Iowa

Iowa Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Ross Robinson, 'Iowa' is the metal band's third album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. 'Iowa' is a fantastic metal record, ferocious and inventive, but their rage is that of psychotic adolescents rather than reasoning adults. You'll love it!
  2. Every genre needs its defining record, its high watermark, and this 66-minute tantrum is nu-metal's gift to history. A classic, terrifyingly.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    Slipknot make one hell of a racket, an abrasive amalgam of death metal blastbeats and bestial grunting. [Oct 2001, p.130]
  4. Alternative Press
    70
    Things reach such a fever pitch on this album that you can't help but laugh at times. [Sep 2001, p.75]
  5. 70
    Iowa boldly follows up, notching maximum body blows in its unyielding production, while maintaining an odd grandeur in its professed pain and anguish, its struggle for individualism.
  6. After too many calls for the end of humanity and playing the Satan card a few times, all the yelling becomes little more than a humorless joke.
  7. Those who've moved beyond efforts to scare mom and dad will do well to steer clear, though they've probably made that choice already.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 74
  2. Negative: 15 out of 74
  1. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Slipknot's follow-up to their massively successful debut album does not disappoint. This is their darkest work, and it shows. Some say theSlipknot's follow-up to their massively successful debut album does not disappoint. This is their darkest work, and it shows. Some say the very numerous expletives are unneeded and lose effect, but they just can't see that the words help convey the dark and disturbing sound that Slipknot aims to bring to their sophomore effort. Expand
  2. Pulse_of_the_Maggot
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This album is a great improvement over there first, I would rate there first CD an 8.5 only cus I thought there was alittle to much screaming This album is a great improvement over there first, I would rate there first CD an 8.5 only cus I thought there was alittle to much screaming in it, but it was still good, and Iowa was an improvemnet on this, there are many songs on this CD where you can hear the lyrics, and judging by the song Pulse of the maggots, the new CD will be fucking awsome Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2001
    10
    awesome awesome awesome
  4. Apr 18, 2016
    10
    Arguably nu-metal's finest offering. It's the darkest, heaviest and by far the scariest album I've heard from the genre, and Slipknot'sArguably nu-metal's finest offering. It's the darkest, heaviest and by far the scariest album I've heard from the genre, and Slipknot's greatest album by far. It invites you in swiftly with its shout-along lyrics, catchiness, and tortured demeanour, which shines through especially on "Gently" "Skin Ticket" and the 15-minute title track. It's simply timeless. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2016
    9
    My favourite slipknot album. seems to convey the common theme of not wanting to become apart of common member of society. for example, in newMy favourite slipknot album. seems to convey the common theme of not wanting to become apart of common member of society. for example, in new abortion "zeros and ones are everything, execute me". the shape "seperate, i've lost my only way". and the title track iowa, "I take your second digit with me... love...
    You are my first". second digit meaning the digit that makes you yourself and first meaning you're apart of the zeros and ones. That's my interpretation anyways. Many people think it's about love or something. I do think Everything ends deals with the end of a relationship though. the only song i dislike on the album i am hated (which is ironic because that may make this review hated) because of the vocal presentation in the verses. the chorus is pretty good though. overall my favourite slipknot album and with tracks like People = **** left behind and disasterpiece its hard to argue that this isn't slipknots finest work.
    Expand
  6. edm
    Jul 5, 2005
    8
    starts off with all the best intentions (People=Sh*t, My Plague, Everything Ends, Heretic Anthem) but from there it is all the same and starts off with all the best intentions (People=Sh*t, My Plague, Everything Ends, Heretic Anthem) but from there it is all the same and however great the title track may be when they start it singing, it sounds boring the rest of the time. good, but unsustainably Expand
  7. AS
    Oct 22, 2001
    0
    just because this cheap excuse for a metal band put patheticly excessive blood and guts into a 66 minute album (all of which could have just because this cheap excuse for a metal band put patheticly excessive blood and guts into a 66 minute album (all of which could have easily fit into 45) doesn't mean that it makes up for the complete lack of musical talent, or horribly written lyrics. this album has broguht the title of being "metal" down to an ultimate low. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews