User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 90
  2. Negative: 3 out of 90

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArasB
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    Great song....society is a phenomenal song.
  2. TeriW
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This is the most beautiful music I have heard for a very long time. What a voice, what poetry and the raw but clear, jangly music. Mesmerising. It gives me the same feeling as a long bushwalk.
  3. fG.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    Sucks balls.
  4. sinclairc
    Apr 16, 2009
    1
    Pretty much unlistenable. I find it hard to see how this album has received such rave reviews, annoying beats and vocals touting questionable lyrics. An album to avoid: don't believe the reviews!
  5. SashoK.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Its a great soundtrack album, calm and quiet except for a few songs. Eddie did this one in a week and a half. To the previous poster and to the others that dont know: Hard Sun and Society are covers, not original Eddie songs. And one more thing: all the songs on this album are performed by Ed except some help from Sleater Kinney's singer backing vocals on Hard Sun and also backing Its a great soundtrack album, calm and quiet except for a few songs. Eddie did this one in a week and a half. To the previous poster and to the others that dont know: Hard Sun and Society are covers, not original Eddie songs. And one more thing: all the songs on this album are performed by Ed except some help from Sleater Kinney's singer backing vocals on Hard Sun and also backing vocals and guitar from the original songwriter of Society. I give this album a 10 because its growing on me and it becomes better with every new listen, thats the power of Ed's melodies , which is the power of Pearl Jam also, his amazing melodies and his beautiful vocal. Expand
  6. BJB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Both music and words are extremely evocative of the spirit, philosophy and events in one individual's life, yet they also relate to something in each of us. There are dark moments, but the music also captures the adrenalin rush of setting out, the joy of freedom and the love of nature.
  7. SteveS.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Movie is awesome and the is partly to do with the soundtrack vedder and penn did awesome jobs .
  8. TopcatMe
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Excellent! Eerily reminiscent of early Neil Young, poignant yet powerful, mellow yet militant, and short yet symphonic! I can't get the music out of my mind and it's been a very long time since any music's moved me like that. Hope the movie is as well done as the soundtrack. Kudos Eddie - well done!
  9. KellyR.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    beautifully written and sung, makes one cry.
  10. JeffS
    Oct 9, 2007
    8
    I might raise the 8 to a 9 over time, but nothing blew me away immediately. I am a huge Pearl Jam fan, but sometimes songs take awhile to grow on me. After listening to this a few times, things are growing on me already. I am thinking Guaranteed may be my favorite song so far....beautiful, and the lyrics remind me of my own life, I would have loved to hear Eddie use more of his voice as I might raise the 8 to a 9 over time, but nothing blew me away immediately. I am a huge Pearl Jam fan, but sometimes songs take awhile to grow on me. After listening to this a few times, things are growing on me already. I am thinking Guaranteed may be my favorite song so far....beautiful, and the lyrics remind me of my own life, I would have loved to hear Eddie use more of his voice as an instrument like on earlier Pearl Jam and the Dead Man Walking soundtrack(and Merkinball), on the beautiful song Long Road. But you can't have everything, and we must remember it was his first solo album. I only saw the last 20 minutes of the movie(friend led me into wrong theater), but it really seems to fit it from what I've seen. Expand
