IV Play

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: May 28, 2013
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    This is an album of average to good songs, with only a few highlights.
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    60
    He sounds bored. So am I.
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    Even Dream’s production, which was voluptuously orchestrated, has turned static; there’s an ashen militarism to be heard in these slow, sad songs.
  4. May 28, 2013
    60
    The-Dream barely breaks new ground artistically and the set doesn’t approach his finest effort, “Love vs. Money,” but the music is often so seductive it’s easy to ignore a misstep (“New Orleans”) and often distracting auto-tuning.
  5. May 28, 2013
    50
    There’s enough pulling power to draw you in, just not enough to get you hooked.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    40
    As IV Play demonstrates, the well of ideas has run dry and the magic is gone.
  7. May 28, 2013
    40
    He's never been one for lyrical subtlety, but this set contains several stretches of monotonous, joyless carnality.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Okay so the reason I'm giving this a 10/10 is because I love The-Dreams sound and type of music he can produce only he can produce this typeOkay so the reason I'm giving this a 10/10 is because I love The-Dreams sound and type of music he can produce only he can produce this type of sound his RNB is unique and he never sells out as an artist he stays loyal and doesn't go with the mainstream dance songs and techno rubbish we see in the charts today this album has 2 bad songs turnt and tron the rest are ace it's a new sound dream but hints at the guy you grew and love Full Review »
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    If you love that ratchet music, you'll love this ratchet album. My favourite songs on there are Turnt and Where have you been. Decent albumIf you love that ratchet music, you'll love this ratchet album. My favourite songs on there are Turnt and Where have you been. Decent album with innovative features. Full Review »