User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 118
  2. Negative: 25 out of 118

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlbertB
    May 24, 2007
    10
    I have have honest to God been waiting for 10 years for this album. With Songs About Jane, It was the first time in my life, music sounded perfect. This wasn't a mood CD, or a genre CD, it was legitimately the music i felt for the first time, defined me as a what I knew my ears searched for but I never thought actually existed. I remember after feeling cool for a few years when I have have honest to God been waiting for 10 years for this album. With Songs About Jane, It was the first time in my life, music sounded perfect. This wasn't a mood CD, or a genre CD, it was legitimately the music i felt for the first time, defined me as a what I knew my ears searched for but I never thought actually existed. I remember after feeling cool for a few years when answering that generic yet oh so important question, " what is your favorite kind of music"? I could introduce MY band, the band no one ever heard of, the music when asked to describe, enjoyed that slight pause and smirk, then answering, " you really have to just listen to them". I felt I had some inept yet significant impact on there yet conceivable record sales.Then "This Love" aired on MTV. All of a sudden the question I loved to answer became almost uncomfortable to explain why a 22 year old heterosexual male loved the perceived next wave of music teenage girls decided to so horridly rip apart and make there own like TRL was the inside scoop of todays busting there asses for each hard earned album sale band. Ok, yes I had a secret love for N'SYNC too, but, c'mon, I was 16 and confused. Dont' judge. But with this album, hopefully I wont play the part of Lucy and have some splainin to do. ( That was a VERY cheap joke, I'm well aware, and for the few still reading I apologize). The pre-explained darkness of this sophomore successes does show itself in areas of this album, but I almost feel Its a bit lighter melodically in it's mid-section then the prior outing. It's defenitlly more polished and produced then the prior, and descends from the original sound in a slight and impressive way. Every song is instantly singable, even before you know the words, and stays in your head until you go back and listen to the CD and interchange it for the next one. For longtime fans this album will be a bit scary to listen to at first, given incredible amount of pressure your putting on the band to have another flawless outing, which I'm sure they are well aware of, and in this semi-decade release will be sure to have you once again look forward to explaining that simple break the ice question into why no matter who blown up, Maroon 5 still listens like there YOUR band. Expand
  2. KellyM
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Songs are all likable. It still possesses the Songs About Jane story, but with a new beat.
  3. PeterM
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Love Maroon 5, and I must say that this album is great. I think the critics are very wrong in their conclusions, but again I adore this kind of music. Especially Won't Go Home Without You is lovely. What I do not like about the album: It is just too short, only about 40 min.. But great album. It gets better the more times you listen to it!
  4. sourjyod
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    it might be poppy ... but its brilliant nonetheless
  5. JeffN.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    After five years, the world wanted a blockbuster from the quintet. "IWBSBL" manages to supply this and more, amongst demands of fans with loves as varied as Justin Timberlake to Fall Out Boy to Usher (often all in one crazy kid, too). To be fair, Levine does seem thirsty to capitalize on the desire for blue-eyed soul, following in the trend of the Police and Hall & Oates. But what After five years, the world wanted a blockbuster from the quintet. "IWBSBL" manages to supply this and more, amongst demands of fans with loves as varied as Justin Timberlake to Fall Out Boy to Usher (often all in one crazy kid, too). To be fair, Levine does seem thirsty to capitalize on the desire for blue-eyed soul, following in the trend of the Police and Hall & Oates. But what supercedes this is M5's everpresent aim to craft big, stylish sounds that modernize and pay tender homage to their roots--that's what true, that's what's here, and that's what shines. Expand
  6. MartinP
    May 24, 2007
    8
    Sounds a little different, but it's still Maroon 5. Not as hot as "Songs About Jane" but this still leaves me begging for more.
  7. mikes.
    May 26, 2007
    8
    A more mature album from maroon 5, with more complex melodies and stronger songwriting. Their music crosses between n sync with real instruments and throw in a funky bee gee's twist. A throwback to 90's pop right down to the production, this is a polished and satisfying pop album. Also a refreshing listen, maroon 5 sounds unique and confident in a type of pop their few bands are A more mature album from maroon 5, with more complex melodies and stronger songwriting. Their music crosses between n sync with real instruments and throw in a funky bee gee's twist. A throwback to 90's pop right down to the production, this is a polished and satisfying pop album. Also a refreshing listen, maroon 5 sounds unique and confident in a type of pop their few bands are attempting anymore, not to mention they do the sound extremely well. Expand
  8. HeatherW
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    SOOO Catchy!!!! God it's such a great summer CD
  9. JessL
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    This album is great! I was thoroughly impressed. THe first time I heard it, it put me in such a good mood!
  10. EdgarL
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    New sound, just as good as the first. abit mroe edgy too
  11. KarlE.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best album I have heard in my entire life.
  12. HaseebM
    May 22, 2007
    10
    The band took a huge risk changing their sound. They were successful with creating a beautifully crafted album. Every track flows together. Simply incredible!
