Ire Works - The Dillinger Escape Plan
Ire Works Image

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The New Jersey hardcore rock band's third album is their first without drummer Chris Pennie.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Ire Works is a near-perfect pileup of craft and chaos--and it shows that Dillinger's recent injuries left some beautiful scars.
  2. The Dillinger Escape Plan are far from dead and te sound they pioneered is only getting stronger. [Dec 2007, p.171]
  3. It can be inaccessible and terrifying all at once, but in a genre overly saturated with formulaic groups, Ire Works is a true standout.
  4. The New Jersey crew is still cranking out metal as frenzied and choppy as a machete-wielding madman, yet twice as schizophrenic.
  5. 80
    Ire Works is a thrillingly hostile racket containing 13 wild bursts. [Dec 2007, p.110]
  6. The third album is equally uncompromising, atonal industrial noise offset with melodious crooning, never settling for predictable paths. [Dec 2007, p.115]
  7. I can't help but admire the wondrous technicality of the band members, but I wonder if they could have deployed it in a more tasteful way.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. May 18, 2013
    Simply an amazing album. Greg's vocals sounds at the top of their performance, and the band all come together and make a unique sound i've never heard before.
    Favorite tracks: Milk Lizard, Black Bubblegum, Sick on Sunday, Nong Eye Gong
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    This is Dillinger's best album, in my opinion, but any way you slice it, it's a great record. There's really not a bad song on the album, and they successfully display their trademark relentless energy but deepen it with the electronic elements of the "Particle" and "Wave" tracks and soften it up with "Black Bubblegum." All things told, if you're a fan of heavy music, you need to listen to this album. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2011
    Ire Works is such a great album, the two singles off the album, Milk Lizard and Black Bubblegum may put the wrong impression on what the rest of the album is like, but who would've known that Mathcore could sound so great! One you must listen to befire you die. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    I was excited to buy this album as the D.E.P. are such a critical darling. Damn was I dissapointed. With only three half decent songs, the album falls into a bumbling incoherent mess. Yes, it could be called "Math Metal" but there is a point where calculated sound becomes simple static noise. A sad, sad dissapointment. Stay away. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews