Invincible Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The King of Pop's first full album of new material since 1992's 'Dangerous' features 16 tracks.

Top Track

Butterflies
Butterflies All you gotta do is walk away and pass me by Don't acknowledge my smile When I try to say hello to you, yeah And all you gotta do is not... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. At 78 minutes this is too long, and especially given his history, "The Lost Children" is offensive. But the first three tracks are the Rodney Jerkins of the year, "2000 Watts" is the Teddy Riley of the past five years, and even the prunables offer small surprises.
  2. The mix is such that the saccharine ("You Are My Life" and "Heaven Can Wait") is outweighed by the brilliant ("Whatever Happens" and "The Lost Children"), creating a record that is quite relevant while at the same time being experimental and fresh.
  3. Ultimately, the record runs too long, losing steam halfway through.... Fortunately, Jackson was clever enough to front-load this record, loading the first seven songs with really good, edgy dance numbers.
  4. The fortysomething performer doesn't have the stamina he used to, and the album quickly turns into a long run of listless ballads and silly cries for privacy.
  5. For all of the energy and money that went into it, ''Invincible'' is curiously lacking in excitement or thrills, cheap or otherwise.
  6. 'Invincible' is an album almost unbearably mired in schmaltz.
  7. Mojo
    20
    Tired, frightened-sounding and hopelessly misjudged.... Hugely disappointing. [Dec 2001, p.116]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Michael Jackson is a legend. And this is an amazing album. From the vocals of the /breaking Dawn to the beat of you rock my world, Michael hasMichael Jackson is a legend. And this is an amazing album. From the vocals of the /breaking Dawn to the beat of you rock my world, Michael has rocked my ears in this album. It is amazing and mindblowing. Expand
  2. jjyuu
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    this cd rox
  3. TebitE.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Invincible album is not a video album but yet listening to the lyrics filled the gap left out.Invincible was not well received by critics but Invincible album is not a video album but yet listening to the lyrics filled the gap left out.Invincible was not well received by critics but yet it sold very well as compared to albums in 2000s.Micheal is still "alive" and he will still do more "Great works". Just sit back and watch. Expand
  4. Max
    Nov 6, 2001
    9
    Despite most of the critics, I consider this album very good. I am a great R&B fanatic and Michael Jackson satisfies most of my needs with Despite most of the critics, I consider this album very good. I am a great R&B fanatic and Michael Jackson satisfies most of my needs with this cd. His voice is simply fantastic. They way it's recorded is amazing -- if you play it loud, seems like MJ is at home! Break od Dawn, Butterflies, Speechless: they are all very good ballads. Break of Dawn is currently my preference on the album. Unbreakable rhythm is incredible. They only tracks i did not like, like the rest, are "Heartbreaker" and "Threatened", the rest, is magic! Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had it had a normal release with music videos, live performances, commercials and etc. it would've been a huge success. But due to the dispute with Sony the album had no support, no music videos besides You Rock My World and only had one live appereance. Vocally this is perhaps the best album and MJ's as aggressive and intense as ever before. The three first Rodney Jerkins songs are incredible and there's even a Biggie-verse..

    The only negative thing that can be said about is perhaps that it's just a little too long, but I'd never take out any songs. The album starts with fast and aggressive songs, before slowing down later on.

    Personally I love this album. I've been listening to it for many years and sometimes I listen to the whole album from start to stop several times a day during the time in my car.

    Invincible doesn't hold anything back for MJ's other great albums. It could perhaps have been slightly shorter. at 16 songs with several of the songs being over 5 minutes it's a very long album, but I donæt know which song to take out..
    Expand
  6. MAQ
    Nov 29, 2012
    7
    Not Michael's best album, but neither is it his worst. Simply love the dance tracks, although the record IS a little too long. But anyways,Not Michael's best album, but neither is it his worst. Simply love the dance tracks, although the record IS a little too long. But anyways, it's much better than the music nowadays. I think critics should see Invincible as an individual album, they shouldn't compare it with his previous works. This album deserves more critical appreciation. Expand
  7. mattt
    Jul 7, 2007
    0
    Can't stand it. Biggest MJ fan up until this point. R & B? Where's the soul and funk, disco and rock? MJ used to lift me up, now Can't stand it. Biggest MJ fan up until this point. R & B? Where's the soul and funk, disco and rock? MJ used to lift me up, now he's just trying to fit in with his contemporary compadre's that he used to stand so far out in front of all those years ago. If that is what makes him happy then so be it. But 15 years on from Dangerous and I still haven't come to terms with the loss of the magical Michael Jackson of the 80's and 90's. It is the true tragedy of our lifetime. RIP Michael Jackson. *cries* Expand

See all 45 User Reviews