Insides - Jon Hopkins
Insides Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The electronic artist/producer who previously worked on Coldplay's Viva La Vida releases his first album on the Domino label.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. The album succeeds in meting out these many moods in a way that’s consistently listenable, for both those who use might use Coldplay as an entry point and the cynical veterans of a consistently dynamic electronic music scene. Insides is among 2009’s very best.
  2. 80
    buzzes. His talent as a musician shines through in his ability to avoid having his theoretically contrasting influences sound forced together. If anything he has made them compliment each other.
  3. On a purely compositional level, this is dazzling and downright brilliant. But on a purely artistic level, Insides is a startling accomplishment.
  4. 'Autumn Hill' is one of several tracks that will doubtless find their way onto soundtracks (Hopkins's main source of revenue), but Insides deserves to be heard as a unique and complete work of art in its own right.
  5. Craftsmanship sets him apart, and allows Insides to be as incredibly moving as it is and always will be. It will easily be one of the best electronic albums of 2009.
  6. This still shows renewed ambition, broadening the cool, Eno-inspired palette of his previous work. [Jun 2009, p.124]
  7. His debut for Domino, 2009's Insides, is his first record that many people will hear and it's a promising, but flawed, debut.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. samb
    Aug 16, 2009
    This album is a real piece of art.
  2. BarneyR
    Jul 3, 2009
    Although it's a bit greedy to put the track made for coldplay on the album, it is a pretty decent listen. Some good emotional bits in there which echo the comments about the soundtracks as above. One complaint is it doesn't really gel as a complete album. Would love to see him live though! Expand