• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: May 28, 2013
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. May 29, 2013
    69
    Sticking with him through the machinations of the music industry has never been more difficult than it is now, but IV Play still has its rewards.
  2. May 28, 2013
    70
    If his booty-poppin' subject matter isn't original, the kaleidoscope R&B butter-storms he cooks up give his sexcapades a hallucinatory drama.
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    Despite gestating for years, IV Play is an album that feels unattended to.
  4. 83
    The-Dream is one of R&B's best talkers and he flexes that weird, wordy, girl-crazy mind all over IV Play's lush love jams. [31 May/7 Jun 2013, p.136]
  5. 70
    Interestingly, the album’s emotive selection happens to be its most musically daring as well.
  6. May 30, 2013
    80
    IV Play is a collection of sexy jams that falls somewhere between Usher-type bedroom music and the progressive R&B The-Dream’s great at.
  7. May 28, 2013
    70
    IV Play may not always hit that high bar, but the artist's persistence and perfectionism are clear, and the results bear as pure of a pedigree as ever.
  8. May 31, 2013
    74
    IV Play succeeds in spades with its production and songwriting.
  9. May 28, 2013
    70
    [IV Play revisits] Nash’s usual tropes through a more varied sound palette that demonstrates a willingness to experiment and, at rare and glorious points, a raw sense of urgency fuelled by his bitterness.
  10. May 28, 2013
    70
    Notwithstanding a couple musical blemishes, IV Play diligently continues The-Dream’s tenure as one of the premier acts in R&B.
  11. May 30, 2013
    70
    IV Play finds Dream delving into more sounds and styles than ever before.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Okay so the reason I'm giving this a 10/10 is because I love The-Dreams sound and type of music he can produce only he can produce this typeOkay so the reason I'm giving this a 10/10 is because I love The-Dreams sound and type of music he can produce only he can produce this type of sound his RNB is unique and he never sells out as an artist he stays loyal and doesn't go with the mainstream dance songs and techno rubbish we see in the charts today this album has 2 bad songs turnt and tron the rest are ace it's a new sound dream but hints at the guy you grew and love Full Review »
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    If you love that ratchet music, you'll love this ratchet album. My favourite songs on there are Turnt and Where have you been. Decent albumIf you love that ratchet music, you'll love this ratchet album. My favourite songs on there are Turnt and Where have you been. Decent album with innovative features. Full Review »