Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Nothing diverges too far from that model here, and even though two more albums of the same might tax the bedroom-pop-processing part of the brain, this is clearly Gough's most accomplished work in years.
  2. Gough has crafted a beautiful sonic masterpiece that is equal parts raw, open emotion and simplicity and a picture-perfect example of a truly layered production.
  3. Although, Gough has always said that he finds music instantaneous and the lyrics the hardest part to write, It's What I'm Thinking showcases Gough at his most insightful to the human condition and himself.
  4. 80
    Producer Stephen Hilton's light-handed touches mesh well with the mood of the brooding Briton, but the hints at electronica keep things lively enough throughout.
  5. It's not laden with hits, but in songs like the title track and beautiful, hook-laden What Tomorrow Brings, Chorlton's finest relocates the mojo that made everyone so excited in the first place. This story is far from over.
  6. Guilty of knocking underdeveloped material out one minute and trying to be too clever the next, It's What I'm Thinking... is surely the most focused and mature record of his career.
  7. Though It's What I'm Thinking, Pt. 1 finds Badly Drawn Boy still getting back on his feet, it has enough encouraging moments for fans to stick around until he hits his full stride.
  8. Alternative Press
    There's something for everyone on Photographing Snowflakes, and Gough's on the right path for a terrific trilogy. [Nov 2010, p.109]
  9. Dec 22, 2010
    Whether you feel Photographing Snowflakes is a true return to form will depend on your reception of its six-minute title track centerpiece, on which Gough drowsily monotones his way through 10 increasingly whimsical verses with no chorus in sight; you'll either find its slow-motion, pedal-steeled sway charmingly wistful or tediously self-satisfied.
  10. Dec 21, 2010
    While this album is far from The Hour of Bewilderbeast part two, it does represent a return to Gough's more stripped-down formula of simple, ramshackle pop songs built on electronic and symphonic detritus.
  11. Uncut
    Pitched as the first part of a trilogy, this is a batch of effortlessly lovely tunes, warmly intimate and muzzy with reverb. [Nov 2010, p.81]
  12. Q Magazine
    Too Many Miracles, I Saw You Walk Away and This Electric come lovingly swaddled in strings and, if only for their duration, make the world a nicer place. [Nov 2010, p.105]
  13. Dec 21, 2010
    His return to more intimate recording can't conceal that there's nary a melody worth savoring amid the autumnal folkiness.
  14. Under The Radar
    Oct 26, 2010
    Less than the sum of its parts, here's hoping that whatever Gough is thinking for part two includes hiring an editor to help him provide form to all this meaning. [Fall 2010, p.58]
  15. Sadly, much of the rest conforms to a malaise that's afflicted him since 2002's Have You Fed the Fish?: repetitive tracks consisting of one looping half-melody that outstays its welcome by several months.
  16. Unshowy, slowly revealing its pleasures, this is subtle, and clever, but rather too downplayed for its own good.
  17. Although there are still individual songs here and there that are over-the-top, this album sounds more like the Badly Drawn Boy of old. But since the songs aren't up to the high standards he set for himself a decade ago, It's What I'm Thinking is more like Gough doing a mediocre imitation of early Badly Drawn Boy than recapturing what once made him great.
User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 18, 2010
    Not my favorite or least favorite Badly Drawn Boy album. My biggest problem with this album is more on the production side of things. MostNot my favorite or least favorite Badly Drawn Boy album. My biggest problem with this album is more on the production side of things. Most of the songs are very echo-y and unclear. The songs all sound like they were taped in an unfinished basement or as if they are all poor quality mp3 versions of actually songs. The song writing is there though. Full Review »