User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 81
  2. Negative: 3 out of 81

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2010
    8
    A great album. What the critics have been complaining about I'll never understand but this album is excellent compared to Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned.
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Invaders Must Die to me, is one of there best albums. Its very upbeat, and its sorta like a Thrash Electro Rave. I don't know. But its just in my words. But here's a good example. Invader's Must Die, and Omen, and maybe Thunder, are really good songs to cruise down a road at 90 MPH. In my opinion. 10/10.
  3. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    This album is their great comeback. The albums keeps the oldschool feeling and still remains fresh. Personally, I love it too bad critics are thinking otherwise.
  4. CarlH.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Best album I have heard in a long time.
  5. JackS
    May 23, 2009
    3
    The Prodigy have done it again... unfortunately. The songs on this album merely repeat the same, uncatchy tunes with lyrics that wouldn't even seem clever to a 9 year old school kid, over repetitive 'rave noise' for over an hour. Honestly, once you have listened to the opening of "Omen" you have basically listened to the entire song. This album is neither smart, new or The Prodigy have done it again... unfortunately. The songs on this album merely repeat the same, uncatchy tunes with lyrics that wouldn't even seem clever to a 9 year old school kid, over repetitive 'rave noise' for over an hour. Honestly, once you have listened to the opening of "Omen" you have basically listened to the entire song. This album is neither smart, new or worth while. Simply, save yourself a bit of money, as this album will be forgotten in a few years time, falling to modern day, worth-while musicians like Cold play and Green Day. Expand
  6. louism
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Fans of the prodigy won't like this - as per the comments. I was disappointed with Always Outnumbered, but for me this album brings them back. It doesn't have shock value as Smack my Bitch up and Firestarter did, and it's techno. Which seem to be the biggest complaints of the critics. For me, it's excellent.
  7. NeilL
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    This album is a big "stuff you" to some of the "pansy" critics above. Ha ha.
  8. TIGERNORM
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    I've been a fan from the very start ive even met the band after a gig. this album is great full stop. the bad reviews make me laugh. if anything i would say it gets a little weaker after t he astounding "take me to the hospital" but that's only a minor quibble. well done lads.
  9. IsaacA
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    Personally I like this album, it's just an easy target for the critics.
  10. JamesMn
    Mar 10, 2009
    6
    Having been a fan of Prodigy since their debut EP, What Evil Lurks... I've heard their changes and developments every step of the way. Waited in line to buy Fat of the Land at a midnight sale and was quite rewarded with the gut punch that was Smack my Bitch Up. All of their first three albums have tracks in which their personalities suit specific moments quite well (Speedway is Having been a fan of Prodigy since their debut EP, What Evil Lurks... I've heard their changes and developments every step of the way. Waited in line to buy Fat of the Land at a midnight sale and was quite rewarded with the gut punch that was Smack my Bitch Up. All of their first three albums have tracks in which their personalities suit specific moments quite well (Speedway is always appreciated during road trips, for example). Always Outnumbered, I'm afraid, didn't really achieve this. The tracks were too short, none of the nice sprawling, hypnotic rides that permeated all the previous albums. Invaders Must Die suffers from this as well, despite returning to the more familiar sounds of past. What does begin to invoke such feelings are painfully brief, feeling like it was waved in front of your face and then snatched from you just as you started to perk up. There are no excursions here, just well packaged brief homages to things that we appreciated before. The album had much potential but ultimately feels overly edited and cut short. If not then, the tracks feel too by-the-numbers, a once criminal-to-say but now understood sentiment among long time Prodigy fans. Most tracks had me thinking that they would have been much better if double the length and instrumental with more wild experimental touches thrown in. (Colours is a nice track but utterly ruined by the vocals, Run with the Wolves is another example.) The album opens weak, takes you into a nice harder and aggressive middle but ends leaving you wondering "Is that really it? We waited 5 years hoping for a meal and we got hors d'oeuvres?" Verdict: Like a visit from an old friend, great to see them again, but because the visit was part of a layover... Leaves you feeling underappreciated and with an underwhelming feeling. Expand
  11. cambron
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    This album is perfect aside from the fact that it is nothing new. i thoroughly enjoyed it, at the very least there is no way its worse than the last one.