  11. GV.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    this sucks
  12. JewelsR.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Best album I have ever heard. Eddie Vedder is a genius.
  13. TyusG.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    This is a masterpiece!
  14. SLD
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    I've listened to music a long time, and it's not often that a song makes me tear up or raise an eyebrow. But a couple of songs on this soundtrack do just that. Probably because I've read the book, and was touched by the story, even if McCandless was a bit unprepared and naive in his quest to put aside materialism. Someone on here said that "Society" had terrible lyrics. I I've listened to music a long time, and it's not often that a song makes me tear up or raise an eyebrow. But a couple of songs on this soundtrack do just that. Probably because I've read the book, and was touched by the story, even if McCandless was a bit unprepared and naive in his quest to put aside materialism. Someone on here said that "Society" had terrible lyrics. I wholeheartedly disagree. The lyrics are sparse, but carry quite a bit of meaning in them if you pay attention. Also, not that it matters, but paying attention means that you notice that EV didn't even write the song. Not that that subtracts anything from the performance. I think this is a very fitting and great group of songs that undoubtedly enhance the film well. Can't wait to see how it translates to the big screen. I do agree that the album is short. ITunes has an extended version for those that want to buy it from there. Expand
  15. yoavt.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    Loved it. especially track # 5. it reminds me of pj's strangest tribe.
  16. HelenM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Listening to this beautiful music makes me feel like I'm reaching into my past. A past almost forgotten, something I've lost touch with. Eddie Vedder's voice lyrics and musica has an amazing way of transforming my spirit. I'm left greatfully reaching to find myself again. Thank you for making this beautiful music Eddie.
  17. JohnP.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Awesome album- Eddie Vedder fans will love this.
  18. PaulB.
    Oct 17, 2007
    5
    Neither here nor there really, but exactly what i was expecting.
  19. rond.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Great solo project of Eddie Vedder. Altough short , great album.
  20. Josh
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    Matt P. Man of the Hour was not written by Eddie Vedder it was written by Stone Gossard, and the song Society is also a remake, hence the wording that does not fit Eddie's writing.
  21. MarkH.
    Oct 23, 2007
    5
    Without a doubt, there are some good songs on this album. As a soundtrack it is pretty decent but as an album I think it is a poor effort on the part of Vedder. The lyrics could have been a little more cryptic but what can you expect for a soundtrack?
  22. PH.l
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Guaranteed!
  23. PaulM.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    A beautiful little album that showcases Eddie Vedder's immense singer-songwriter skills. Some reviews have graded it down because of its length and simplicity -- but after all it IS a soundtrack, and in the context of the novel/movie, simplicity is the only thing that would be appropriate here.
  24. StephenM.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    Amazing, immersive, thought-provoking! You can feel the passion in every song, and Vedder's song-writing and singing are as keen as ever! If you love the slower side of Pearl Jam, or good folk music, you will be in heaven!
  25. madsl
    Sep 22, 2007
    8
    This is a pleasant surprise! Eddie Vedder showcases his songwriting abilities and makes pearl jam sound like a rather uninspiring day job in comparison.
  26. Danb.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Agree with K. This album could have been an instant classic a la Spingsteen
  27. OwenP.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    A very moving soundtrack to a very sad story. Eddie Vedder does an amazing job at matching the music with the movie, although the music often made the movie at times. I highly recommend this album to anyone under "the big hot sun".
  28. OlafurB.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    A great new side of the master.
  29. KellyP.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    This album grows on you. It is too short but, I highly recommend it.
  30. BeataB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Hear hear Paul M. I wholeheartedly agree. The soundtrack fits the messages of the movie perfectly, one of which is the continuous internal struggle of humanity to find that perfect fit between the complexities of the modern world and the simplicity that can be provided to us for free through nature. The music is truly beautiful and thought provoking - no matter the length of the songs.
  31. IC
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Anything Vedder does is awesome. He is a metaphorical God who can put thoughts into song into feeling with only an ounce of energy. What he writes, sings and touches, is in my opinion- the best music I have ever heard in my lifetime. Sean Penn has a keen eyesight (and ear) for what people want to know. him asking Eddie to sing the entire soundtrack (and play most all the instruments) was Anything Vedder does is awesome. He is a metaphorical God who can put thoughts into song into feeling with only an ounce of energy. What he writes, sings and touches, is in my opinion- the best music I have ever heard in my lifetime. Sean Penn has a keen eyesight (and ear) for what people want to know. him asking Eddie to sing the entire soundtrack (and play most all the instruments) was a natural. I give this cd a huge 10. Expand
  32. MartinL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Playing non-stop in my car!
  33. Ed
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Great work by rocks best voice. Only complaint I have is that I wish it was longer.
