• Record Label: Maverick
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 55
  2. Negative: 22 out of 55

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. salomey
    Sep 3, 2005
    3
    i am giving this 3 points because something interesting might have happened after i fell asleep while listening to this album, so i might have missed it 3 points is already more than the number of good points alanis has for recording and even releasing this
  2. Drub
    Jul 27, 2005
    3
    wow, not good.
  3. NathanC
    Oct 17, 2005
    3
    The world could have gone without this one. A voice and a guitar would have been nice. The lyrics are still great but the arrangements are awful, and I hate the vocals.
  4. matta
    Jul 26, 2005
    3
    Proof that Alanis Morissette never had any real talent to begin with.
  5. Fab
    Aug 3, 2005
    2
    Why did anyone ever care?
  6. KingInk
    Sep 14, 2005
    2
    Why did I listen to this utter drivel? It intrigues me that people give Alanis any credit for anything at all - ever - given that fantastic artists such as PJ Harvey and Kim Gordon, let alone Marianne Faithful, were doing everything this whinger tries to do but does not even come close to doing. All of her albums are crap and boring, and now she's added a new one to her list.
  7. Launce
    Aug 3, 2005
    2
    I have to admit I was never a fan of the original version, judging it a bit too whiny and adolescent for my taste. But the remake takes inferior material and makes it completely colorless. I usually like acoustic treatments, but in this case run, run, run as fast as you can.
  8. ArendvanE
    Oct 4, 2005
    2
    Ha, ha, ha, ha, ...aaaaaah
  9. ShelbyT
    Jul 29, 2005
    2
    Some people need to cut their losses and move on.
  10. PhilH
    Oct 17, 2005
    2
    Almost totally devoid of charm or substance. The best thing about this version of Jagged Little Pill is that it makes me want to listen to the original. I think the term is "creatively bankrupt"
  11. PeterPaul
    Oct 19, 2005
    1
    She sounds like she's whining out her arse. Save it for someone who cares, Alanis. Now get over it! Love hurts, yeah we know. What a bitch love is, yeah we know. Guys are assholes, yeah-sometimes. Women can be worse & Alanis proves it with each and every release.
  12. RageEnraged
    Nov 16, 2005
    0
    The album sucks, it's a debasment....i'd give a 10 to the critics for giving their correct judment...yuck....
  13. Spriggangirl
    Oct 22, 2005
    0
    What the fuck was Alanis thinking?Is she druged or is she confessing too much?
  14. mr.Rotten
    Oct 28, 2005
    0
    Ever get the feeling you've been chea-ted?
  15. rauljulia
    Sep 27, 2005
    0
    It was derivitive & pathetic the first time around and even worse now.
  16. ScottyS
    Oct 27, 2005
    0
    Sigh, when struggling musicians have lost their edge and appeal and delude themselves with an "it sounded like a good idea at the time" project, you get Jagged Little Pill Acoustic. And a rating of 34, the bottom of the barrel. Well I guess she needs to try to pay the rent somehow. Personally I suggest getting a job as a waitress. It would save the rest of us the trouble of writing bad reviews.
  17. Morph
    Mar 23, 2006
    0
    If the first pill was so jagged... why in the world would she want to swallow another one... and to top that, why in the world would she try to make us swallow another??? Wretched!
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. For a woman who once used lyrics to shock listeners, there's nothing terribly shocking about this new CD.
  2. 40
    Despite scattered flashes of uncharacteristic lightness, she rarely tempers the fury that drove the originals with the more accepting perspective that's guided her subsequent efforts. [Jul 2005, p.119]
  3. Though pretty, the stripped-down treatment... is mostly free of innovation, softening rather than sharpening the originals' enjoyably jagged edges. [17 June 2005, p.79]