Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 50
    Jesus Piece can't even make the playoff, thanks to Game's airless delivery. [14 Dec 2012, p.72]
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    50
    There are some good songs on Jesus Piece, but they're decent in spite of the Game, not because of him.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    60
    It's more focused than he's been in awhile, and while you couldn't call an album featuring 2Chainz, Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Lil Wayne (twice), Future, Young Jeezy, Chris Brown, Common, Pusha T, Jamie Foxx, J. Cole, Kendrick Lamar and more "lean," Jesus Piece is less all-over-the-place than The R.E.D. Album.
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    50
    Sonically professional yet lyrically amateur to the point you may find yourself listening to the album multiple times without any idea what any of it was actually going on about.
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    50
    This disconnect between Jesus Piece's gambit and its execution, between Game's intention and the raps served up by his guests, results in the headliner being reduced to a mere spectator on too much of his own album.
  6. Dec 31, 2012
    50
    When the Game isn't rapping about other rappers--which is rare--he is sometimes rapping like other rappers.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    1
    One of the worst hip-hop albums this year. Lyrically, this album's trash, and Game name drops more than the white pages. The production isOne of the worst hip-hop albums this year. Lyrically, this album's trash, and Game name drops more than the white pages. The production is alright, but nowhere near good enough to save the album. And the features.... Tyga, Lil Wayne? Come on. Ali Bomaye stands as the only song on this album which is at least half decent, just grab that and steer clear of the rest. It's sad to see Game sliding further downhill with each new album.

    PS. The amount of dick-riders giving this album high reviews is ridiculous. Jake13 I'm looking at you.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    Game has never been one of my favorite MCs, even during the G-Unit/aftermath dayz. Listening to this confirms my suspicions. The rap game isGame has never been one of my favorite MCs, even during the G-Unit/aftermath dayz. Listening to this confirms my suspicions. The rap game is passing Game by. Good production on alot of the tracks but before I even listened to it I could have predicted what it'd be like. No originality and seems to follow the same blueprint as past albums with less success. Full Review »
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    Jesus Piece is what The RED album should have been. This album is lyrically better than his last two albums and perhaps as good if not betterJesus Piece is what The RED album should have been. This album is lyrically better than his last two albums and perhaps as good if not better than his first two. Jesus Piece although full of features, is a well balanced concept album. Unlike in his last album, not one artist on this album outshines The Game. Jesus Piece is to Game what Black Album is to Jay-z. If he were to retire now, he finished strong. The Game shows his lyrical ability on all tracks with substance and a deeply rooted thought process. Expect it to be Grammy Nominated in 2014 for Rap Album of the Year award. Its time to start mentioning this man more often. As Hip Hop fans we must admit that this album puts The Game back in the lyricists list. Congrats to The Game for what to me is his best album. Full Review »