It's Blitz - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
It's Blitz Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the New York band was produced by Nick Launay and Dave Sitek.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. So let any indie bands planning a trip to the keyboard shop take note: this is how it's done, with a desire to surprise and be surprised. [May 2009, p.104]
  2. That they emerge victorious is a tribute to the strength of these fine songs as well as some seriously glamourous production attitude.
  3. If this is the band's "Parallel Lines," they've brought tunes worth comparing.
  4. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, as you knew them, are dead. Just don’t be surprised if you like new version a little more.
  5. Between its violently happy songs and its softer ones, It's Blitz! ends up being some of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' most balanced and cohesive music.
  6. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs haven’t changed as much as they’d like us to believe. They still write great pop rock songs.
  7. Six years later, the New York trio's third LP, It's Blitz!, is only as subversive as its cover image.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This album is incredible, I love how their change from rock to a more electro/pop sound. I love every track on the album. In my opinion theThis album is incredible, I love how their change from rock to a more electro/pop sound. I love every track on the album. In my opinion the best Yeah Yeah Yeahs album by far Expand
  2. SiddhartaK
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    It's been a long time since I've been so addicted to an album. This is amazing. Incredible. I love it! It's great with a It's been a long time since I've been so addicted to an album. This is amazing. Incredible. I love it! It's great with a little change, and just as Nick Zinner said: "You can't do the same thing over and over, or you'll end up being a parody of yourself". Expand
  3. GreenJ
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    I've really gotten to liking the YYYs more with each album... Some will put it down and call it "overproduced," but that is just a I've really gotten to liking the YYYs more with each album... Some will put it down and call it "overproduced," but that is just a narrow and ignorant stance on an extremely polished, lovingly crafted album. The band just keeps getting better... Their live performances are spectacular, and their music is lyrically beautiful. I can't wait to see what they do next. Expand
  4. Goose
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    Some people may not like the fact that the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have changed their sound a bit. But I think this is the perfect direction they Some people may not like the fact that the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have changed their sound a bit. But I think this is the perfect direction they could've taken. The album contains some of the band's best material (e.g., Soft Shock, Skeletons, Hysteric and Little Shadow). This CD will only disappoint you if you're looking for "Fever to Tell Part II". Expand
  5. TobyH
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    Brilliant from start to finish- especially Heads Will Roll, Soft Shock and Dragon Queen. Only Dull Life lets it down.
  6. FredR
    May 31, 2009
    8
    Not a genre that I usuallly enjoy but It's Blitz is definitely in my top 10 so far this year.
  7. JerryJ
    Apr 3, 2009
    1
    This band is still releasing more garbage? This album is just as bad if not worse than the last 2.

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.