• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Jagged Little Pill Acoustic Image
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To celebrate the 10th anniversary of her debut, 'Jagged Little Pill,' the Canadian singer-songwriter has re-recorded all of that album's songs using acoustic instruments. (It's certainly easier than writing new songs!)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Though pretty, the stripped-down treatment... is mostly free of innovation, softening rather than sharpening the originals' enjoyably jagged edges. [17 June 2005, p.79]
  2. A nice enough idea, but being much quieter and more pastoral, it is also somewhat anti-climactic. [Aug 2005, p.128]
  3. For a woman who once used lyrics to shock listeners, there's nothing terribly shocking about this new CD.
  4. 40
    A second rate version of the original. [Sep 2005, p.102]
  5. Like Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells II and Meat Loaf's Back Into Hell, it doesn't so much play as fall out of the speakers with a flump: the sound of a towel being thrown in.
  6. 30
    It was the anger and angst of a jilted 20-year-old that gave the original songs their edge--something entirely absent from these blandly matured acoustic versions. [Aug 2005, p.90]
  7. In the end, this can't even make you feel angry; just desperately sad. [16 Jul 2005, p.50]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 35
  2. Negative: 17 out of 35
  1. KatieP
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    I love this CD. Unlike everyone else, Jagged Little Pill isn't my favourite CD. However, I found myself LOVING the acoustic versions. I love this CD. Unlike everyone else, Jagged Little Pill isn't my favourite CD. However, I found myself LOVING the acoustic versions. Some are bad (Right Through You where she sounds like she's yodelling), but others are utterly brilliant (such as the new version of Your House with music added). She sounds great, definitely worth the $20. Expand
  2. LS
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    This is a great acoustic version of one of the best albums of the 1990's.
  3. Ino
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    Raise up) take stand, Alanis One more pill?...ok) why not thru chemisytry to better life
  4. AleksC.
    Sep 4, 2005
    4
    While it is nice to hear "Jagged Little Pill" acousticly, I kinda figured out that Alanis was over it about half a decade ago.
  5. matta
    Jul 26, 2005
    3
    Proof that Alanis Morissette never had any real talent to begin with.
  6. Fab
    Aug 3, 2005
    2
    Why did anyone ever care?
  7. rauljulia
    Sep 27, 2005
    0
    It was derivitive & pathetic the first time around and even worse now.

See all 35 User Reviews