• Record Label: Maverick
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 21 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KatieP
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    I love this CD. Unlike everyone else, Jagged Little Pill isn't my favourite CD. However, I found myself LOVING the acoustic versions. Some are bad (Right Through You where she sounds like she's yodelling), but others are utterly brilliant (such as the new version of Your House with music added). She sounds great, definitely worth the $20.
  2. AA
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    Alanis has a great voice and this album showcases it. F_ck all that "we miss the rage" stuff - she has mellowed out. Deal.
  3. D
    Jul 27, 2005
    9
    Not as fresh or inventive as it could have been, but great nonetheless. The songs were great to begin with.
  4. PatrickK
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Everyone is on here saying "oh, Alanis lost her edge", but that isn't the point, it is acoustic, it is calm, and it is showcasing the music and the past.
  5. DougPop
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    At first, like many, I thought that Morissette was just releasing this CD to make a quick buck and I thought this would just be a rushed POS....boy was I W-R-O-N-G!!!!! What a freakin' masterpiece! Her vocals on this CD are simply amazing, and while a few cuts are slightly "worse" than the original, this CD has given most of her hit tracks a whole new life. A MUST BUY FOR SURE!!!! At first, like many, I thought that Morissette was just releasing this CD to make a quick buck and I thought this would just be a rushed POS....boy was I W-R-O-N-G!!!!! What a freakin' masterpiece! Her vocals on this CD are simply amazing, and while a few cuts are slightly "worse" than the original, this CD has given most of her hit tracks a whole new life. A MUST BUY FOR SURE!!!! You will NOT regret it one bit. Expand
  6. LS
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    This is a great acoustic version of one of the best albums of the 1990's.
  7. LloydO
    Aug 12, 2005
    9
    While her original masterpiece may have shocked the world, this album is special in its own way. It will never compare to the original, but it does prove that Alanis has a tremendous voice and that her voice has matured immensely over the last 10 years. Let's hope that we have more original songs coming from this genius in the future. It would be sad if we didn't get at least While her original masterpiece may have shocked the world, this album is special in its own way. It will never compare to the original, but it does prove that Alanis has a tremendous voice and that her voice has matured immensely over the last 10 years. Let's hope that we have more original songs coming from this genius in the future. It would be sad if we didn't get at least one more groundbreaking album, like the first Jagged Little Pill, from this marvellous talent. And I believe she still has it in her. Expand
  8. MatthewS
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    This cd is stunning. Her vocals are much more prjective and powerfully wrung with raw emotion, clarity ans beauty 10 years later. I was 14, when the original was released. To go back and re-visit the lyrical content is amazing, as I relate to many of the universal and encompassing compositions. The y are stark and tender, now and full of grace, in this simple yet effective edition. I This cd is stunning. Her vocals are much more prjective and powerfully wrung with raw emotion, clarity ans beauty 10 years later. I was 14, when the original was released. To go back and re-visit the lyrical content is amazing, as I relate to many of the universal and encompassing compositions. The y are stark and tender, now and full of grace, in this simple yet effective edition. I prefer this to the original, as it's just better. At first I iddn't but this is in my player non stop. Oh, and on 'Forgiven' she no longer sings like Axl Rose, which is great in itself. Expand
  9. ChrisJ
    Aug 17, 2005
    9
    Alanis has gone on to accept and beautifully transcend the words and themes from her original recording. Not only have her vocals matured in a most respectable manner, so has she.
  10. mark
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    A classic.
  11. DamianM
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    No, Alanis is great. Buy the album. She is an amazing and gifted and HONEST artist.
  12. Wolfii
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    Great work and I believe every word - but why are you getting so sad, Alanis... :(
  13. Ino
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    Raise up) take stand, Alanis One more pill?...ok) why not thru chemisytry to better life
  14. JuanPabloCebollònH
    Apr 17, 2006
    9
    I think that the record is not the best but it shows the other side of alanis's vocal evolution and her voice is wonderful and amazing but some tracks from jagged little pill acoustic are a little boring.
  15. IzatA
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    don't believe the critics... they're deaf....seriously! the album is very heartfelt n touches ur heart with tracks like Perfect, You Oughta Know. Buy Buy Buy!
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. For a woman who once used lyrics to shock listeners, there's nothing terribly shocking about this new CD.
  2. 40
    Despite scattered flashes of uncharacteristic lightness, she rarely tempers the fury that drove the originals with the more accepting perspective that's guided her subsequent efforts. [Jul 2005, p.119]
  3. Though pretty, the stripped-down treatment... is mostly free of innovation, softening rather than sharpening the originals' enjoyably jagged edges. [17 June 2005, p.79]