  34. SteveH.
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    Whatever Eddie touches turns to Gold.
  35. MelanieB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Soulful, rustic, raw, poetic. He continues to amaze me with his talent and ability to translate his voice and thoughts into music that changes me at my core.
  36. Zebrandy
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Smooth and replete with emotions. My favorite song is Society. But unfortunately a little bit short album.
  37. MatthewP.
    Sep 24, 2007
    5
    I'm of two minds in terms of this album. The first one thinks that this is mostly a standard singer/songwriter affair and the only reason I'm paying attention to it is because it's by Eddie Vedder and I love Pearl Jam. The other thinks that it's a light, airy CD that coincides perfectly with the sentiments of Chris McCandless (spelling?) the main character in the film. I'm of two minds in terms of this album. The first one thinks that this is mostly a standard singer/songwriter affair and the only reason I'm paying attention to it is because it's by Eddie Vedder and I love Pearl Jam. The other thinks that it's a light, airy CD that coincides perfectly with the sentiments of Chris McCandless (spelling?) the main character in the film. In the mindset of the latter, it succeeds as a companion for the film. For the former, it's a disappointment. In either, the lyrics are too literal and lazy. We know Vedder can write greatly worked lyrics from songs like "Present Tense" and "Man of the Hour" (Vedder's more successful soundtrack effort for Big Fish) but that wit and creativity doesn't really appear here. With that being said, it truly seems like Vedder was trying to get in McCandless' head to write these songs and considering that the man was immature, naive, and wholly acting on feeling, Vedder may have hit his target right on. Even if that's the case, most of these tracks are forgettable. The ones that could've stood out are far too short (Setting Forth, No Ceiling) with the exception of "Big Hard Sun" which you'll be singing in your head for days. The soundtrack does capture the whimsical feeling of wind blowing through your hair in anticipation of an adventure much like the movie calls for. But music like this, one dimensional, simple acoustic strumming, needs great vocals and lyrics to support it. See Bob Dylan's first four records or Bruce Springsteen's Nebraska to hear this style perfected. Case and point: Songs like "Society" in which the lyrics are pretty much terrible fail because the words distract from any mood Vedder is attempting to create. When I hear "Society" all I can think of is how unmotivated that word usage is. Vedder stopped at the first inkling here and formulated a song from it without ever working beyond and pushing his creativity. "The Wolf" is reminiscent of "ARC" on Riot Act but less powerful and far too brief. Vedder really needs to explore this aspect of his vocals...explorations of wordless, haunting melodies because it's a real strength of his. There are even more recent examples of artists who've made music in this style more successfully like Ray Lamontagne. Check out his Til the Sun Turns Black to feel what Into the Wild should sound like. I'm being so thoroughly brutal with this review because I love Eddie Vedder's music and I just want him to work harder. Expand
  38. K
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    The only reason i am not giving this a ten is because it is far too short. some of the songs could've been developed a lot more, which could've made them instant classics in my opinion, but were instead cut off at the 1:30 - 2 minute mark. No Ceiling is a great example, great song but just abruptly ends after 90 seconds. i gotta respond to some of Matthew p.'s comments as The only reason i am not giving this a ten is because it is far too short. some of the songs could've been developed a lot more, which could've made them instant classics in my opinion, but were instead cut off at the 1:30 - 2 minute mark. No Ceiling is a great example, great song but just abruptly ends after 90 seconds. i gotta respond to some of Matthew p.'s comments as well.....first of all with society, Eddie did not write that song, it's actually one of the two covers along with hard sun, so no need to get down on him for his lyrics there. i think the message of the song fits with the movie and that's probably why eddie covered it for the album. and whatever you may think of the lyrics, it is one of the best songs on the album. another thing, not a big deal, and not relating to the album itself, but i think if you looked into it you would find that chris mccandless was not as you stated, immature, naive, and wholly acting on feeling. you should probably read the book or see the movie before you make a statement like that. Collapse
