent meandering.
  6. 50
    This record just proves that Kid Cudi has a lot of sorting to do, and continuing down the same old path simply won’t cut it in the long-run.
  7. Q Magazine
    Jul 11, 2013
    20
    Only Haim's contribution to Red Eye enlivens the tedium. [Aug 2013, p.99]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Great album, good features and solid production from an artist that had never produced a single song on his previous solo albums. Album of theGreat album, good features and solid production from an artist that had never produced a single song on his previous solo albums. Album of the year so far. Collapse
  2. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    This album shows Cudi's growth from his first mixtape "A kid named Cudi" to the extremely diverse songs and beats of Indicud. This album isThis album shows Cudi's growth from his first mixtape "A kid named Cudi" to the extremely diverse songs and beats of Indicud. This album is Cudi's most complete body work. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This album is the perfect blend of his dreamy, spacey, 2009 effort MM:TEOD, and dark, chilling works of MMII: TLOMR, Indicud is anThis album is the perfect blend of his dreamy, spacey, 2009 effort MM:TEOD, and dark, chilling works of MMII: TLOMR, Indicud is an execeptional masterpiece true fusion of alternative, and hip hop, cudi's production skills are also very good. Plus the guests are all very high profile (Wu tang's RZA, A$AP Rocky, Kendrick Lamar). Favorite tracks are Beez ft RZA, Brothers ft. A$AP Rocky, King Chip, Just What I am ft. King Chip, and Solo Dolo pt II ft Kendrick Lamar Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    This album combines the light of his first album, the dark of his second album, the oddness of his WZRD album and puts it all together in oneThis album combines the light of his first album, the dark of his second album, the oddness of his WZRD album and puts it all together in one 18 track piece. It's obvious to see Cudi put tons of effort into this album. He produced every beat to every song. So now let me criticize, his last song I found super tedious and kind of annoying. Don't get me wrong it's catchy but like it's just a one time listen and I never want to hear it again. Then the three songs that are just beats. At least the beats sound good, but I just want to actually have vocals with those to understand more depth of the purpose of the songs existence, since I don't get vocals I assume it's just a filler which is very dissapointing. This album could have been so much better but just decided to reach good instead of great like his other pieces. I almost gave it a 7, but I feel since he did put tons of effort and I like all of the songs except 1, I'll give it a 8. Please Cudi, please give us a Man on The Moon 3. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    Scott Mescudi testifies his lacks of skill in singing in all of his albums. By the great production of this album and bad lyrics of this one,Scott Mescudi testifies his lacks of skill in singing in all of his albums. By the great production of this album and bad lyrics of this one, you can say that Indicud is a mid-good album. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    3
    Dear god....why must he do all of his own production? I can understand maybe having 3 or 4 tracks that he did by himself and a maybe a fewDear god....why must he do all of his own production? I can understand maybe having 3 or 4 tracks that he did by himself and a maybe a few more in collaboration with better producers like Plain Pat and Emile, but ALL OF IT? The man has the beat-making prowess of a moderately talented 16-year-old with Fruity Loops.

    By no means was Cudi ready to handle all of the production on an album of this length, because as a result, the songwriting is mostly bland and at times downright irritating. Cudi is at his best when he collaborates with talented people behind the boards instead of trying to be some poor man's Kanye (with all the ego and half the ability). That goes for his video direction as well. Putting a gold frame around a mediocre video is not going to convince me of Kid Cudi's "art" being anything above average.

    The fact that he asked the top-tier A$AP Rocky to jump on such a clunky percussion-based instrumental is just an insane waste of a feature. I'm sure A$AP was just going along with it since Cudi has some gathered some respect and seniority in the industry over the past half decade.

    Lyric-wise, I have never really cared what the guy was saying as long as he's riding over a solid beat. Everyone knows Cudi is not exactly world-renowned for his lyricism. Since the beats are mainly the lyrics are just turd garnishes.

    I DID like Beez (which is bodied by RZA's potent lyrics and not Cudi's production) Solo Dolo Part II, and Cold-Blooded. Not much else impresses me on this thing. The repetition on the instrumentals is so boring I can't help but skip almost every track. Hopefully the whole "I can do it all" thing that Cudi is currently going for is just a phase and he'll go back to working with Emile soon. We can only hope....
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2015
    1
    sofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukksofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterriblesofukkingterrible Expand

See all 27 User Reviews