User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    There are some real highs on Jesus Piece (See No Evil and Ail Bomaye). But the rest of the album is forgettable. Those highs, however, are good enough to raise the album to a 9.
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    When Game talked about this album, he talked about trying to keep his life right with god, but still "enjoying" it. This album is a perfectly crafted piece of music, that follows exactly Game's intentions. Jesus Piece is mostly Game getting angry and snapping off with some amazing guest features in Ross, Meek, Pusha T, and 2 Chainz to name a couple... however there are tracks such asWhen Game talked about this album, he talked about trying to keep his life right with god, but still "enjoying" it. This album is a perfectly crafted piece of music, that follows exactly Game's intentions. Jesus Piece is mostly Game getting angry and snapping off with some amazing guest features in Ross, Meek, Pusha T, and 2 Chainz to name a couple... however there are tracks such as Church, All That, and Celebration that just talk about really enjoying life. Game did a perfect job with this album, by combining some new direction with some RED ALBUM anger. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    really good album, beats are fantastic, lyrics ok - lil too much "i am rich"-talk which is annoying in my opinion, some featureguest suck - but thats the proble with most rap-albums inowadays, they think people buy it like crazy if they put wayne and ross on it...
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    I found this album to be the best album game has released since doctors advocate. he has a more focused delivery while combining good lyrics with changing flows and great help such as meek mill, lil wayne, wiz khalifa, pusha t, and common among others. This album sounds more complete lyrics,flow,word play,and production. over all a very strong showing from The Game
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    1
    One of the worst hip-hop albums this year. Lyrically, this album's trash, and Game name drops more than the white pages. The production is alright, but nowhere near good enough to save the album. And the features.... Tyga, Lil Wayne? Come on. Ali Bomaye stands as the only song on this album which is at least half decent, just grab that and steer clear of the rest. It's sad to see GameOne of the worst hip-hop albums this year. Lyrically, this album's trash, and Game name drops more than the white pages. The production is alright, but nowhere near good enough to save the album. And the features.... Tyga, Lil Wayne? Come on. Ali Bomaye stands as the only song on this album which is at least half decent, just grab that and steer clear of the rest. It's sad to see Game sliding further downhill with each new album.

    PS. The amount of dick-riders giving this album high reviews is ridiculous. Jake13 I'm looking at you.
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    Jesus Piece is what The RED album should have been. This album is lyrically better than his last two albums and perhaps as good if not better than his first two. Jesus Piece although full of features, is a well balanced concept album. Unlike in his last album, not one artist on this album outshines The Game. Jesus Piece is to Game what Black Album is to Jay-z. If he were to retire now, heJesus Piece is what The RED album should have been. This album is lyrically better than his last two albums and perhaps as good if not better than his first two. Jesus Piece although full of features, is a well balanced concept album. Unlike in his last album, not one artist on this album outshines The Game. Jesus Piece is to Game what Black Album is to Jay-z. If he were to retire now, he finished strong. The Game shows his lyrical ability on all tracks with substance and a deeply rooted thought process. Expect it to be Grammy Nominated in 2014 for Rap Album of the Year award. Its time to start mentioning this man more often. As Hip Hop fans we must admit that this album puts The Game back in the lyricists list. Congrats to The Game for what to me is his best album. Collapse
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    If you can put up with Game's annoying name dropping of namely Nas and Jay Z way too many times and the somewhat redundant theme you may find this pleasurable like I did. I can't help but to think though with this edgy title we still don't get any real depth.
  8. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    This is a real decent album, it's defiantly better than the Red album, but not better than documentry or the doctor's advocate. Two of my favorite songs on the album is Pray and See No Evil
  9. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    Game has never been one of my favorite MCs, even during the G-Unit/aftermath dayz. Listening to this confirms my suspicions. The rap game is passing Game by. Good production on alot of the tracks but before I even listened to it I could have predicted what it'd be like. No originality and seems to follow the same blueprint as past albums with less success.
  10. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    A great comeback for Game after two (by his high standards) consecutive average efforts in "L.A.X." and "R.E.D.". Although "Jesus Piece" is feature heavy, there is no doubt of who the main attraction is. In addition, the album with all its bonus tracks gives another dosage of Game himself.

