Is Survived By - Touche Amore
Is Survived By Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the five-piece hardcore band led by Jeremy Bolm was produced by Brad Wood.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    100
    While some bands might try to ignore the pressure that comes with a raised profile, Touche seem to have embraced it, producing their most frantic, panicked, passionate and best album of their career. [Oct 2013, p.81]
  2. Is Survived By is a genuine, life-affirming piece of art that’ll move even the blackest of souls.
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    91
    Is Survived By is Touché Amoré feeling comfortable in its own skin, while remaining unafraid to shake off some of the dead flakes acquired over the years; and the group is all the better for it.
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    Each moment on Is Survived By is a hotly tempered emotional assault that leaves no closet-bound skeleton unaccounted for an un-torched.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Touche are still gonna pull at heartstrings, but now they'll suffocate and strangle you with them, too. [21 Sep 2013, p.53]
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Within these songs is the struggle in realizing that self-esteem comes more from estimable acts than outside validation. Is Survived By should receive plenty praise anyway, but Touché Amoré lead by example.
  7. Sep 20, 2013
    70
    Exploring further realms--both musically and lyrically--with familiar hands, heads and hearts, this is an album, and a band, ready to give survival a go.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    This is Touche Amore's most ambitious work to date, and probably this album to me is one of the best post-hardcore albums I have yet to hear,This is Touche Amore's most ambitious work to date, and probably this album to me is one of the best post-hardcore albums I have yet to hear, composing not only post-hardcore but also emo, screamo, post-punk, metalcore etc.. And their songwritting and production and sound quality has improved a lot. It's just beautiful and will blow you away the way Deafheaven's Sunbather did this year. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    This album lies with you, this album resides with you, this album cries with you, and maybe even makes you die a little inside upon itsThis album lies with you, this album resides with you, this album cries with you, and maybe even makes you die a little inside upon its conclusion. Skeptics of music with screaming need not fear; it’s a scream that’s watered down with a spoken-word style of yelping, and it’s nothing too esoteric. If this album deals with wanting to be remembered, wanting to be accepted, or wanting to be praised, it should be rest assured that it accomplishes all of those things an more. Simply put, this is a modern classic. I want to thank Touché Amore for making this...this is why I listen to music. What they have crafted is nothing short of a masterpiece.
    Follow @PRTYNTGRVS for more reviews
    Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    It is more melodic than their previous work while still managing to retain the roughness and emotion we associate with Touché Amoré. TheIt is more melodic than their previous work while still managing to retain the roughness and emotion we associate with Touché Amoré. The lyrics are fantastic and so is the songwriting. Bottom Line: One of the must-listens of 2013. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    Firstly, people, this isn't Deafheaven, so please stop with the useless comparisons. 2 different bands with 2 different sounds, one postFirstly, people, this isn't Deafheaven, so please stop with the useless comparisons. 2 different bands with 2 different sounds, one post rock/black metal one punk rock (Rant-mode off).

    Now time for the review. This album is overall phenomenal and unique. Touche Amore really dug deep for this one, with incredibly solemn and at times melancholic lyrics. Another thing, I urge people to get past the lead singer's vocals (even though I personally enjoy them as they emphasize the band's unique sound) and actually LISTEN to the music; lyrics, instruments and all. You will find an amazing punk rock album, enjoyable through many listens.
    Collapse
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've heard this year. This group has the most self-actualized lyrics, and the melodies kill. I almost have aThis is one of the best albums I've heard this year. This group has the most self-actualized lyrics, and the melodies kill. I almost have a hard time listening to anything else right now. I love this album. It is really amazing. It reminded me of when I read Hamlet. But I felt the emotion quickly; and I couldn't sit still once I did. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Detective, you can't just lump all indie rock and punk rock together. Sunbather was a pleasant intro to black metal because it's really not aDetective, you can't just lump all indie rock and punk rock together. Sunbather was a pleasant intro to black metal because it's really not a black metal album; it incorporates large swaths of shoegaze and other genres that make it unique. Similarly Touche Amore isn't mall punk or hardcore revival, this album as well as the previous, parting the sea between brightness and me, reveal a blend of elements of emo, hardcore, post punk, and other genres found in alternative music. Just because you liked one blend and not the other, doesn't make it unoriginal. I would say however that you do make one point; this is an album for genre enthusiasts rather than genre explorers. You can see why most of the high reviews are from punk rock reviewers; while the lyrics are generally thoughtful and the songs are pretty well constructed anyone who is not used to this type of music is likely to be discouraged by the vocals. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    2
    "How old were you when you first grew out of Touche Amore?" Skillet is my favorite indie rock band, Sunbather is my favorite indie/punk rock"How old were you when you first grew out of Touche Amore?" Skillet is my favorite indie rock band, Sunbather is my favorite indie/punk rock album. Touche Amore's Is Survived By is just like Sunbather. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.