  13. OzkrC
    May 22, 2007
    9
    It has alitle bit the same sund from the other cd, but i like thise one a lot to
  14. e
    May 22, 2007
    7
    Does anybody else wish they would just stop doing ballads? They upbeat stuff is great.... but the ballads kinda suck.
  15. Adam'sgirl
    May 22, 2007
    10
    i brought the CD like as soon has i got up this morning from wal-mart, cause i'm such a huge maroon 5 fan, and this album is awesome! I love just about all the songs, i'm listening to it right now!
  16. Justin
    May 22, 2007
    8
    The uptempo tracks are very, very good, with "Can't Stop" being the best of them. The ballads are a little hit-or-miss, but "Back at Your Door" is excellent. Overall, it's not as consistently impressive as the debut but it certainly has its brilliant moments.
  17. RustyS.
    May 23, 2007
    8
    Maroon 5 has definitely evolved into more of a pop band - it's quite evident with this new album. However pop does not necessarily equal disposable crap. This is head and shoulders above the current pop scene. As someone who mostly listens to indie-rock, the fact that I like this should say something. It's funky, catchy, and sometimes even genuine. Lyrics are definitely spotty Maroon 5 has definitely evolved into more of a pop band - it's quite evident with this new album. However pop does not necessarily equal disposable crap. This is head and shoulders above the current pop scene. As someone who mostly listens to indie-rock, the fact that I like this should say something. It's funky, catchy, and sometimes even genuine. Lyrics are definitely spotty and a tad basic, but hey, it's pop right? Overall, the album has a good consistency to it and unlike most of the crap on the radio today, I think I'll still be listening to this awhile from now. Beware though, a few of these songs are very radio-friendly, so expect them to be incessantly played on the top 40....so do yourself a favor, don't have these good songs be ruined for you by being subjected to them over and over again. Expand
  18. Jesse
    May 25, 2007
    9
    A really great pop-album! What it lacks in "Songs about Jane"style sould it makes up for in catchy-ness. I do agree with one of the critics who said that lyrically the record is not up to par...It makes Adam Levine sound like a veeeery shallow guy... None the less, the tunes really flow beautifully
  19. DesB
    May 25, 2007
    10
    Outstanding! With much anticipation Maroon 5 has successufully released another masterpiece. Lyrical genius' can paint a picture like no other band! Love it! This CD is a must have!
  20. AlexR
    May 29, 2007
    9
    This is a really solid CD. That review by Playlouder is the most immaturely written piece of journalism I have ever read. This CD definately isnt for eberyone, but it is infectuous and is solidly performed by a grammy winning artist.
  21. CarlyS
    Jun 12, 2007
    7
    I expected this album to be more different from their first one. Yes, obviously they did put a bit more into this album, and it is really catchy, some songs dissapointed me, while others made me want to get up and start dancing =]
  22. ChristineS
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Great songs, beats and lyrics!
  23. Maroon5fan
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    This album is the best I have ever heard along side the songs about Jane album. I have never heard such a unique singing voice like Adam's! I love how when he sings live it's sounds soo much like the cd. I was waiting forever for them to make this second album and I hope that in the near future there will be a third! I have been listening to this cd for a month straight without This album is the best I have ever heard along side the songs about Jane album. I have never heard such a unique singing voice like Adam's! I love how when he sings live it's sounds soo much like the cd. I was waiting forever for them to make this second album and I hope that in the near future there will be a third! I have been listening to this cd for a month straight without putting it away and being bored of it. It is worth the money to buy this album! Expand
  24. Giancarlo
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    Love the album, but most of the songs sound similar!
  25. RodrigoP.
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Not as good as Songs about Jane(the only cd good enough to hear every track without gettin' boring 'til this day)... but still great...
  26. LeonA
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best albums of 2007, i agree completely with the poster below me that the only mistep is kiwi, and can't stop as well i think lol. If i never see your face again, makes me wonder and wake up call are pure party songs. Won't go home without you, Nothing lasts forever, Not Falling apart, Better that we break, back at your door are all beautifully written love This is one of the best albums of 2007, i agree completely with the poster below me that the only mistep is kiwi, and can't stop as well i think lol. If i never see your face again, makes me wonder and wake up call are pure party songs. Won't go home without you, Nothing lasts forever, Not Falling apart, Better that we break, back at your door are all beautifully written love songs that WILL stand the test of time, and you wil find yourself falling in love with them instantly. and goodnight goodnight is going to be their number 1 hit, and will also be the single that propels their album to multiplatinum status (if it isn't already) if they ever decide to release it! Don't even get me started on the "BONUS TRACK" infatuation which is in fact better than 90% of rock music out right now. This is an album that ANY maroon 5 or ANY fan of popular music will enjoy. the lyrics are so well composed and "sing alongable" it wouldn't be a stretch to call it the karaoke album of 2007 as well. In summation, don't believe the haters saying this album sucks, it is well worth the 15 bucks it costs after listening to this, i can understand why it took them so long to release a sophmore album. With quality like this who can blame them! Expand
  27. RalphS
    May 22, 2007
    9
    Great album. Funky, catchy pop - doesn't get any better.