  12. TiagoM.
    Mar 4, 2009
    6
    Big-beat, Punk and German Techno. I'm confused. This album is a return to The Prodigy origins with a higher sound quality. Kind of a refined Music For The Jilted Generation. Although, it doesn't sound like 2009. The sonic keyboard melodies are old. Distorted voice and high pitch samples belong to the 90's. The drums seam recycled from Firestarter. Despite that, i kind of Big-beat, Punk and German Techno. I'm confused. This album is a return to The Prodigy origins with a higher sound quality. Kind of a refined Music For The Jilted Generation. Although, it doesn't sound like 2009. The sonic keyboard melodies are old. Distorted voice and high pitch samples belong to the 90's. The drums seam recycled from Firestarter. Despite that, i kind of like it. And if it wasn't the same band from the great Fat Of The Land i would give Invaders Must Die a better rate. Expand
  13. NickS
    Mar 7, 2009
    9
    Great return from the Prodigy. Run with the Wolves and Stand Up featuring Dave Grohl's drumming are highlights.
  14. StuartW
    May 10, 2009
    10
    If you wanted evidence of The Prodigy's necessity in todays musical climate, turn up "Take Me To The Hospital", and defy the listener to move. No other band sounds like this. From the dark yet melodic, "Omen", the spine tingling eery bass lines of, "Warriors Dance", or true electronic punking in, "Colours", this album is a move forward sonically whilst respecting its past in If you wanted evidence of The Prodigy's necessity in todays musical climate, turn up "Take Me To The Hospital", and defy the listener to move. No other band sounds like this. From the dark yet melodic, "Omen", the spine tingling eery bass lines of, "Warriors Dance", or true electronic punking in, "Colours", this album is a move forward sonically whilst respecting its past in re-invention. It is an album to which if you really listen you can hear the extent to which Howlett has a gift for manipulating his talent to write hooks within original sequence in tunes on every level. Whether the power and layer of beat or the beauty and form of melody has your attention drawn, Howlett's attention to electronic detail is unsurpassed and his ambition in evolving his sound to be applauded. This is true Prodigy and every song on "Invaders Must Die, divides opinion greatly which is what the great albums do. Thank you Liam and co for enriching your discography like no other could. Welcome to the scene of the crash... Expand
  15. KeithF
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Great album, great sound, great drums. Too bad there are so many posers that writes shitty reviews because they got raped in the 90s high on X.
  16. StephenD
    Mar 15, 2009
    6
    Its an album that true fans will claim is The Prodigy's return to form the truth is that theres no heart and soul here. The real question is will you listen to it in ten years ahead of the three arguabily better albums (this is better than Always Out Numbered)? Time will tell but im guessing not!
  17. MV
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    The best album from The Prodigy yet. I have been a fan since Experience and I'm putting this album along with Experience on the 1st place.
  18. ScottA
    Mar 23, 2009
    7
    its a good album, the main downfall is simply the fact that theres nothing truly original here.. but who needs to be original, as long as a band can still create and sound good in the process.. as for the low reviews, note that many magazines are not yet listed: some of the most respected uk mags such as Q magazine and kerrang, gave the album a solid 4 out of 5, as an example. Yep, some its a good album, the main downfall is simply the fact that theres nothing truly original here.. but who needs to be original, as long as a band can still create and sound good in the process.. as for the low reviews, note that many magazines are not yet listed: some of the most respected uk mags such as Q magazine and kerrang, gave the album a solid 4 out of 5, as an example. Yep, some tracks do sound a bit too retro and much like 90s rave era for many tastes, but just like a review, its an individuals opinion. Its only your one that truly matters in the end! Expand
  19. BrianM
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    This is a great return to form for the prodigy.
  20. BenS
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    The magazines critics have missed the point. If this was a new artists record it would be considered brilliant. THe reviewers for these rags just never go raving and never have and so simply don't understand good dance music.
