Is Survived By - Touche Amore
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    100
    While some bands might try to ignore the pressure that comes with a raised profile, Touche seem to have embraced it, producing their most frantic, panicked, passionate and best album of their career. [Oct 2013, p.81]
  2. Is Survived By is a genuine, life-affirming piece of art that’ll move even the blackest of souls.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    91
    Is Survived By is Touché Amoré feeling comfortable in its own skin, while remaining unafraid to shake off some of the dead flakes acquired over the years; and the group is all the better for it.
  4. 90
    Jeremy Bolm and his posse have taken the time and care since 2011 to ensure that Is Survived By plays off as not only their most mature and heartfelt record to date. It's the record that could well define Touche Amore's legacy.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    90
    On Is Survived By, they've outdone themselves.
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    82
    Whether or not you’re a fan of their earlier, grittier material or their newer, more polished recordings, Is Survived By is a massively engaging and surprisingly triumphant record, and you cant expect anything but for them to continue to add to their ranks of love-moshing fans with an album that is just so damn solid.
  7. Nov 27, 2013
    80
    In every other respect, this album finds Touché Amoré at its strongest, emphasizing those qualities that have made it such a draw in the past and improving those ones that had been holding it back previously.
  8. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Touche are still gonna pull at heartstrings, but now they'll suffocate and strangle you with them, too. [21 Sep 2013, p.53]
  9. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Within these songs is the struggle in realizing that self-esteem comes more from estimable acts than outside validation. Is Survived By should receive plenty praise anyway, but Touché Amoré lead by example.
  10. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    Each moment on Is Survived By is a hotly tempered emotional assault that leaves no closet-bound skeleton unaccounted for an un-torched.
  11. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Is Survived By isn’t all pit-fodder; the cinematic-sounding “Non Fiction” showcases a mastery of dynamics that’s equally as impressive as the heavy stuff.
  12. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Overall, Touché Amoré’s shift to the emotional and the subtle at times, without sacrificing the exhilarating annihilation that characterizes their music, renders Is Survived By dynamic and of higher quality than anything they’ve done before.
  13. Oct 30, 2013
    70
    Is Survived By features more of the Los Angeles hardcore outfit's furious, passionate, intensely personal sound.
  14. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    It’s a cohesive experience, solidly held together within itself, spurring re-listening not just as a conscious opportunity for thematic re-evaluation, but through the compelling, primal sense of purgative compressed energy within their sound itself.
  15. Sep 20, 2013
    70
    Exploring further realms--both musically and lyrically--with familiar hands, heads and hearts, this is an album, and a band, ready to give survival a go.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Detective, you can't just lump all indie rock and punk rock together. Sunbather was a pleasant intro to black metal because it's really not a black metal album; it incorporates large swaths of shoegaze and other genres that make it unique. Similarly Touche Amore isn't mall punk or hardcore revival, this album as well as the previous, parting the sea between brightness and me, reveal a blend of elements of emo, hardcore, post punk, and other genres found in alternative music. Just because you liked one blend and not the other, doesn't make it unoriginal. I would say however that you do make one point; this is an album for genre enthusiasts rather than genre explorers. You can see why most of the high reviews are from punk rock reviewers; while the lyrics are generally thoughtful and the songs are pretty well constructed anyone who is not used to this type of music is likely to be discouraged by the vocals. Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    This album lies with you, this album resides with you, this album cries with you, and maybe even makes you die a little inside upon its conclusion. Skeptics of music with screaming need not fear; it’s a scream that’s watered down with a spoken-word style of yelping, and it’s nothing too esoteric. If this album deals with wanting to be remembered, wanting to be accepted, or wanting to be praised, it should be rest assured that it accomplishes all of those things an more. Simply put, this is a modern classic. I want to thank Touché Amore for making this...this is why I listen to music. What they have crafted is nothing short of a masterpiece.
    Follow @PRTYNTGRVS for more reviews
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've heard this year. This group has the most self-actualized lyrics, and the melodies kill. I almost have a hard time listening to anything else right now. I love this album. It is really amazing. It reminded me of when I read Hamlet. But I felt the emotion quickly; and I couldn't sit still once I did. Full Review »