Interpol - Interpol
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    There are a lot of people who are wrong about "Interpol". These people go into every Interpol album wondering if this will be another "Turn on The Bright Lights", it isn't. But that's alright, because it isn't trying to be. The songs are darker, more atmospheric, with ethereal soundscapes and a greater focus on Paul's vocals for a lot of the songs. The songs, possibly less immediate, but still great. "Try It On" "Memory Serves" and "Summer Well" rank up with the best stuff the band has done. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    Another classic album from an already timeless band. Interpol continues to impress even years after the stellar Turn On The Bright Lights. Favorite tracks include Success, Summer Well, Barricade and The Undoing.
  3. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    This is a good album in and of it's self RIGHT NOW. If you're an Interpol fan I think that it is going to be a great album after you you spend some time with it. If people insist on measuring the band against an an album put out in 2002, and Interpol responded by putting out another album that sounds exactly the same, they would be accused of stagnation. You can't hear TOTBL for the first time again. LET !! IT !! GO !!! What you can do is let Interpol evolve. You could argue the band is in decline album to album if TOTBL is your favorite But if OLTBA is a listeners introduction to Interpol that may be their TOTBL and every album heard thereafter may never measure up to that effort. Likewise the album INTERPOL may be a new listeners TOTBL. Songs like Pace Is The Trick... Mind Over Time....Barricade... and Summer Well are evidence of the bands growth; those songs did not belong on their first album or the second, not that they weren't of the same quality, A creative band, or any artist for that matter, should continue to innovate. So, to anyone who loves or likes this band, get the album. If you are someone considering listening to this band for the first time, give it a chance. It may take a few listens to fully appreciate the unique sound that defines Interpol, but its worth the time investment. To old fans who may have been a bit presumptuous in their judgement, give it a fair chance. Its a different sound, but worth the time investment. They are the same band, they just got better. Interpol is still Interpol. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2010
    9
    i feel the urgent need to say this: most professional reviewers apparently don't get this album correctly. ANY interpol-fan who feels that what drives this band is: 1. autumnal gloominess; 2. flirt with the gothic and darkness; 3. feelings of alienation, isolation, drama, desire, devotion; 4. deep, multi-layered, subtly powerful songs will definitely LOVE this album. it takes some time, but - i haven't really said this about any album for some years - it will GROW on you!
    please believe me, don't believe the hype. this is a very good interpol album. they did a really great job and as far as i can hear put a LOT of effort into these songs - MUCH more than on the lush and pointless OLTA (no more horns) and even occasionally antics. it's artistical, self-confident and coherent... and even if comparisons generally suck, right now i feel that this might be my favourite interpol-album since TOTBL.
    thanks, interpol. you enchant me.
    Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    This band's music has generally been very hard for people who are not into this alternative rock stuff. But with its fourth LP, Interpol managed to create music that are hard even for those trained listeners. Nothing short of brilliant, nevertheless. This album is breathtaking and mindblowing. Do not expect your radio friendly Interpol, but a much more opera-like, brooding, dark one.
  6. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Interpol, Interpol Interpol... what is sad about Interpol? It's the fact that they released an amazing debut album which established their sound.. and now some eight years later... subsequent albums are harshly criticized for no reason.... Yes... Our Love To Admire was not as good as TOTBL or ANTICS... but it was still a very good album... it was a grower... the same can be said for Interpol... though in many ways Interpol is a way better album than OLTA... but it is a grower... the songs at first glance all sound similar.... but listen close and you will see the textures, the riffs, the complexities, the emotion... and the great story.. basically Interpol is about a relationship falling apart.... and its effects on the sanity of a man... just listen...