  39. Lisa
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The songs on this exceptional CD roll across you with emotion and are deceptively simple. Off putting at first because of their brevity, these songs are a sparkling showcase of songwriting skills unmatched in popular music. They're simply beautiful, loaded with melody, evocative lyrics and marvelously performed. I wish they were longer, but perhaps we are lucky to have them at all. The songs on this exceptional CD roll across you with emotion and are deceptively simple. Off putting at first because of their brevity, these songs are a sparkling showcase of songwriting skills unmatched in popular music. They're simply beautiful, loaded with melody, evocative lyrics and marvelously performed. I wish they were longer, but perhaps we are lucky to have them at all. This is one of the best CDs I've picked up this year and I've purchased dozens. Song like Rise and Long Nights won't leave you quickly. Society is the weakest song for it's lyrics but Eddie Vedder overcomes even that with a nuanced, almost sobbing vocal. I can't recommend this strongly enough. 11 out of 10 but the site doesn't let us. -- they need to update the scoring on the front page. This is getting rave reviews. Why aren't they listed here? Expand
  40. RichardJ.
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    Superb-best album of '07, fits the film perfectly too.
  41. JimH
    Jun 16, 2008
    9
    A showcase for Vedder's marvelous baritone, perhaps easy to overestimate because it has been so long since PJ has really allowed him to show off like this.
  42. ArianaM
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    beautiful melodies and lyrics that really transport you into the middle of a forest, far away from the hustle and bustle of the real world. it's a wonderful soundtrack to listen to while taking a walk by yourself. the only gripe i have is that some songs are too short!
  43. fredf
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Our generation's Dylon. Wow. Finally, pearl jam doesnt suck ass. thank you eddie, well done. well done. thought you were a douche, but no, you got a fing soul. a real soul.
  44. JanetO
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Listen my children and you shall hear... one young mans effort to bring himself back to reality by leaving behind the one that man has struggled for thousands of years to evolve from. This album, each and every song, touches on either the emotion or the mindset of McCandless as he travels this remarkable journey. The brevity of the songs is well founded; they can best compared to Listen my children and you shall hear... one young mans effort to bring himself back to reality by leaving behind the one that man has struggled for thousands of years to evolve from. This album, each and every song, touches on either the emotion or the mindset of McCandless as he travels this remarkable journey. The brevity of the songs is well founded; they can best compared to snapshots in an all too short two year adventure. As I see it, Vedder chose very well using Hard Sun and Society as part of his narration. And the songs he wrote are a perfect fit as well. I put this cd on every day as I leave work. I am almost able to personally live this journey through theses words and melodies as I leave the city and head to my rural home. Brave Eddie. And thank you. Expand
  45. MacS.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Just perfect!
  46. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    The last kind of record you'd expect to hear from the Pearl Jam frontman. I'm not a PJ fan at all and never really like Vedders voice but this record is brilliant. You really have to have seen the film to understand the context of the record but it goes really well with it. I don't how it would sound otherwise. Hard Sun should have gotten an Oscar nomination for best song in a film in 2008.
  47. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    Really awesome album. I love almost every song on it, Hard Sun, Society, Setting Forth, Rise, Far Behind. All these songs performed with real feelings, straight from the heart.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. These songs all feel like a score, and that's not necessarily a good thing. They all seem to be of a piece, but musically there isn't enough imagination to distinguish them, to set the tension of dynamic in motion.
  2. Vedder effectively conjures the endless possibilities of the open road with sparse, never morose, tracks.
  3. Though the album is flawed (some tracks on the 33-minute disc are so brief that they never leave the ground), there is still something here that's compelling enough to stand alone, even without its real-life inspiration.