Instinct

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Aug 7, 2012
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    60
    There isn't a whole lot of diversity in the musical canvas here... Nevertheless, the album remains ridiculously infectious. Try as you may not want to, you'll be hard pressed to walk away not liking it, or without at least one of the ditties stuck in your head.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    60
    With Instinct, Niki and the Dove have made an album that will surely resonate with the American crowds already grooving to the likes of Hot Chip, Passion Pit and Twin Shadow while providing Sub Pop with a whole new planet of sound to colonize.
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    60
    More fury and less moderation and this would have been outstanding; as it is, it's just very good.
  4. 60
    Since much of it has been released in EP form before, you can't help but fear Dahlström and her foil Gustaf Karlöf might have peaked before they have really begun.
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Beneath the distractingly high-pitched, multi-tracked vocals and tastefully tribal drama, there's nothing more threatening than a synthesized Florence + The Machine. [Jul 2012, p.107]
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    The Knife meets Kate Bush, this album is full to the brim with infectious hooks and off-kilter melodies. It's nothing overly unique orThe Knife meets Kate Bush, this album is full to the brim with infectious hooks and off-kilter melodies. It's nothing overly unique or ambitious and it can be seen as playing it a bit safe but I'd be lying if I said the hooks weren't stuck in my head for the entire summer break. Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2012
    5
    If Cirque de Solei married the stepchild of Price and Enya. I don't have anything else to say about this album, yet I need to hit the minimumIf Cirque de Solei married the stepchild of Price and Enya. I don't have anything else to say about this album, yet I need to hit the minimum of 150 characters. Full Review »