Into The Wild

Into The Wild Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pearl Jam's lead singer goes solo with music based on his works for the film of the same name.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. In truth, Into The Wild doesn’t sound like a first solo album. It radiates a confidence and maturity that Pearl Jam have lacked on their recent albums.
  2. Working with producer Adam Kasper, Vedder played nearly everything on the album. And that gives Into the Wild a cozy, intimate feel.
  3. Vedder effectively conjures the endless possibilities of the open road with sparse, never morose, tracks.
  4. Spin
    70
    Vedder's incantatory vocals and campfire instrumentation evoke the eerie beauty of untouched lands. [Nov 2007, p.126]
  5. Blender
    60
    It's the sound of a 24-year-old accepting death, as imagined by a lifelong misfit aging gracefully. [Nov 2007, p.158
  6. 60
    The lyrics to these songs are themselves sketchy, enigmatic, quietly rousing, windily romantic, redolent of majestic vistas, vast horizons, a landscape of personal liberation.
  7. It's accomplished but occasionally overbearingly earnest and calls to mind the Foos' acoustic alter-ego, bolstered by Sufjan Stevens-ish banjo plucks and, in 'Hard Sun', the kind of play-it-again chorus made for credits rolling over a stunning landscape.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. TeriW
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This is the most beautiful music I have heard for a very long time. What a voice, what poetry and the raw but clear, jangly music. This is the most beautiful music I have heard for a very long time. What a voice, what poetry and the raw but clear, jangly music. Mesmerising. It gives me the same feeling as a long bushwalk. Expand
  2. JanetO
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Listen my children and you shall hear... one young mans effort to bring himself back to reality by leaving behind the one that man has Listen my children and you shall hear... one young mans effort to bring himself back to reality by leaving behind the one that man has struggled for thousands of years to evolve from. This album, each and every song, touches on either the emotion or the mindset of McCandless as he travels this remarkable journey. The brevity of the songs is well founded; they can best compared to snapshots in an all too short two year adventure. As I see it, Vedder chose very well using Hard Sun and Society as part of his narration. And the songs he wrote are a perfect fit as well. I put this cd on every day as I leave work. I am almost able to personally live this journey through theses words and melodies as I leave the city and head to my rural home. Brave Eddie. And thank you. Expand
  3. MelanieB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    Soulful, rustic, raw, poetic. He continues to amaze me with his talent and ability to translate his voice and thoughts into music that Soulful, rustic, raw, poetic. He continues to amaze me with his talent and ability to translate his voice and thoughts into music that changes me at my core. Expand
  4. RichardJ.
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    Superb-best album of '07, fits the film perfectly too.
  5. SteveH.
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    Whatever Eddie touches turns to Gold.
  6. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    Really awesome album. I love almost every song on it, Hard Sun, Society, Setting Forth, Rise, Far Behind. All these songs performed with realReally awesome album. I love almost every song on it, Hard Sun, Society, Setting Forth, Rise, Far Behind. All these songs performed with real feelings, straight from the heart. Expand
  7. GV.
    Sep 20, 2007
    0
    this sucks

See all 47 User Reviews