    Album Standouts: Memory Serves, Lights, Barricade, Always Malaise (The Way I Am), Try It On, and All Of The Ways
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    Interpol has always been a love or hate band. With every album there is a split between fans of whether it was good or not, except for TOTBL of course. The songs on this album are solid, theres not as much Carlos D as some people may want, since it was his last album with the band. Theres only 1 weak song on the album and its Always Malaise. I don't know what they did to Paul's voice but it sounds awful. It sounds like all the albums mixed together. The orchestral sounds of OLTA, the driving vocals from Antics, and the drums and guitar from TOTBL. Thats where the problem comes for most fans. They most likely hear the album that they hate in the songs from Interpol, instead of the parts from the 2 albums that they like. The album is more atmospheric than usual, i think they were trying to centre the songs around a central idea, instead of just writing 10 songs and going into the studio. For those of you that are hardcore Joy Division fans, this is the Interpol album you have been waiting for, sans basslines as ive mentioned before. Overall, these songs were centred around a good idea, but the turmoil in the band seeme to hold it back from reaching its full potential. Very Satisfying Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    It is a solid album, with a great atmospheric sound. This band's music has generally been very hard for people who are not into this alternative rock stuff. But with its fourth LP, Interpol managed to create music that are hard even for those trained listeners. Nothing short of brilliant, nevertheless. This album is breathtaking and mindblowing. Do not expect your radio friendly Interpol, but a much more opera-like, brooding, dark one. It is not their best work, but c'mon! this is better than all the current MTV crap... Expand
  9. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    I think Interpol's first two albums are masterpieces in their own right, that "Our Love to Admire" is very good, and that this one fits somewhere in between there. This music needs time to be savored. "Summer Well", "Lights", and "Barricade" showcase how this band can gather layers of tension and cast a spell. "Turn It On" gives us a new sound from them. Banks' vocals have never been better or riskier. Terrific album. Expand
  10. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    I think people should give the album a few listens before writing a review.. I really like this album. I like its dark ambiance, and the song melodies have never been better! you can't expect another "Turn On The Bright Lights" because that was Interpol of 2002.. A musician you must never look back, or try to imitate what came naturally before. This is Interpol of 2010, if you're a real fan of the band, take the time to listen to the album. It's great! Expand
  11. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was first going to limit my review by saying only this: 'Interpol' is a masterpiece, but then I saw there is a 150 words limit :-) Well, I can add what some have previously delineated: you have to give the album multiple listens. I myself already heard the potential of the songs after the first listenings, and then, for a while (say 10 listenings) I kept finding them better, however, without finding it a truly great album. But then, suddenly, there it was, the pieces fitted together, and I started to hear the magnificence of a few songs (for example 'Success'; what a brilliant, brilliant song this is! Truly one of their best, I find; same for 'Try it on') and others have grown on me ever since. Now, I must seriously say that I cannot live without anymore! The score thing isn't working quite good, but I say: 10/10. Expand
  12. Dec 31, 2010
    9
    Took me a while to enjoy the whole album, but I can admit I like every song on this album. It was my introduction to Interpol besides their singles and I was pleasantly surprised. I don't enjoy Joy Division mainly due to Ian Curtis' vocals and the production quality and weak drum sounds. While Interpol the band may sound similar to Joy Division the layers of their music come out beautifully and the songs flow alot better than Joy Division's, my opinion of course. Expand
  13. May 26, 2012
    10
    I loved this album, and it was actually the one that got me into Interpol's music. It has a very grim and dark feel to it, while also being enjoyable and quite upbeat on some tracks, namely on "Barricade". I may be in the minority, but I feel that this album can even stack up to Interpol's debut. The bass also feels very heavy on this album, adding punch to the group's sound throughout the album.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Interpol may not be quite self-parody, but it's also not the sort of thing that's going to make them hip again anytime soon. Not that they would even care.
  2. I sense a more natural sense of songcraft here. Banks is still trying too hard, seemingly attempting to write songs he thinks people will like rather than songs that, whether simple or arpeggio-filled, he and his mates like.
  3. If Interpol-an album that plainly documents a band stretching itself as far as it can unimpressively go-is what a large number of indie fans are going to settle for in this day and age, I can't help but shake my head and sigh in response.