  28. JonathanL
    May 22, 2007
    7
    Generally good, but not many songs that stand out or don't just seem "blah".
  29. mikeg
    May 23, 2007
    10
    What can I say these guys know what makes a tune classic and arent afraid to use what has gone before to create what will last for years to come. ultimately hummable singable and buyable
  30. TYlerV
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Excelent, complete, and emotional. Outstanding album
  31. Erika
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    It's not as good as the first one but it's still up there. I like their new sound and all of the songs are awesome. The cd was worth my money.
  32. MikeM
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    I don't know what you people are talking about.this album is a 10 out of ten.It's a pure dance mood album.It's way more mature than Songs about Jane and shows absolute voacl prowess.The one mistep is Kiwi,but the rest of the songs (Goodnight Goodnight with the slight Kryptonite guitar at the start),like Wakeup Call,are instant classics for radio.
  33. Apr 13, 2011
    8
    Another perfect example of pop melodies that have killer hooks and also good song-writing. Maroon 5 mix synth-rock with pop anthems and all of it sounds great. Adam Levine is a great singer and also writes really good lyrics. He sings of having sex and walking in on his girlfriend having sex with another man and him killing the man. He let's it all out in this album and it was a step inAnother perfect example of pop melodies that have killer hooks and also good song-writing. Maroon 5 mix synth-rock with pop anthems and all of it sounds great. Adam Levine is a great singer and also writes really good lyrics. He sings of having sex and walking in on his girlfriend having sex with another man and him killing the man. He let's it all out in this album and it was a step in the right direction. All In All, It Won't Be Soon Before Long is a great album. B+ Expand
  34. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    One of the best pop albums I think I've ever heard. I don't know how much that's saying, but whatever. Levine's vocals are fantastic, and the instrumentation is properly simple, rough, and right in your face... or... ears, I mean.
  35. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    I'll admit that I was a little disappointed in It Won't Be Soon Before Long when I first purchased it a few months back but it eventually grew on me and now I really like it. While it doesn't compare to Songs About Jane, it still provides you with the same kinda of catchy, tightly produced, lyrically clever songs that display the emotions captured with it. My best advice to you is to notI'll admit that I was a little disappointed in It Won't Be Soon Before Long when I first purchased it a few months back but it eventually grew on me and now I really like it. While it doesn't compare to Songs About Jane, it still provides you with the same kinda of catchy, tightly produced, lyrically clever songs that display the emotions captured with it. My best advice to you is to not compare IWBSBL to SAB because its a completely different direction almost so it stands on its own. Expand
  36. May 27, 2015
    8
    A great album.Maroon 5 is my favorite pop rock band.Their songs are catchy and really good to listen, They a different style of making a good music.Some people say it is annoying but for me I don't really care about it due to the fact that I love Maroon 5 but I really much prefer to the old Maroon 5 but they try something new every song they make whether is catchy or just annoying.
  37. Jun 13, 2016
    10
    This album is awesome!!!!!

    It starts you off in a good mood with the first 4 tracks and with some awesome pop rock music and Adam sounds great there too !!!!

    The Music is catchy and fun!! A really great album
  38. Jul 5, 2017
    9
    Este álbum es la expresión al máximo de lo que presenta enamorarse fracasar y sentir la depresión de tu vida...
    Si bien es como contar una historia donde pasas de estar de lo mejor con tu novia a tratar de no desmoronarte y aceptar que la perdiste, esta es de esas piezas que no son para cualquier persona, la expresión de dolor, arrepentimiento, autocompasión que te transmiten sus
    Este álbum es la expresión al máximo de lo que presenta enamorarse fracasar y sentir la depresión de tu vida...
    Si bien es como contar una historia donde pasas de estar de lo mejor con tu novia a tratar de no desmoronarte y aceptar que la perdiste, esta es de esas piezas que no son para cualquier persona, la expresión de dolor, arrepentimiento, autocompasión que te transmiten sus canciones pueden hacerte sacar mas de un suspiro o una lagrima, no es de ese tipo de música que le puedes dedicar a tu ex novia para mostrarle que te duele y te sientes miserable, o para demostrarle que la vas a superar, es esa música que puede ambientar las peores situaciones de tu vida y si te sientes lo suficientemente bien para escucharlas, te hacen sentir una gran nostalgia, es de ese tipo de música que puede jugar con tus emociones según la situación, simplemente un álbum mágico en cada canción y que cada vez transmite mensajes mas profundos según van avanzando las pistas
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. If some of the ballads aren't as distinguished as the livelier tracks, they nevertheless are as sharply crafted as the rest, and the end result is that It Won't Be Soon Before Long is that rare self-stylized blockbuster album that sounds as big and satisfying as was intended.
  2. Blender
    70
    The cocky songs mask a lot of misery. [Jun 2007, p.107]
  3. There's not a lot to fall deeply in love with here, but Levine and crew understand the importance of packing as much thrill as possible into each tryst, leaving you with mostly good feelings and no lasting emotional scars.