Indie Cindy

  • Record Label: PIAS
  • Release Date: Apr 29, 2014
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    May 20, 2014
    60
    Is Indie Cindy good enough for the Pixies to keep going? Pretty much. [Jun 2014, p.113]
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    60
    Whether or not you've made your peace with the datedness of Indie Cindy, as well as the sheer pile of things you did not want to see the band do, are you going to put it on repeat? More than you think, but less than they hope.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Arguably, it fares better as a decent Frank Black album than an anticlimactic Pixies album, and fans who can appreciate that these songs don't diminish the legacy of the band's previous music will probably enjoy it the most.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Indie Cindy has hit-or-miss songs already released via digital dribbles and drabs.
  5. 60
    The most surprising thing about Pixies’ first album in 23 years is that it holds so few surprises.
  6. Mojo
    Apr 23, 2014
    60
    What's lacking is the shock factor.... At its best, amid the oceanic dream-wave of melody and surreal verbiage that these reanimated Pixies still essay with style, Indie Cindy is worthy of full participation. [May 2014, p.90]
  7. Apr 23, 2014
    60
    When all's said and done, there are worse things in life than being the fifth-best Pixies album. So I guess we'll just leave it that and say no more.
  8. Apr 22, 2014
    60
    If you’re new to Pixies, try this one first, then let the magic of their previous records blow your mind. If you’re already in love with their best work, a dalliance with Indie Cindy can’t hurt.
  9. Apr 21, 2014
    60
    There are Pixies fans that would have preferred another ‘Doolittle’ instead, but Indie Cindy isn’t bad, not bad at all.
  10. Apr 21, 2014
    60
    If this had been released a year after their last album, Trompe Le Monde, it would have fit perfectly adequately into Pixies' discography.
  11. 55
    All the components are there, Joey Santiago’s guitar work is still impressive, Lovering’s drumming is still vigorous, but the problem is Black Francis himself. The compelling songwriting that completed Pixies is no longer there.
  12. Jul 23, 2014
    50
    At least Pixies didn't try to fake their way into recreating every aspect of their former glory. But the music here is so unfortunately forgettable.
  13. May 13, 2014
    50
    Indie Cindy plays just like one of Black’s solo efforts, but with better session players: good, yes, but never great.
  14. May 5, 2014
    50
    It doesn’t leave much to the imagination; in fact, it states quite clear that there’s not much substance behind their muscular, other times grounded, modern rock template.
  15. May 2, 2014
    50
    So, while Indie Cindy is not an objectively bad album, it does fail to live up to the Pixies’ caliber, and a few noteworthy songs does not an exceptional record make.
  16. Apr 28, 2014
    50
    Even given the mixed results it's good to have them back. Listen without expecting the impossible and you'll find ample to enjoy.
  17. 42
    Sure, you can wallow in disappointment that this record ranks a distant fifth alongside the band’s classic LPs, but don’t allow yourself in the process to miss out on a handful of worthwhile songs.
  18. May 29, 2014
    40
    The lack of personality is most strikingly felt in Kim Deal’s absence.
  19. 40
    On Indie Cindy, there’s not a lot of danger, or passion--or excitement for that matter.
  20. Uncut
    Apr 28, 2014
    40
    It may seem churlish to identify one reunion as especially cynical, but recent Pixies activities have felt notably artless--a situation emphasised by Indie Cindy. [Jun 2014, p.82]
  21. Apr 28, 2014
    40
    Perhaps the most salient fact of all about this Pixies album is that it combines their three recent EPs without any new, unreleased material. It's a craven cash-in.
  22. Apr 25, 2014
    40
    The result is not bad: though you miss the unpredictable blasts of raw hellfire from the cult classic Surfer Rosa era, the band find some gritty, grindy melodies in the bigger, slicker vein of 1991’s patchy Trompe Le Monde.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. May 8, 2014
    9
    Overwhelming hype on this album makes it underwhelming on first listen but after a few successions starts to stand out as a an album on parOverwhelming hype on this album makes it underwhelming on first listen but after a few successions starts to stand out as a an album on par with music made by the pixies 20 years ago! If this album was released after trompe le monde it would fit perfectly in the Pixies legacy. Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2014
    9
    I'm going to be the voice of descent here. I've listened to the album a few times now, and it has me hooked. I feel like there are 2 typesI'm going to be the voice of descent here. I've listened to the album a few times now, and it has me hooked. I feel like there are 2 types of people judging this comeback album: 1) Pixies fans who think it's not enough like their original stuff and 2) Critics who cannot stomach that these guys are using the same production and style they were in the 90s. Yes, they use electric guitars... which is unfortunate timing because the electric guitar is not a banjo, and therefore is currently regarded as out of style.

    If you can take a few listens and not judge the album on unrealistic criteria and build up of how amazing it should be after a 23 year break, and instead just listen to the album and enjoy it, you will see that it's quite freaking awesome.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    I don't care what the critics say. I really like this album.

    I took me several listens to realize that I like this album. Back in the
    I don't care what the critics say. I really like this album.

    I took me several listens to realize that I like this album. Back in the day, when I was in college and bought CDs like Surfer Rosa, I often forced myself to listen to the albums multiple times, even if I didn't like them so much on the first listen. I didn't have much money, and I needed to try to get the most out of my investment in music. It always seemed ironic to me, but very often the albums I didn't like at first became my favorites.

    Now, I live in a world of musical plenty, since I have Rhapsody and have almost the entire musical universe open to me. There is a negative side to this: I flit about, always trying new things, going from album to album, not willing to give albums the time they need to sink in. I only have so much time, and too much music to put into that time.

    So, all that being said, something about this Pixies album made me come back to it. It's a subconscious reaction, something rattling around in my mind that makes me go play that album by itself and not mixed in with thousands of other tracks.

    So now I love the album. I like Frank Black's stream-of-consciousness talking, shouting/screaming and delicate singing. The guitar is right there up front, the way it was, which marks it as a Pixies album. The songs are quirky and catchy. I really like the songs Indie Cindy, Bagboy, and the weird slow Andro Queen.

    It helps that I had very low expectations, I'm sure. But give this album a few listens. I think Indie Cindy is a pretty big achievement after being gone so long.
    Full Review »