    You are missing out on a great album.
  11. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    one of the beat releases of 2012. Yall ni**as hatin on him. JESUS Piece

    5 best songs in no order: See No Evil, Jesus Piece, Pray, Church, cant get right
    5 worst songs in no order: scared now, ali bomaye, *crickets chirp*
  12. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    Much better than The R.E.D. Album, though Game shows many limitations on a creative level. The album's production is sufficient even if there are flaws in tracks like "Heaven's Arms" and "Celebration", well instead "Jesus Piece" with Kanye West. Game has the same potential for Kendrick Lamar but uses bad.
  13. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Easily my album of the year. This album is way better than R.E.D. Game is easily in my top 3 rappers of all time. While he may have a few too many wtf moments, few rappers have his ear for beats or can match him lyrically or flow wise. Haters will hate but this album is one of his best and maybe Wiz should take a listen and learn how its done. Too many features? Who cares if the musicEasily my album of the year. This album is way better than R.E.D. Game is easily in my top 3 rappers of all time. While he may have a few too many wtf moments, few rappers have his ear for beats or can match him lyrically or flow wise. Haters will hate but this album is one of his best and maybe Wiz should take a listen and learn how its done. Too many features? Who cares if the music is good. Thanks game Expand
  14. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    Album of the year folks. Not as good as Documentary or Doctor's Advocate, but its on the same level on LAX, higher or lower at times, just gotta give it time. This is a dope album not as good as his frost 2 but not so far off either. Game is a LEGENDARY rapper, and a dope lyricist. Hes gonna be in the top 10 rappers that ever walked on the face of this earth. But anyways my review isAlbum of the year folks. Not as good as Documentary or Doctor's Advocate, but its on the same level on LAX, higher or lower at times, just gotta give it time. This is a dope album not as good as his frost 2 but not so far off either. Game is a LEGENDARY rapper, and a dope lyricist. Hes gonna be in the top 10 rappers that ever walked on the face of this earth. But anyways my review is 8-9/10, i gave it a 10 on this site because im a Game stan haha. Thats the Standard, the Deluxe is a 7-8/10. I predict it will sell 140-160k in first week in US. Game you are a awesome artist, but you do have a lot of feature but in this album they pay off unlike RED (which is a 7/10 for me). Very impressed Game, RESPECT for Australia! Expand
  15. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Impressed. I went into this album thinking it was going to be garbage due to Celebration, but the album is surprisingly very good. The features are good (amazing performances from Kendrick, Pusha T, Common, and J. Cole). Games lyrical skills have also seemed to have developed with this album too. And the beats are amazing. All tracks are worth a listen.... except Celebration.
  16. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Game's worst album to me (either that or LAX), yet it's still quite good. Tracks like "Celebration" and "I Remember" are downright awful and should have never seen the light of day, while tracks like "Dead People" and "Holy Water" were misplaced and should've been on the standard edition. Other than that though, tracks like "Name Me King", "Jesus Piece", and "See No Evil" are quite good.Game's worst album to me (either that or LAX), yet it's still quite good. Tracks like "Celebration" and "I Remember" are downright awful and should have never seen the light of day, while tracks like "Dead People" and "Holy Water" were misplaced and should've been on the standard edition. Other than that though, tracks like "Name Me King", "Jesus Piece", and "See No Evil" are quite good. While this album is a parade of guests, Game makes it work with good production and lyrics. Not close to being the album of the year, but still good enough to be considered a quality release. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Jesus Piece is a complete and compelling body of work compiled of consistent MCing and a diverse sonic palette. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.87]
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    70
    Jesus Piece certainly isn't his best album, but if it ends up being his worst, then Jayceon's doing pretty damn good for himself.
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    50
    Sonically professional yet lyrically amateur to the point you may find yourself listening to the album multiple times without any idea what any of it was actually going on about.