Is This It?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 493 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 493

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2016
    10
    As an avid fan of bands like the Arctic Monkeys, Kings of Leon, Modest Mouse etc. this is my favourite album of all time. Every song is captivating and should be considered an all time classic.
  2. Sep 11, 2015
    10
    Amazing album, every song is 9/10 minimum. "Soma" "Someday" "NYC Cops" "Hard to Explain" are my highlights.

    Julian's voice is very unique with the slight distortion, and everything the strokes do on this album is seemingly so effortless and exquisitely constructed and water tight. It makes you realize how hard it must have been to write this album, all songs sound so simple and it
    Amazing album, every song is 9/10 minimum. "Soma" "Someday" "NYC Cops" "Hard to Explain" are my highlights.

    Julian's voice is very unique with the slight distortion, and everything the strokes do on this album is seemingly so effortless and exquisitely constructed and water tight.

    It makes you realize how hard it must have been to write this album, all songs sound so simple and it makes you wonder why no one had thought of the idea to merge the likes of Velvet Underground, Ramones and Television, into one mainstream, catchy and modernized piece of art before.

    Really is one of the best albums to have ever been made, especially in the era in which it came. Phenomenal.
    Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2015
    10
    Kind of defines Garage rock. So catchy and such a great look at life in the city. The lyrics are clever and ring true on all subjects. Julian Casablancas may not have the best voice, but it was made for this album.
  4. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    "Is This It?" to me is the definition of a perfect album. I listen to this collection of songs when I'm down, when I feel elated, when I'm hungover and when I'm drunk. There is simply something magical about Is This It. I have never gotten bored or burnt out, never lost interest in it.

    The lyrics are minimal and effective, accurately mirroring experiences in life that can range from
    "Is This It?" to me is the definition of a perfect album. I listen to this collection of songs when I'm down, when I feel elated, when I'm hungover and when I'm drunk. There is simply something magical about Is This It. I have never gotten bored or burnt out, never lost interest in it.

    The lyrics are minimal and effective, accurately mirroring experiences in life that can range from disappointment to nostalgia. The songs speak in a way that most others cant. You can dance to them, you can sing to them, you can smile and shout to them. This is a wonderful, wonderful album.
    Expand
  5. May 15, 2015
    10
    Simply the greatest album of all time. Not one song is a mere filler, not one song is forgettable. Every little tune in this thing is a jem, even the lesser known ones like Soma or When it Started.
  6. Nov 17, 2014
    9
    For the first time in forever, I agree completely with Pitchfork. The Strokes "Is This It?" is not a god-like incredible album, and it's not the best album to ever be made. But this album is great, wonderful, fun, and occasionally powerful. It's well built and smooth. Even though every song follows the same formula, every song does offer something different. It's what albums used toFor the first time in forever, I agree completely with Pitchfork. The Strokes "Is This It?" is not a god-like incredible album, and it's not the best album to ever be made. But this album is great, wonderful, fun, and occasionally powerful. It's well built and smooth. Even though every song follows the same formula, every song does offer something different. It's what albums used to be, and as an entire experience the album is rock at its best. It's perfectly simple, and unique. I could keep going, but everyone has praised it enough. Just give it a listen, and see if you like it as much as everyone else. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    9
    You can't go for The Strokes expecting alternative rock, indie rock, metal or metacore, you just need to expect something, you're going to listen rock, nothing less, nothing more, Is This It? introduced us this superb band, but there was some details missing, maybe a more inuitive refrain, or some more complex lycris (not the cliché romantic lycris).
  8. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    Is This It? is one of the masterpieces of contemporary music and, together with Interpol's Turn On The Bright Lights, one of the very best records of the 2000's. It's a must have for everyone interested in the music of that decade.
    It's a record driven by guitars, easy punchy drumming, incredibly cool bass lines and moving expressionist vocals. What makes this one a great record is that
    Is This It? is one of the masterpieces of contemporary music and, together with Interpol's Turn On The Bright Lights, one of the very best records of the 2000's. It's a must have for everyone interested in the music of that decade.
    It's a record driven by guitars, easy punchy drumming, incredibly cool bass lines and moving expressionist vocals. What makes this one a great record is that beyond its uniqueness in the production, it has amazing excellent melodies. It gives you emotions.
    An album that redefined rock, an album that you won't forget.
    Expand
  9. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    This album it's maybe the most influential album of the 2000's. It's unforgettable, great and classic. Every song it's a classic on it's own. The best debut album since Oasis' "Definitely Maybe".
  10. May 22, 2014
    10
    Great Album, this is the first strokes album that I listened to and was impressed, especially with Julian's passionate gritty vocals. each track has a catchy chorus to it, the whole band came through with something deferent to add to this album, I'm really liking the guitar on the first track (is this it) with Julian's slow flowing vocals and a simple catchy beat it works out well . AndGreat Album, this is the first strokes album that I listened to and was impressed, especially with Julian's passionate gritty vocals. each track has a catchy chorus to it, the whole band came through with something deferent to add to this album, I'm really liking the guitar on the first track (is this it) with Julian's slow flowing vocals and a simple catchy beat it works out well . And the track (someday) with Julian's hard hitting gritty vocals and catchy beat. Many more memorable tracks. Each track on this had substance to it everything flows together well, definitely a album to check out. Expand
  11. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    The Strokes' Is This It? is not in common with the other rock albums that defined a decade but that is the beauty of this project as it has changed rock and started a new era in indie rock music. It features great guitar riffs and solos by Albert Hammond Jr. and hardcore lyrics and vocals by Julian Casablancas. The band takes you on an adventure ride with some of their best material like:The Strokes' Is This It? is not in common with the other rock albums that defined a decade but that is the beauty of this project as it has changed rock and started a new era in indie rock music. It features great guitar riffs and solos by Albert Hammond Jr. and hardcore lyrics and vocals by Julian Casablancas. The band takes you on an adventure ride with some of their best material like: "Someday", "Last Night", "The Modern Age" and "Hard To Explain" and due to this album there has been bands like Arctic Monkeys, Franz Ferdinand and The White Stripes trying to develop The Strokes classic style. After listening to Is This It? you will begin to answer the album's title with Is There More? Expand
  12. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Just spectacular. One of the best albums of the 21st century, if not ever. Every song is brilliant in its own way and all are similar, so it is a great album but not too similar so all the songs sound the same. The only let down is that The Strokes could not keep up this genius into their other albums. Easiest 10/10 I'll ever give.
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    [8.9] Simple, yet perfectly fluent instruments, strong and smooth vocals, and a certain sleekness possessed by no other band, The Strokes have one of, if not the most powerful and consistently great debuts. However much it can be compared to other artists, no other artist that may have influenced The Strokes can perfect nearly every single element of their music like they do. For what it's[8.9] Simple, yet perfectly fluent instruments, strong and smooth vocals, and a certain sleekness possessed by no other band, The Strokes have one of, if not the most powerful and consistently great debuts. However much it can be compared to other artists, no other artist that may have influenced The Strokes can perfect nearly every single element of their music like they do. For what it's worth, Is This It is really freaking good. Expand
  14. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    "Is This It?" is any bands dream debut album. This album is flawless, bringing in a new style of indie/alt rock that's still easily recognizable. This album truly reestablished the rock genre, and every song is as catchy and tasty as the next. The Strokes debut album is a landmark.
  15. Jul 10, 2013
    6
    Thoroughly and grossly overrated. While I love the Strokes to death, and I do enjoy this album at times, I can't help but feel that the lavish attention slathered onto this album is a result of my current generation easily relating to the apathy of this album.

    Julian Casablancas is actually a very technically apt and emotionally expressive singer when he deigns to be. Sadly, for their
    Thoroughly and grossly overrated. While I love the Strokes to death, and I do enjoy this album at times, I can't help but feel that the lavish attention slathered onto this album is a result of my current generation easily relating to the apathy of this album.

    Julian Casablancas is actually a very technically apt and emotionally expressive singer when he deigns to be. Sadly, for their first two albums, you almost never see that side. Playing it cool has never been so boring than in this album, honestly.

