• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Interlude Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A collection of B-sides and previously unreleased tracks recorded during the 'Sound of Water' sessions, with material frequently as strong as that on the previous LP. The CD includes two bonus tracks: remixes of "Boy Is Crying" and "Lose That Girl."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. As a full album, Interlude falls just short of cohesion. But in the place of unity is a confectioner's pastiche of underground pop from a band that still has plenty of music to make.
  2. Alternative Press
    Interlude continues where 'Water' left off, exuding a pall of melancholy that translates into heartbreaking beauty. [#153, p.85]
  3. Saint Etienne retain their stature as a great, if unsung, singles band who have a way with a killer b.
  4. Its best moments come with the one-off experiments that propel the band further from traditional dance music.
  5. In a few cases, the songs rival or eclipse material on Sound of Water, but they probably weren't included because they didn't fit the general, easygoing flow of the immaculately sequenced album.
  6. Amongst the bubble-and-squeak, there's much audio delight to savor...
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of