Inni [Live] - Sigur Rós

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 91
    This double live album/DVD, which includes footage from their final 2008 prehiatus show at London's Alexandra Palace, is masterfully paced.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    Vincent Morisset directs Inni in a minimalist, enigmatic black and white that captures all of the elegance, somberness and chilling majesty of what might be the most singular and unparalleled band of their generation.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    Fans who lamented the band's shift will be rewarded, but those drawn to the fuller arrangements might find some songs lacking in splendor.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    Overall, Inni as a live album is all that fans could ask for: It's respectably captured, fairly mixed and accurately portrays the band's live set in an honest light.
  5. Jan 11, 2012
    This assiduously produced package is a thrilling summary of Sigur Ros, the first 14 years. [Dec. 2011 pg. 95]
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    He uses his angelic croon to beckon us to listen to him, sounding so damn desperate. Combine that with the rest of the band's driving, yet ambient build-ups and we have one of our most lovely and earnest records of 2011.
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    Inni takes the listener on a walk through 15 or so years of a robustly lush and sumptuously luxurious ethereal-pop weirdness clashing with colossal waves of noise rock. [#82, p. 60]
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    It's a fitting album that sums up and shines a light on all the things that make/made the band so enthralling.
  9. 80
    Drawn from all five studio albums, the performances on Inni are raw, they are powerful, and they show this band donning a darker, noisier sonic presence.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    The music itself is epic, and not in that wanky overblown stadium rock way--epic in the way of glockenspiels and falsettos and cello bow scraping against guitar strings and pounding drums and explosions of piano chords.
  11. Nov 4, 2011
    The beautiful performances captured here, touching on all five studio albums, are more than enough of a reason to seek this out.
  12. Nov 16, 2011
    Thanks to Jónsi's impeccable vocals, a rare falsetto that loses none of its power in a live setting, everything remains indubitably the work of Sigur Rós.
  13. Nov 4, 2011
    Inni--a double live album (plus live DVD)--is a master class in geologically paced, ethereally pretty buildups.
  14. 63
    Only the nuttiest of fans will find any new details (the more-present backing vocals on Agaetis Byrjun stunner "Svefn-g-englar," or the beefed-up church organ swirl in "Ny Batteri"), even if the band's live majesty is captured in full-force.
  15. Dec 15, 2011
    Beyond the just-add-tears euphoria it also shows a band capable of a rawness that their self-created, slightly precious, image masks. [Dec. 2011 p. 135]
  16. Nov 7, 2011
    This is a decent snapshot of a great band doing what they do best, but instead of providing a three-dimensional, in-depth picture, it's a two-dimensional one that only hints at the actual greatness the band achieves.
  17. Nov 4, 2011
    Inni is beautiful and alluring, yes, but ultimately a recycled bit of nostalgia likely to please very few.
  18. Nov 4, 2011
    Free of the orchestral addendums of other live tours, and unshackled from the studio finesse, the band ignites on several occasions, when they grasp the epic strands of their DNA.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    These guys aren't from this world, their music is something different. Even if you don't understand icelandic, you feel every word "Jonsi" sings. Listen and it'll become your favourite band. Full Review »
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    Emotional and brilliant! This live production bring Sigur Rós back to a simpler time, when the band was just four friends playing music...the movie is also a brilliant addition with Vincent Morisset's effects. I love this album! Full Review »