User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 93
  2. Negative: 3 out of 93

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArasB
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Great song....society is a phenomenal song.
  2. TeriW
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This is the most beautiful music I have heard for a very long time. What a voice, what poetry and the raw but clear, jangly music. Mesmerising. It gives me the same feeling as a long bushwalk.
  3. fG.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    Sucks balls.
  4. sinclairc
    Apr 16, 2009
    1
    Pretty much unlistenable. I find it hard to see how this album has received such rave reviews, annoying beats and vocals touting questionable lyrics. An album to avoid: don't believe the reviews!
  5. SashoK.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Its a great soundtrack album, calm and quiet except for a few songs. Eddie did this one in a week and a half. To the previous poster and to the others that dont know: Hard Sun and Society are covers, not original Eddie songs. And one more thing: all the songs on this album are performed by Ed except some help from Sleater Kinney's singer backing vocals on Hard Sun and also backing Its a great soundtrack album, calm and quiet except for a few songs. Eddie did this one in a week and a half. To the previous poster and to the others that dont know: Hard Sun and Society are covers, not original Eddie songs. And one more thing: all the songs on this album are performed by Ed except some help from Sleater Kinney's singer backing vocals on Hard Sun and also backing vocals and guitar from the original songwriter of Society. I give this album a 10 because its growing on me and it becomes better with every new listen, thats the power of Ed's melodies , which is the power of Pearl Jam also, his amazing melodies and his beautiful vocal. Expand
  6. BJB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Both music and words are extremely evocative of the spirit, philosophy and events in one individual's life, yet they also relate to something in each of us. There are dark moments, but the music also captures the adrenalin rush of setting out, the joy of freedom and the love of nature.
  7. SteveS.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Movie is awesome and the is partly to do with the soundtrack vedder and penn did awesome jobs .
  8. TopcatMe
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Excellent! Eerily reminiscent of early Neil Young, poignant yet powerful, mellow yet militant, and short yet symphonic! I can't get the music out of my mind and it's been a very long time since any music's moved me like that. Hope the movie is as well done as the soundtrack. Kudos Eddie - well done!
  9. KellyR.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    beautifully written and sung, makes one cry.
  10. JeffS
    Oct 9, 2007
    8
    I might raise the 8 to a 9 over time, but nothing blew me away immediately. I am a huge Pearl Jam fan, but sometimes songs take awhile to grow on me. After listening to this a few times, things are growing on me already. I am thinking Guaranteed may be my favorite song so far....beautiful, and the lyrics remind me of my own life, I would have loved to hear Eddie use more of his voice as I might raise the 8 to a 9 over time, but nothing blew me away immediately. I am a huge Pearl Jam fan, but sometimes songs take awhile to grow on me. After listening to this a few times, things are growing on me already. I am thinking Guaranteed may be my favorite song so far....beautiful, and the lyrics remind me of my own life, I would have loved to hear Eddie use more of his voice as an instrument like on earlier Pearl Jam and the Dead Man Walking soundtrack(and Merkinball), on the beautiful song Long Road. But you can't have everything, and we must remember it was his first solo album. I only saw the last 20 minutes of the movie(friend led me into wrong theater), but it really seems to fit it from what I've seen. Expand
  11. GV.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    this sucks
  12. JewelsR.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Best album I have ever heard. Eddie Vedder is a genius.
  13. TyusG.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    This is a masterpiece!
  14. SLD
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    I've listened to music a long time, and it's not often that a song makes me tear up or raise an eyebrow. But a couple of songs on this soundtrack do just that. Probably because I've read the book, and was touched by the story, even if McCandless was a bit unprepared and naive in his quest to put aside materialism. Someone on here said that "Society" had terrible lyrics. I I've listened to music a long time, and it's not often that a song makes me tear up or raise an eyebrow. But a couple of songs on this soundtrack do just that. Probably because I've read the book, and was touched by the story, even if McCandless was a bit unprepared and naive in his quest to put aside materialism. Someone on here said that "Society" had terrible lyrics. I wholeheartedly disagree. The lyrics are sparse, but carry quite a bit of meaning in them if you pay attention. Also, not that it matters, but paying attention means that you notice that EV didn't even write the song. Not that that subtracts anything from the performance. I think this is a very fitting and great group of songs that undoubtedly enhance the film well. Can't wait to see how it translates to the big screen. I do agree that the album is short. ITunes has an extended version for those that want to buy it from there. Expand
  15. yoavt.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Loved it. especially track # 5. it reminds me of pj's strangest tribe.
  16. HelenM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Listening to this beautiful music makes me feel like I'm reaching into my past. A past almost forgotten, something I've lost touch with. Eddie Vedder's voice lyrics and musica has an amazing way of transforming my spirit. I'm left greatfully reaching to find myself again. Thank you for making this beautiful music Eddie.
  17. JohnP.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Awesome album- Eddie Vedder fans will love this.
  18. PaulB.
    Oct 17, 2007
    5
    Neither here nor there really, but exactly what i was expecting.
  19. rond.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Great solo project of Eddie Vedder. Altough short , great album.
  20. Josh
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    Matt P. Man of the Hour was not written by Eddie Vedder it was written by Stone Gossard, and the song Society is also a remake, hence the wording that does not fit Eddie's writing.
  21. MarkH.
    Oct 23, 2007
    5
    Without a doubt, there are some good songs on this album. As a soundtrack it is pretty decent but as an album I think it is a poor effort on the part of Vedder. The lyrics could have been a little more cryptic but what can you expect for a soundtrack?
  22. PH.l
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Guaranteed!
  23. PaulM.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    A beautiful little album that showcases Eddie Vedder's immense singer-songwriter skills. Some reviews have graded it down because of its length and simplicity -- but after all it IS a soundtrack, and in the context of the novel/movie, simplicity is the only thing that would be appropriate here.
  24. StephenM.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    Amazing, immersive, thought-provoking! You can feel the passion in every song, and Vedder's song-writing and singing are as keen as ever! If you love the slower side of Pearl Jam, or good folk music, you will be in heaven!
  25. madsl
    Sep 22, 2007
    8
    This is a pleasant surprise! Eddie Vedder showcases his songwriting abilities and makes pearl jam sound like a rather uninspiring day job in comparison.
  26. Danb.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Agree with K. This album could have been an instant classic a la Spingsteen
  27. OwenP.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    A very moving soundtrack to a very sad story. Eddie Vedder does an amazing job at matching the music with the movie, although the music often made the movie at times. I highly recommend this album to anyone under "the big hot sun".
  28. OlafurB.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    A great new side of the master.
  29. KellyP.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    This album grows on you. It is too short but, I highly recommend it.
  30. BeataB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Hear hear Paul M. I wholeheartedly agree. The soundtrack fits the messages of the movie perfectly, one of which is the continuous internal struggle of humanity to find that perfect fit between the complexities of the modern world and the simplicity that can be provided to us for free through nature. The music is truly beautiful and thought provoking - no matter the length of the songs.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. These songs all feel like a score, and that's not necessarily a good thing. They all seem to be of a piece, but musically there isn't enough imagination to distinguish them, to set the tension of dynamic in motion.
  2. Vedder effectively conjures the endless possibilities of the open road with sparse, never morose, tracks.
  3. Though the album is flawed (some tracks on the 33-minute disc are so brief that they never leave the ground), there is still something here that's compelling enough to stand alone, even without its real-life inspiration.