  21. nic-
    Mar 3, 2009
    5
    Not an improvement for sure, alot of overly designed beats that are definitely lacking from such a great producer. Past his prime and not budging from his 'macho punk' beats its a re-hash of already heard songs. Take me to the Hospital and Warriors Dance are the only real highlights, making you wish such a master would try and mix it up since spanning a deacde plus.
  22. BK
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    This album is awesome and leagues ahead of "Always Outnumbered". Didn't expect this much hate.. major 90's nostalgia rush.
  23. DanJ
    Mar 4, 2009
    7
    While there are few memorable tracks, the album as a whole just reeks of energy. It seems as though the prodigy are creating this album simply to have something available on the store shelves. It's their live shows where they constantly shine and this album further proves they have more stage presence than most other bands.
  24. GDub
    May 22, 2009
    7
    It's rather infuriating that, en masse, the million & one "lifelong Prodigy fans" have come out of the woodwork to call this album a masterpiece. Because at best, this effort is just a really good party album, one that takes few brain cells to process and makes you none the wiser after it's last note rings out. The musicality is Liam's weakest yet and yes, even compared It's rather infuriating that, en masse, the million & one "lifelong Prodigy fans" have come out of the woodwork to call this album a masterpiece. Because at best, this effort is just a really good party album, one that takes few brain cells to process and makes you none the wiser after it's last note rings out. The musicality is Liam's weakest yet and yes, even compared next to AONO, it falls short [go back and give a listen]. Like most band's musical journeys thru time, each of the follow up albums to the first was a half-step behind its predecessor in quality. Unfortunately for us, IMD doesn't stray from this knuckle dragging, dumbing down formula. Omen is the obvious standout here, and the top notch production blows all other contenders from IMD out of the pond. But the tracks go downhill after the first half, and one has to seriously question the intentions of the finale, Stand Up. Of course we still want to hear melodic, non-rock, brain candy music from you... but is this safe & barely mediocre effort any way to make a final statement? It was a bold but necessary step for Liam to create AONO on his own, without being dragged down further by the non-essential boys, and it paid off the best it could for that 4th album. Bringing them back now to rehash the same scratchy, uninspired vocals of yore just seems... very dated. No-one likes an old punk rocker nor revels in his dance. Youth is as youth does, and it's somewhat embarrassing to see these two guys turned into clowns with their fading tattoos and receding mohawks. Keep the party going fellas, just make it more cerebral next time. Expand
  25. JulianM.
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    It's incredibly easy to dismiss the prodigy as just another dumb electronic band who's repetitive beats, rhythms and Melodies go round and round like the Magic Round just discovered ecstasy. For those people do think that, i think you just don't get it. Invaders must die is one half one fantastic rave which will keep your pulse racing into you're brought down to earth It's incredibly easy to dismiss the prodigy as just another dumb electronic band who's repetitive beats, rhythms and Melodies go round and round like the Magic Round just discovered ecstasy. For those people do think that, i think you just don't get it. Invaders must die is one half one fantastic rave which will keep your pulse racing into you're brought down to earth with Stand Up, But it also does have something to say. Worlds on Fire sticks out in my mind as one big massive stance on global warming, tracks like Thunder and Take me to the hospital depict a world falling apart under war and turmoil. This might sound pretentious coming from me, but I'm just annoyed at the fact people do disrespect them for there lack of lyrical input, and the repetitive sound. I really enjoyed this album, a great return to form for Liam Howlett, but still not as good as Jilted Generation and The Fat of the land. Expand
  26. steveh
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Invaders must die. The title track makes me feel 17 again. It's the dogs.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. A majority of IMD is destined to end up splattered across car adverts and in film soundtracks where the scene is of a pulsing, throbbing, energetic nature. Sadly, that won't lend it any more substance.
  2. A statement for all of the limp new rave pretenders to pack up and fuck off, a return to form rarely sounded or felt so exciting.
  3. Invaders Must Die lacks their freshness and like all supposed returns "to form" it might prove they can compete with the present generation but, ultimately, it's more facelift than rejuvenation.