    I side with the controversial camp that alleges the Strokes get better over time, not worse (at least until the that was "Angles"). And if you look at First Impressions of Earth, where I think they are their best, you get a feel for what Julian can really do, rather than what he did when he browsed "vintage" thriftshops and used blown-out-amps like the rest of his former hipster ilk.

    Julian, and the gang too, become a lot cooler when they're not trying to act cool. This album is not one of those times.
    Expand
  16. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    "Is This It?" is without a doubt one of the most influential records of the last decade, and is outstanding from beginning to end. Forget any preconceived notion you have of The Strokes and ignore the hype many people think of when listening to them. What you're left with is 36 minutes of pure, laid-back rock. Despite the nonchalance, exemplified by the coarse garage rock sound and Julian"Is This It?" is without a doubt one of the most influential records of the last decade, and is outstanding from beginning to end. Forget any preconceived notion you have of The Strokes and ignore the hype many people think of when listening to them. What you're left with is 36 minutes of pure, laid-back rock. Despite the nonchalance, exemplified by the coarse garage rock sound and Julian Casablancas' easy going voice, the album actually displays a great deal of depth, and not just "catchiness". Each of the five members' significant contributions can easily be identified in every song; the sounds just all mesh together so well that they sound simple, and the album overall sounds homogeneous. Fabrizio's drums set a clear tone for each song and pack more emotion than one would expect (see "Hard to Explain" or "Trying Your Luck"). The rhythm is the job of Nikolai Fraiture, who holds the band together out of the limelight. Albert Hammond Jr. and Nick Valensi work together to produce intensely refreshing guitar riffs; their solos create tension only to resolve it moments later in an apprehensively satisfying manner. Finally, Julian Casablancas leads the band with indifferent yet confident vocals, which make the album so much more approachable. He sings mainly of relationships, though the lyrics don't mean that much. One song even seems to be about a fictitious drug from Aldous Huxley's "Brave New World." Ultimately, it's an album that everyone should hear, and is easily one of the greatest of all time. Expand
  17. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    Obviously the classic Strokes album, the quality of sounds are very similar to The Velvet Underground, and has this nocturnal feeling of partying and a new band going out, thats the revival spirit of the band, and that is why everybody gone insane with this band in the early 2000's, the music was in this void and it was really something new to put on the radio, back in the days
    Sorry bad english
  18. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    The Strokes first album Is This It is like something out of the rock heavens. Just clocking in at a little over half an hour, the songs are catchy and show us what a great and talented band this is. Julian Casablanca is such a hip, cool guy. And his voice is simply amazing. All In All, Is This It is a wonderful album that needs to be heard several times. A-
  19. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Simply put- The best album of the last decade.
    The Strokes begin the album on a mellow note with the Title Track- Is This It, which delves deep into the urban scene. All the tracks are rock solid and feature some of the best hooks ever made in rock and roll, with my favorites being Last Nite, Barely Legal and Hard to explain. If you are a rock n roll fan, and you haven't listened to Is
    Simply put- The best album of the last decade.
    The Strokes begin the album on a mellow note with the Title Track- Is This It, which delves deep into the urban scene. All the tracks are rock solid and feature some of the best hooks ever made in rock and roll, with my favorites being Last Nite, Barely Legal and Hard to explain. If you are a rock n roll fan, and you haven't listened to Is this it, then its a shame.
    Expand
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    The album is indeed a great raw alternative rock experience. There are no weak tracks well, maybe, Trying Your Luck, for it is my least favorite but it is still a solid good album. I really like the rhythm of the guitar and the charisma the band gives. The lyrics are simply about observations in their lives but still are great because it is written well into the songs.
  21. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    The Strokes' debut album is amazing! Jules Casablanca (lead vocals) provides a natural Lo-Fi sound, which is addictive to listen to. I can't think of a single track from the album I don't thoroughly enjoy. Recommend! Favorite tracks: Hard to Explain, Take It or Leave It, Barely Legal (yet every song has its singularity and fantastic element about it)
  22. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    "Is This It" has gone down as one of the best albums of the 15 years and, in my opinion, one of the best alternative rock albums of all time. Songs like "Someday" and "Hard to Explain" contain some of the most catchy and feel-good hooks I have ever heard, while others like the title track and "Alone, Together" contain a more authentic sound the Strokes can now call their own. Each song is"Is This It" has gone down as one of the best albums of the 15 years and, in my opinion, one of the best alternative rock albums of all time. Songs like "Someday" and "Hard to Explain" contain some of the most catchy and feel-good hooks I have ever heard, while others like the title track and "Alone, Together" contain a more authentic sound the Strokes can now call their own. Each song is different, but brilliant guitar melodies and Julian Casablancas' unique vocals remain constant throughout the album (with a bit of **** as well). And when Casablancas' vocals are at their most emotive and strongest (like on "Someday" and "Last Nite"), the Strokes pump out some of the best (upbeat or not) rock tracks of the last 15 years. Expand
  23. May 25, 2012
    9
    Classic debut album from a band that had the world in the palm of their hand for a brief moment. One of the first great albums of the 21st century.There is no weak track on here. Perhaps not enough classic tracks to warrant a 10 but a definite 9. Still sounds great when you listen to it now. Raw, wild and vibrant. It's a pity The Strokes never really followed up on their inital promise.Classic debut album from a band that had the world in the palm of their hand for a brief moment. One of the first great albums of the 21st century.There is no weak track on here. Perhaps not enough classic tracks to warrant a 10 but a definite 9. Still sounds great when you listen to it now. Raw, wild and vibrant. It's a pity The Strokes never really followed up on their inital promise. Hard to Explain is still one of my favourite songs. Expand
  24. Feb 13, 2012
    2
    I know I'm gonna be a hater, but I really don't care, it's my opinion, but anyway, I really don't see whats so great about The Strokes, especially this album. They have a few good song but there not amazing. Honestly this album and the band are really over hyped, and overstated. Their not revolutionary nor really original. Hard to Explain, Someday, and Last Nite, are the only real savingI know I'm gonna be a hater, but I really don't care, it's my opinion, but anyway, I really don't see whats so great about The Strokes, especially this album. They have a few good song but there not amazing. Honestly this album and the band are really over hyped, and overstated. Their not revolutionary nor really original. Hard to Explain, Someday, and Last Nite, are the only real saving graces on this album. Their best song is "Under the Cover of Darkness" but that's on their new album. In conclusion, the music on this album isn't gonna change the world, and I was actually kinda pissed when Rolling Stone described Kings of Leon as the "Southern Strokes". I saw as a bad statement. Expand
  25. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Love this album, so catchy, one of the best rock albums ever but that's what it is, a rock album, an album about youth and they have captured that essence incredibly.
  26. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Awesome album and a must any for any music fan.
    Favorite tracks: Hard to Explain, someday, trying your luck, the modern age, last nite.
    Also, its a shame new york city cops had to be removed from the US release, although WHEN IT STARTED is a decent track, NYC is much more entertaining.
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    AMAZING! That's really all I can call this album. Every song is worth multiple listens. The highlights of this album are definitely the title song, "The Modern Age", "Barely Legal", "Alone, Together", "Last Nite" "New York City Cops", "When It Started", and "Take it or Leave it." Dedicate an hour or two to this album, and it will be pure bliss.
  28. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The beggining of this century brought this pearl that revived indie-rock again. We see the genious Julian Casablancas working with power songs, lyrics, and even better stylish for the rock of this time. The indie bands should get more along with this kind of rock, one of the bests. Marvelous.
  29. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A fantastic album. This is a good enjoyable rock album, the best of The Strokes. It's not completely groundbreaking, but listening to this album is well worth it, from the opening track "Is This It", to the ending track "Take It Or Leave It", you will not be disappointed, unless you think The Strokes are some sort of legends.
  30. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    Forgetting all the hype, Jules, Nikolai, Fab, Albert and Nick did start a new age in rock. Every Indy band of the past decade can owe their success to this album. 11 simple short songs. All pure garage rock. This album is incredible
  31. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Yes, The Strokes are impressive and superb. Great quality rock is here, the voice is outstanding . Marked the history and changed and improved the classic genre .
  32. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This album is the greatest Rock album ever produced. Every song has an a amazing guitar riff, powerful bass lines, and the singer Julian Casablancas has the best voice I have heard in a long time.
  33. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt, probably the best album of the decade. In one word : flawless. Simple and complex at the same time, only the Strokes can do this. Unforgettable lyrics and melodies.
  34. May 26, 2011
    10
    The Strokes first album starts off with a bang with the song that shares the name with the album title, "Is This It?". After that, every song stays consistent with there signature poppy, fun, catchy Strokes sound that never ceases to amaze. This album definitetly lives up to its hype and will be a classic for ages to come with hit singles, "Last Night", "Someday", "Hard To Explain" andThe Strokes first album starts off with a bang with the song that shares the name with the album title, "Is This It?". After that, every song stays consistent with there signature poppy, fun, catchy Strokes sound that never ceases to amaze. This album definitetly lives up to its hype and will be a classic for ages to come with hit singles, "Last Night", "Someday", "Hard To Explain" and "The Modern Age". Two thumbs up! Expand
  35. May 5, 2011
    10
    One of my all time favorite albums and one of the reasons for my giant appreciation and fascination for music. Its sheer simplicity and charismatic take on rock just astonishes me. Compelling and fun lyrics, fantastic composition, great production and it truly feels like it's an album that time traveled from the 1970's.
  36. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Is This It, along with Origin of Symmetry (Muse), and American Idiot (Green Day) are for me, the 3 biggest rock albums of the 00's, although they come from different ends of the rock spectrum they all share a resemblance in how they changed the genre, is this it is not a perfect album, it just has no flaws.
  37. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    Fantastic. Each song makes me happy. One of the best albums of the past decade (perhaps the best) and one of the 500 best albums in the history of music.
  38. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    This is one of the MUST HAVE albums of the 00s. Too bad their latest albums isn't kicking like this. I hate the fact I have to type 150 characters right now.
  39. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    The only bad thing that could possibly be said about this album is that it's fairly formulaic, with the same verse-bridge-chorus-verse-bridge-chorus-bridge-chorus etc for most of the songs.
    But that doesn't stop them being great songs on a great album. There's no filler here.
    The definitive indie rock album
  40. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    "is this it?" is fantastic. truly a landmark album of our generation. its so nonchalant but somehow through the apathy true brilliance is found. yes each song has a similar sound, but they are not the same. additionally, why would you change up the sound when it is good to begin with
  41. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    I fell in love with this album after the first listen. Amazing vocals, tight song structure, amazing guitar and a chugging back beat; it's almost perfect. The strokes managed to bring back the groove, feeling and melody of 70's rock back to the 21st century. The strokes brought that rawness and soul into music, something that seems to be lacking in most music today. Not only that, theyI fell in love with this album after the first listen. Amazing vocals, tight song structure, amazing guitar and a chugging back beat; it's almost perfect. The strokes managed to bring back the groove, feeling and melody of 70's rock back to the 21st century. The strokes brought that rawness and soul into music, something that seems to be lacking in most music today. Not only that, they managed to jump start a whole new rock revival in the process, influencing countless bands. A simply essential and classic record. Expand
  42. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    Nothing bad can be said about this album. The Strokes helped revive garage rock and brought back utter coolness to the genre. Catchy song one after another, with Julian Casablancas' pure rock voice combined with Albert Hammond Jr.'s excellent guitar playing.
  43. Sep 18, 2010
    10
    An album for the ages. A thoroughly enjoyable album to listen through, mellow vibes issue from the speakers and deep lyricism interplays with masterful guitar solos and solid melody as you drift into the zone.
  44. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    my most favorite album of all time. solid from start to finish, one of the best albums to come out of the aughts. absolutely perfect, even in it's imperfections.
  45. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    The Strokes may not have been able to really follow up this wonderful debut, but thats not a terrible thing. Ensuing efforts have been nice but inferior; Is This It is where the boys could do no wrong.
  46. StevenW.
    Apr 12, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the greatest albums of the decade. By itself it kick started the garage rock revival and indie rock breakthrough of the early 21st century. Is This It transformed mainstream music from teen pop and rap into urban dwelling youngsters playing guitars. Without this there will absolutely be no Arctic Monkeys, the Libertines, the Vines, Kings of Leon, or any other skinny jean Easily one of the greatest albums of the decade. By itself it kick started the garage rock revival and indie rock breakthrough of the early 21st century. Is This It transformed mainstream music from teen pop and rap into urban dwelling youngsters playing guitars. Without this there will absolutely be no Arctic Monkeys, the Libertines, the Vines, Kings of Leon, or any other skinny jean wearing, myspace promoting indie band. Love it or hate it but never question its influence and impact on music. Expand
  47. RichardB
    Apr 4, 2010
    9
    I admit that so far The Strokes have yet to outdo their debut effort, so its understandable to think that they might be a flash in the pan. Still, coming up with an entire album of a masterpiece takes skill. Let's break it down track by track Great tracks: The Modern Age, Soma, Barely Legal, Last Nite, Hard to Explain, Alone Together Good Tracks: When It Started, Is This It, Take It I admit that so far The Strokes have yet to outdo their debut effort, so its understandable to think that they might be a flash in the pan. Still, coming up with an entire album of a masterpiece takes skill. Let's break it down track by track Great tracks: The Modern Age, Soma, Barely Legal, Last Nite, Hard to Explain, Alone Together Good Tracks: When It Started, Is This It, Take It or Leave It, Someday Meh Tracks: Trying Your Luck. Expand
  48. JoeyK.
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    Is this it, the debut album of the Strokes, is a testament to its time, still probably the greatest "indie" album to be created (for what its worth, it still has major influence) in all major venues of the alternative music industry, and to that "Is This It." receives the 10 it deserves.
  49. DougG
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Stunning Debut
  50. MichaelH.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Considering Is This It? is the debut album from hard indie rockers The Strokes, it's is absolutly amazing and incresdibly done. There isn't one song of the album that is dull or boring, each song is individual and yet works together beautifully to create a piece of exceptional music.
  51. KyleB.
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    Amazing first album for a band. The guitar playing the drumming, and the singing was excellent. Cheers Strokes and good luck on many more amazing albums.
  52. nasnou
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    The strokes neither started nor flaunted the hype, so why would it be their fault if they were hyped by the press? it still doesn't change that this album is solid, powerful and one of the greatest albums of the 2000's.
  53. thegame
    May 7, 2009
    10
    The album is purely amazing. sure it may not be the "definining" or music changing album that the media puts it out to be, but its regardless an extremely good album. Don't hate over the strokes over the hype- its not like they planned it all out?
  54. SebastianF.
    May 2, 2009
    10
    Pure bliss to listen to.
  55. DanielA
    Apr 17, 2009
    4
    The fact that it's been 8 years since this album was released and so far The Strokes haven't lived up to the hype the music press created around them, proves that all of those calling this album "overrated" were right.
  56. BenF.
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    Teriffic. I loved it since I was nine. They bring some classic rock feel into this. One of my favorite music of all time.
  57. jen
    Feb 8, 2009
    8
    No one thinks The Strokes re-invented rock and roll. That was never the claim or the point. I find it interesting that the very people who hate having the press shove music down their throats are the very people who base their opinions of a band's music purely on their media coverage. Is This It? is filled with beautifully crafted rock and roll grooves from start to finish. Pure and No one thinks The Strokes re-invented rock and roll. That was never the claim or the point. I find it interesting that the very people who hate having the press shove music down their throats are the very people who base their opinions of a band's music purely on their media coverage. Is This It? is filled with beautifully crafted rock and roll grooves from start to finish. Pure and simple. If I had one criticism, the lyrics leave a bit to be desired. Expand
  58. zacht.
    Dec 24, 2008
    5
    A pretty bland album, nothing special or unique at all. It's not horrible album by any means but the scores it recieved do not represent what it really is. Beware if you are going to buy.
  59. matthews.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    Almost every song is perfect. Very stripped down, and yet large in sound
  60. unico
    Aug 13, 2008
    6
    I still don't get how the world thinks the strokes re-invented rock'n'roll. this is a decent album, indeed! it may have brought indie/rock music to a broader audience aging, but that doesn't make it better music. clever album above average, but nothing more. 6.
  61. danielw.
    May 17, 2008
    9
    Great and easy listening, but can get a little boring. Still a very good album
  62. EinarJ,
    Apr 30, 2008
    4
    God, how overhyped, overrated and overplayed can you get ? Last Nite and Someday are the only songs worth mentioning, working as anthems of our time.
  63. JackC,
    Feb 4, 2008
    0
    The Strokes are the new Bay City Rollers.
  64. BlahB,
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Three reasons why this album is a masterpiece: Not an ounce of filler on here. Resurrected indie for the masses. Ages well.
  65. EddieEinarMrtnsnN
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    The best album of 2001. It's that simply when a band as the Strokes pulled out this excellent debut. Their street-smartness is greatly conceived through singer/songwriter Jules Casablancas' early-matured songwriting as he and the band swaggers throughout the 11 songs. They make the classic rock & roll cliche vital again; hey, just give Someday and Last Nite a listen dude.
  66. TimS
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    The best CD I've ever listened to.
  67. JimminyB.
    Nov 9, 2007
    1
    A case of Emperor's New Clothes if ever there was one. Repetitive, single-note 2/4 monotony by a talentless bunch of no-hopers. Accidentally hyped by NME before discovering they only had one idea. Now everyone has to pretend they see the genius.
  68. time
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Still waiting for that comeback album. It felt like yesterday I was listening to Is This It on the Rodney on the Roq show. He created so much hype about this band and as always Rodney was right. The British version is the way the album was meant to sound and look. The artwork for the US version is lame. It's pathetic how conservative the music industry has gotten in edition to Still waiting for that comeback album. It felt like yesterday I was listening to Is This It on the Rodney on the Roq show. He created so much hype about this band and as always Rodney was right. The British version is the way the album was meant to sound and look. The artwork for the US version is lame. It's pathetic how conservative the music industry has gotten in edition to forcing them to substitute one of their best singles, "NY City Cops." The terrorists have won because the US release was so watered down. It's still a marvelous gem and I'll give the UK(the original) version a 10. Expand
  69. adams.
    Oct 26, 2007
    2
    Am I the only one who thinks that the strokes are the most overrated band in the world? Kudos to their marketing team to create a buzz before this release, it certainly suckered a lot of people. Their tunes are catchy but ultimately sounds like a bunch of bored rich kids with nothing better to do. There's not much here to be excited about.
  70. nickfi
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    you know any good album takes a few listens to get used to and anyone who didn't give this a ten obviously did not give it the time of day. this is a breathtakingly simple and absolutely amazing album. possibly the best album of the new millennium. this is an absolutely essential album for anyone who is not deaf
  71. michaelk.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    This album is amazing
  72. marcyb
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    good stuff
  73. Oligami
    May 20, 2007
    9
    Bah! It's great shiny pop and you know it. And it does stick in your head. The US cover art and replacement track are better than the UK versions, so buy the former.
  74. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Probably one of the best albums i own. Its absolutely awesome. EVERYONE should have it
  75. NickB
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    This is the best album of our time. Pure brilliance, every track.
  76. Mithyus
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    Is This It? is a strong addition to The Strokes' history, and brings Indie Rock to a new level.
  77. GiacomoP
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    Very good album
  78. KickerTom
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    Great album. Possibly one of the greatest.
  79. PilarS
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    From the mid-tempo pop ballad 'Is This It', to the perfect pop-rock that are 'Someday', 'Last Nite' and 'When It Started', it's hard to imagine a more consistent album to come out in 2001. 'Soma', 'Alone, Together', 'Take it or Leave it' are so strong in their own simple energy that you just can't help singing From the mid-tempo pop ballad 'Is This It', to the perfect pop-rock that are 'Someday', 'Last Nite' and 'When It Started', it's hard to imagine a more consistent album to come out in 2001. 'Soma', 'Alone, Together', 'Take it or Leave it' are so strong in their own simple energy that you just can't help singing along. Who cares if they're good-looking? It's all about the music! Expand
  80. AudreyA
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Moving and powerful; there isn't a single song on this album that I didn't adore. I listen to it when I'm said, when I'm elated, when I wake up. Keep it handy. Julian Casablancas' voice sounds both bored and emotional, and at times it can carry you away. The guitar: mesmerizing; the lyrics: entirely confusing, but in its ambiguity absolutely profound. This is Moving and powerful; there isn't a single song on this album that I didn't adore. I listen to it when I'm said, when I'm elated, when I wake up. Keep it handy. Julian Casablancas' voice sounds both bored and emotional, and at times it can carry you away. The guitar: mesmerizing; the lyrics: entirely confusing, but in its ambiguity absolutely profound. This is without a doubt one of the best debut albums in rock history. Expand
  81. MC
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    If you don't like it, I suggest you listen to it more than just once. You also shouldn't judge any album on hype. This album is the definiton of pop-edged rock. They do what they do very well.
  82. ZachF
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    The best album of the decade, hands down.
  83. Danilio
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    Yeah it's straight-forward and simple. Yeah it's the most overhyped album for a long time. Yeah they sound slightly similar to The Velvet Underground and Television. But it's still a great album
  84. SAVAGETOAST
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    In my opinion the best albums since 2000 are 1. Is This It? by The Strokes 2. Kid A by Radiohead 3. The Moon & Antarctica by Modest Mouse 4. Franz Ferdinand by Franz Ferdinand 5. Turn On The Bright Lights by Interpol
  85. MarshMan
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    amazing..... it's almost perfect pop-rock.
  86. AndrewG
    Jun 29, 2006
    5
    Desperately over-rated. Mostly forgettable and suprisingly dull. This album really isnt worth all the fuss that surrounds it. However there are several quality tracks on it such as the now classic Last Night and the brilliant Someday. At its best it shines. At its worse it drowns in repetative overproduction
  87. David
    Jun 11, 2006
    3
    Thank Bob this terrible trend is over. Rock revival? Whatever.
  88. HendraS
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    salute for the strokes!!!! I gave you 10 pts for all your songs.
  89. sandieh
    May 8, 2006
    10
    Perfect.
  90. samf
    May 4, 2006
    10
    I've had this album for almost a year, and I'm still waiting for the time that I go more than a couple days without a listen.
  91. DannyR
    Apr 26, 2006
    7
    Not a bad album, but honestly are these guys that good? People have got too damn excited over the Strokes who are somewhat of a lame version of Television. Buy "Marquee Moon" and you will here music a lot like "is this it?" but less repetitive and better guitar playing.
  92. youaregayf
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    the best band ever. s gold is gay
  93. NiallC
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    Amazing debut. One of the greatest albums ever.
  94. LeahK
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    Many people said this was a bad second album, but the songs were catchy and full of the rock n roll sound i was looking for. kickass album.
  95. macmn
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    this album is simply amazing. the fast pace style keeps you wanting more
  96. Elliott
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    Enough time has passed to solidify this as one of the greatest rock albums ever made.
  97. Fletcherb
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    this is one of the most deeply rewarding discs ever made. 10 just isn't enough.
  98. josh
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    The strokes are the greatest band to come out of any musice scene/genre in the past 15 years. Seminal.
  99. S.Gold
    Jan 3, 2006
    2
    Boring, same song and style over and over. How can people call this interesting?
  100. jakep
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    "Guitar rock that knows the grit of downtown, understands the seductiveness of a timeless pop song, and recognizes that a great solo can be accomplished in 20 seconds." This album is exceptional from the opening title track to the finale. The best record to come out since London Calling.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Simply put, Strokes have every quality rock'n'roll requires from its finest exponents and Is This It is where they come together.
  2. Able to make the timeworn themes of sex, drugs, and rock & roll and the basic guitars-drum-bass lineup seem new and vital again, the Strokes may or may not be completely arty and calculated, but that doesn't prevent Is This It? from being an exciting, compulsively listenable debut...
  3. 70
    Their album is little more than thirty minutes and eleven versions of the same song. But damn if that one song isn't a good one.