Is This It? - The Strokes
Is This It? Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album from New York indie-rockers The Strokes, who have been hyped by the British music press following the release of "The Modern Age" EP in early 2001. It almost goes without saying, but the group is frequently compared to the Velvet Underground, among others, thanks in part to singer-songwriter Julian Casablancas' Lou Reed-esque vocals. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Simply put, Strokes have every quality rock'n'roll requires from its finest exponents and Is This It is where they come together.
  2. The Strokes are not deities. Nor are they "brilliant," "awe-inspiring," or "genius." They're a rock band, plain and simple. And if you go into this record expecting nothing more than that, you'll probably be pretty pleased.
  3. Delivers the goods in spades. [Nov 2001, p.94]
  4. Hype for the Strokes is well deserved--it's hard to imagine a more vital American rock band.
  5. Casablancas is all old-school rocker in the Mick Jagger/Chris Robinson mold -- an ugly/pretty boy out to beg, borrow and bleed for even prettier women while acting like nothing ever satisfies.
  6. The album is certainly one of 2001's finest, most memorable releases. It just shouldn't be billed beyond what it is: a deliciously fun romp that draws heavily upon influences like the Velvet Underground, Television, and the Stooges.
  7. A dandy little 36-minute album of simple pop tunes with all the right moves and no real motion.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 164
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Is This It, along with Origin of Symmetry (Muse), and American Idiot (Green Day) are for me, the 3 biggest rock albums of the 00's, although they come from different ends of the rock spectrum they all share a resemblance in how they changed the genre, is this it is not a perfect album, it just has no flaws. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    I fell in love with this album after the first listen. Amazing vocals, tight song structure, amazing guitar and a chugging back beat; it's almost perfect. The strokes managed to bring back the groove, feeling and melody of 70's rock back to the 21st century. The strokes brought that rawness and soul into music, something that seems to be lacking in most music today. Not only that, they managed to jump start a whole new rock revival in the process, influencing countless bands. A simply essential and classic record. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    "is this it?" is fantastic. truly a landmark album of our generation. its so nonchalant but somehow through the apathy true brilliance is found. yes each song has a similar sound, but they are not the same. additionally, why would you change up the sound when it is good to begin with Collapse
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This album is the greatest Rock album ever produced. Every song has an a amazing guitar riff, powerful bass lines, and the singer Julian Casablancas has the best voice I have heard in a long time. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    "Is This It?" is without a doubt one of the most influential records of the last decade, and is outstanding from beginning to end. Forget any preconceived notion you have of The Strokes and ignore the hype many people think of when listening to them. What you're left with is 36 minutes of pure, laid-back rock. Despite the nonchalance, exemplified by the coarse garage rock sound and Julian Casablancas' easy going voice, the album actually displays a great deal of depth, and not just "catchiness". Each of the five members' significant contributions can easily be identified in every song; the sounds just all mesh together so well that they sound simple, and the album overall sounds homogeneous. Fabrizio's drums set a clear tone for each song and pack more emotion than one would expect (see "Hard to Explain" or "Trying Your Luck"). The rhythm is the job of Nikolai Fraiture, who holds the band together out of the limelight. Albert Hammond Jr. and Nick Valensi work together to produce intensely refreshing guitar riffs; their solos create tension only to resolve it moments later in an apprehensively satisfying manner. Finally, Julian Casablancas leads the band with indifferent yet confident vocals, which make the album so much more approachable. He sings mainly of relationships, though the lyrics don't mean that much. One song even seems to be about a fictitious drug from Aldous Huxley's "Brave New World." Ultimately, it's an album that everyone should hear, and is easily one of the greatest of all time. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The beggining of this century brought this pearl that revived indie-rock again. We see the genious Julian Casablancas working with power songs, lyrics, and even better stylish for the rock of this time. The indie bands should get more along with this kind of rock, one of the bests. Marvelous. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    2
    I know I'm gonna be a hater, but I really don't care, it's my opinion, but anyway, I really don't see whats so great about The Strokes, especially this album. They have a few good song but there not amazing. Honestly this album and the band are really over hyped, and overstated. Their not revolutionary nor really original. Hard to Explain, Someday, and Last Nite, are the only real saving graces on this album. Their best song is "Under the Cover of Darkness" but that's on their new album. In conclusion, the music on this album isn't gonna change the world, and I was actually kinda pissed when Rolling Stone described Kings of Leon as the "Southern Strokes". I saw as a bad statement. Expand

See all 164 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.