• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Indie Cindy Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first full-length studio release for the alternative rock band since 1991's Trompe Le Monde was produced by Gil Norton. It contains tracks released on EP-1, Ep-2, and EP-3 as well as three new songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 91
    Simply in the mood for great rock music from a band that knows how to make it? Get this album. [2 May 2014, p.63]
  2. 70
    Give Indie Cindy an honest listen. If you have to, just pretend it's the new project of Frank Black, Joey Santiago and David Loverling.
  3. Jun 18, 2014
    70
    Yes, some of these are very stupid songs.... And like Doolittle, there are great songs here. [No. 110, p.58]
  4. Apr 23, 2014
    60
    When all's said and done, there are worse things in life than being the fifth-best Pixies album. So I guess we'll just leave it that and say no more.
  5. 55
    All the components are there, Joey Santiago’s guitar work is still impressive, Lovering’s drumming is still vigorous, but the problem is Black Francis himself. The compelling songwriting that completed Pixies is no longer there.
  6. May 2, 2014
    50
    So, while Indie Cindy is not an objectively bad album, it does fail to live up to the Pixies’ caliber, and a few noteworthy songs does not an exceptional record make.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    35
    What makes Indie Cindy so egregious, so much worse than a simply bad album, is how much better it could have been.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Jun 16, 2014
    9
    TRUE Pixies fans will like the album. Is it their best album? No, but it's pretty darn good. The guitars are there, the droning is there, BF'sTRUE Pixies fans will like the album. Is it their best album? No, but it's pretty darn good. The guitars are there, the droning is there, BF's voice is there, yep, you'll like it. Expand
  2. May 2, 2014
    9
    I'm going to be the voice of descent here. I've listened to the album a few times now, and it has me hooked. I feel like there are 2 typesI'm going to be the voice of descent here. I've listened to the album a few times now, and it has me hooked. I feel like there are 2 types of people judging this comeback album: 1) Pixies fans who think it's not enough like their original stuff and 2) Critics who cannot stomach that these guys are using the same production and style they were in the 90s. Yes, they use electric guitars... which is unfortunate timing because the electric guitar is not a banjo, and therefore is currently regarded as out of style.

    If you can take a few listens and not judge the album on unrealistic criteria and build up of how amazing it should be after a 23 year break, and instead just listen to the album and enjoy it, you will see that it's quite freaking awesome.
    Expand
  3. May 8, 2014
    9
    Overwhelming hype on this album makes it underwhelming on first listen but after a few successions starts to stand out as a an album on parOverwhelming hype on this album makes it underwhelming on first listen but after a few successions starts to stand out as a an album on par with music made by the pixies 20 years ago! If this album was released after trompe le monde it would fit perfectly in the Pixies legacy. Expand
  4. May 31, 2014
    8
    I'm old enough to have experienced them in real time, and to have seen the original line up. I don't think that there was a great weight ofI'm old enough to have experienced them in real time, and to have seen the original line up. I don't think that there was a great weight of expectation in my mind, as I hadn't been keen on the songs I'd heard - 'Blue Eyed Hexe' seemed to be trying too hard and 'Bagboy' hadn't grabbed me. It took several days before I could bring myself to listen to it, and my initial views were mixed. Perhaps better than I had feared, but not as good as I had hoped. But, like other here, I kept listening, and it started to sink in. The two tracks I mention are still not amongst my favourites, but 'What Goes Boom' (with accompanying and beautiful video' is great, 'Silver Snail' is splendidly-odd, 'Andro Queen' is sweetly melodic and 'Greens and Blues' keeps going around my head and is up there with my favourite Pixies songs, and by extension my favourite songs full stop. As a bassist I can both understand and appreciate the song structures more than most of the critics, and it's true that there are signatures common to this and previous works. This could be seen as regurgitation, but it doesn't feel that way to me. I did look at a few reviews, and all I can conclude is how smart-arsy and egocentric many of them were, step forward the comedically-titled Kitty Empire for the Guardian. Make your own mind up - It's not their best work, but I like almost all of it, love quite a bit and can't wait to see them next weekend. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    While this does seem more like a Frank Black record than a Pixies album proper, it nevertheless is a welcome return in my opinion. Not all ofWhile this does seem more like a Frank Black record than a Pixies album proper, it nevertheless is a welcome return in my opinion. Not all of the tracks work well, but there's just enough of the old magic to justify adding this to your collection. Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. compared to the rest of Pixies' discography, its not that good at all. Judged however as just a singular rock album among many coming out at he minute, it is, like many, half decent and not greatly satisfactory. So summed up, its obviously not a great album.
    If you want a great rock album, I recommend the Pixies' Doolittle and Bossanova, Surfer Rosa etc amongst a couple of others as well, they show you good times!
    Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2014
    1
    This is horrible. One of the worst albums that I have on my Shelf. I would of gave it 0/10 if it didn't have Blue Eyed Hexe. It is a prettyThis is horrible. One of the worst albums that I have on my Shelf. I would of gave it 0/10 if it didn't have Blue Eyed Hexe. It is a pretty good song but it is the worst Pixes 5 star song. This is a do not buy. If you are a really big fan of pixes and you want to buy it, just wait for a sale. It is not $20 or how much it is in other countries. It is a do not buy. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews